This Guide is intended as a starting point for your research and lists a selection of material. You will need to look beyond the resources listed here to identify further reading. Additional material (including more ebooks) can be found in the Education Ebooks Collection, or Sage Research Methods and in scholarly ejournal articles sourced using bibliographic databases.
See the Academic Writing & Study Support Sections of the Education Ebooks Collection for additional reading
The following sections of the Library will contain material on this subject:
029/6 - Academic Writing
301/01 - Social Science Research Methods
370/78 - Educational Research
The Good Research Guide: for small scale research projects (7th ed.) by 
The Good Writing Guide for Education Students (4th ed.) by
Grappling with grammar? Worrying about referencing? This handy guide is packed with practical advice on how to search for reading materials, structure your academic writing, think critically, reference appropriately and use language effectively. 'Top Tips' throughout the book help eradicate all the common mistakes that bring your marks down. What′s new to the fourth edition? two brand new chapters on reading and writing critically activities at the end of each chapter to let you check and assess your own writing. With real life examples of academic work, and plenty of 'dos' and 'don′ts', this is the perfect writing manual for students studying at all levels, and the ideal book to help you get top marks for all your education course assignments. The Student Success series are essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to planning your dream career, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips and resources for study success!
How to Do Your Research Project (4th ed.) - Chapter 8: How to analyse and discuss the information you gather by 
How to Write a Thesis (4th ed.) by
Useful summaries and checklists help students to stay on track or regain their way. Moving beyond the basics of thesis writing, the book introduces practical writing techniques such as freewriting, generative writing and binge writing. Issues such as working out the criteria for your thesis, writer's block, writing a literature review and making notes into a draft are also covered. New to this edition: New introduction by students - 'How I used this book' Update on doctoral skills set and Training Needs Analysis Extended treatment of plagiarism - and how to avoid it Expanded section on students' well-being Learning outcomes for each chapter
Real World Research (4th edition) (chapter 19: Reporting, disseminating and moving forward) by British Educational Research Association. (2018) (4th ed). Ethical Guidelines for Educational Research. London: British Educational Research Association.
American Educational Research Association: Code of Ethics
McKee, H., & Porter, J. E. (2008). The Ethics of Digital Writing Research: A Rhetorical Approach. College Composition and Communication, 59(4), 711-749.
Doing Your Research Project (7th edition) (Chapters 12 & 15) by 
The Good Research Guide: for small scale research projects (6th ed.) by 
Helping Doctoral Students Write by
Helping Doctoral Students Write offers a proven approach to effective doctoral writing. By treating research as writing and writing as research, the authors offer pedagogical strategies for doctoral supervisors that will assist the production of well-argued and lively dissertations. It is clear that many doctoral candidates find research writing complicated and difficult, but the advice they receive often glosses over the complexities of writing and/or locates the problem in the writer. Kamler and Thomson provide a highly effective framework for scholarly work that is located in personal, institutional and cultural contexts. The pedagogical approach developed in the book is based on the notion of writing as a social practice. This approach allows supervisors to think of doctoral writers as novices who need to learn new ways with words as they enter the discursive practices of scholarly communities. This involves learning sophisticated writing practices with specific sets of conventions and textual characteristics. The authors offer supervisors practical advice on helping with commonly encountered writing tasks such as the proposal, the journal abstract, the literature review and constructing the dissertation argument. The first edition of this book has helped many academics and thousands of research students produce better written material. Now fully updated the second edition includes: Examples from a broader range of academic disciplines A new chapter on writing from the thesis for peer reviewed journals More advice on reading and note taking, performance and conferences, Further information on developing a personal academic writing style, and Advice on the use of social media (blogs, tweets and wikis) to create trans-disciplinary and trans-national networks and conversations. Their discussion of the complexities of forming a scholarly identity is illustrated throughout by stories and writings of actual doctoral students. In conclusion, they present a persuasive and proven argument that universities must move away from simply auditing supervision to supporting the development of scholarly research communities. Any supervisor keen to help their students develop as academics will find the ideas and practical solutions presented in this book fascinating and insightful reading.
Learning to Read Critically in Teaching and Learning (p. 3-36) by 
Research Methods in Education (8th ed.) by
This thoroughly updated and extended eighth edition of the long-running bestseller Research Methods in Education covers the whole range of methods employed by educational research at all stages. Its five main parts cover: the context of educational research; research design; methodologies for educational research; methods of data collection; and data analysis and reporting. It continues to be the go-to text for students, academics and researchers who are undertaking, understanding and using educational research, and has been translated into several languages. It offers plentiful and rich practical advice, underpinned by clear theoretical foundations, research evidence and up-to-date references, and it raises key issues and questions for researchers planning, conducting, reporting and evaluating research. This edition contains new chapters on: Mixed methods research The role of theory in educational research Ethics in Internet research Research questions and hypotheses Internet surveys Virtual worlds, social network software and netography in educational research Using secondary data in educational research Statistical significance, effect size and statistical power Beyond mixed methods: using Qualitative Comparative Analysis (QCA) to integrate cross-case and within-case analyses. Research Methods in Education is essential reading for both the professional researcher and anyone involved in educational and social research. The book is supported by a wealth of online materials, including PowerPoint slides, useful weblinks, practice data sets, downloadable tables and figures from the book, and a virtual, interactive, self-paced training programme in research methods. These resources can be found at: www.routledge.com/cw/cohen.
"Sage Research Methods provides access to more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences and includes the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher."
British Educational Research Association (July 2000) Good practice in educational research writing (Southwell, British Educational Research Association).
Taber, K. S. (2013). Who counts as an author when reporting educational research? Chemistry Education Research and Practice, 14(1), 5-8.
University webpages on Good academic practice and plagiarism
American Psychological Association (2020) Publication manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th edition (Washington DC, American Psychological Association).
