This Guide is intended as a starting point for your research and lists a selection of material. You will need to look beyond the resources listed here to identify further reading. Additional material (including more ebooks) can be found in the Education Ebooks Collection, or Sage Research Methods and in scholarly ejournal articles sourced using bibliographic databases.
The following sections of the Library will contain material on this subject:
301/01 – Social science research methodology
370/78 – Educational research
Jewitt, C (2012) An introduction to using video for research (NCRM Working Paper 3/12). London: ESRC National Centre for Research Methods.
Prosser, J. (2006) Researching with visual images: some guidance notes and a glossary for beginners (NCRM Working Paper no,6). London: ESRC National Centre for Research Methods.
Prosser, J,, Clark,A. and Wiles,R. (2008) Visual ethics at the crossroads (Realities Working Paper, no.10). London: ESRC National Centre for Research Methods.
Prosser, j. and Loxley, J. (2008) Introducing visual methods (NCRM Review Paper) London: ESRC National Centre for Research Methods
International Journal of Research & Method in Education. Special issue: Problematising Visual Methods: Philosophy, Ethics and Methodologies, 35(3), 2012.
Ademolu, E., & Warrington, S. (2019). Who gets to talk about NGO images of global poverty? Photography and Culture 12(3), 365–76.
Bey, S. (2012). Engaging “gangland” visual culture: memorializing Beltzhoover’s victims of violence, 1993-1997. Studies in Art Education 53(2), 94–111.
Haraway, D. (1988). Situated knowledges: the science question in feminism and the privilege of partial perspective. Feminist Studies 14(3), 575–99.
Hernandez, J. (2010). “Miss, you look like a Bratz doll”: on chonga girls and sexual-aesthetic excess. NWSA Journal 21(3), 63–90.
Lodge, C. (2009). About face: Visual research involving children. Education 3-13, 37(4), 361-370.
Plowman, L., & Stephen, C. (2008). The big picture? Video and the representation of interaction. British Educational Research Journal, 34(4), 541-565.
Robson, S. (2011) Producing and using video data in the early years: ethical questions and practical consequences in research with young children. Children and Society, 25(3), 179-189.
Rose, G. (2014). On the relation between “visual research methods” and contemporary visual culture. The Sociological Review 62(1), 24–46.
Sutton-Brown, C. A. (2014). Photovoice: a methodological guide. Photography and Culture 7(2), 69–85.
Wall, K., Higgins, S., Hall, E., & Woolner, P. (2013). "That's not quite the way we see it": The epistemological challenge of visual data. International Journal of Research and Method in Education, 36(1), 3-22.
Advances in Visual Methodology by
A stunning collection of cutting-edge essays which brings together the leading scholars in visual research. Clearly structured, and written in an engaging and accessible style throughout, this invigorating work will be the ′must have′ text for teachers and students of `the visual′ across the arts, humanities and social sciences. - Elaine Campbell, Reader in Criminology, Newcastle University This is a book about research that takes the challenge of the internet seriously, that rises above disciplinary difference and points to new directions for social research. - Rob Walker, Emeritus Professor, University of East Anglia This innovative book examines and introduces cutting edge visual methods in social research. It explores the development of visual methodology as a field of interdisciplinary and post-disciplinary practice spanning scholarly and applied concerns. Positioned at the innovative edge of theory and practice in contemporary visual research, Pink′s engaging book goes beyond the methods, ideas and fields of practice outlined in existing texts and handbooks. This book examines: -How new theoretical and methodological engagements are developing and emerging in research practice; -the impact new approaches are having on the types of knowledge visual research produces and critiques; -the ways visual research intersects with new media; -and the implications for social and cultural research, scholarship and intervention. This book will be essential reading for any student or researcher thinking of using visual methods in their own research. Sarah Pink is Professor of Social Sciences at Loughborough University.
Children Reading Pictures (3rd ed.) by
Children Reading Pictures: New Contexts and Approaches to Picturebooks offers up-to-date research evidence on the responses of the primary audience for picturebooks - children. The new edition has retained the best of the original while expanding its scope in several directions, including the role of the art museum in helping children and their teachers to broaden and deepen their appreciation of the visual, and the significance of understanding diversity and inclusion while looking at illustrations in picturebooks, in digital form and in the art museum. In particular, the third edition: uses new case studies to bring to life exciting initiatives from teachers and art museum educators in UK and beyond, examining the potential of picturebooks for overcoming cultural, educational, linguistic and other barriers in the classroom and in other settings; continues to draw readers' attention to significant international theoretical work in the field and provides structured advice for teachers and graduate students who wish to carry out their own research; focuses on new research with pupils, teachers, art educators and researchers working on young people's responses to a variety of visual texts, including digital forms and fine art, and through children's own artistic creations, to develop a more nuanced understanding of visual literacy; celebrates the glorious variety of outstanding picturebooks and their makers who offer rich challenge, amusement, pleasure and consolation to young readers in a changing, often troubling world. Children Reading Pictures is an essential reading for undergraduate and postgraduate students of education, art and children's literature, as well as providing important information for primary and early years teachers, literacy co-ordinators and for all those interested in picturebooks and visual literacy.
Doing Visual Research with Children and Young People by
Visual media offer powerful communication opportunities. Doing Visual Research with Children and Young People explores the methodological, ethical, representational and theoretical issues surrounding image-based research with children and young people. It provides well-argued and illustrated resources to guide novice and experienced researchers through the challenges and benefits of visual research. Because new digital technologies have made it easier and cheaper to work with visual media, Pat Thomson brings together an international body of leading researchers who use a range of media to produce research data and communicate findings. Situating their discussions of visual research approaches within the context of actual research projects in communities and schools, and discussing a range of media from drawings, painting, collage and montages to film, video, photographs and new media, the book offers practical pointers for conducting research. These include why visual research is used how to involve children and young people as co researchers complexities in analysis of images and the ethics of working visually institutional difficulties that can arise when working with a visual voice how to manage resources in research projects Doing Visual Research with Children and Young People will be an ideal guide for researchers both at undergraduate and postgraduate level across disciplines, including education, youth and social work, health and nursing, criminology and community studies. It will also act as an up-to-date resource on this rapidly changing approach for practitioners working in the field. Pat Thomson is Professor of Education and Director of Research in the School of Education, University of Nottingham, UK. She is a former school principal of disadvantaged schools in Australia."
Researching the Visual (2nd ed.) by
The exciting Second Edition provides an overview of the field of visual research by drawing on the contributions of traditions as diverse as semiotics, ethnomethodology, symbolic interactionism, and material culture studies and by demonstrating their potential application for the visual researcher. Researching the Visual first covers traditional themes in visual research along with current trends in the field. It goes on to show how visual research should also embrace the analysis of everyday objects, places, and forms of interactions through its discussion of 2D and 3D visual data and both lived and living visual data. A brand new chapter on virtual visual data adds another dimension to this comprehensive book. This updated new edition includes fully updated exercises which show students how "low-tech, low-budget" visual research can provide methodologically sophisticated ways of testing and developing cultural theory. The book also addresses the ethical considerations that are relevant to visual researchers. Generously illustrated with images and diagrams, this new Second Edition is the perfect companion to those doing visual research projects and writing dissertations and theses.
The SAGE Handbook of Visual Research Methods (2nd ed.) by
The second, thoroughly revised and expanded, edition of The SAGE Handbook of Visual Research Methods presents a wide-ranging exploration and overview of the field today. As in its first edition, the Handbook does not aim to present a consistent view or voice, but rather to exemplify diversity and contradictions in perspectives and techniques. The selection of chapters from the first edition have been fully updated to reflect current developments. New chapters to the second edition cover key topics including picture-sorting techniques, creative methods using artefacts, visual framing analysis, therapeutic uses of images, and various emerging digital technologies and online practices. At the core of all contributions are theoretical and methodological debates about the meanings and study of the visual, presented in vibrant accounts of research design, analytical techniques, fieldwork encounters and data presentation. This handbook presents a unique survey of the discipline that will be essential reading for scholars and students across the social and behavioural sciences, arts and humanities, and far beyond these disciplinary boundaries. The Handbook is organized into seven main sections: PART 1: FRAMING THE FIELD OF VISUAL RESEARCH PART 2: VISUAL AND SPATIAL DATA PRODUCTION METHODS AND TECHNOLOGIES PART 3: PARTICIPATORY AND SUBJECT-CENTERED APPROACHES PART 4: ANALYTICAL FRAMEWORKS AND PERSPECTIVES PART 5: MULTIMODAL AND MULTISENSORIAL RESEARCH PART 6: RESEARCHING ONLINE PRACTICES PART 7: COMMUNICATING THE VISUAL: FORMATS AND CONCERNS
Visual Research Methods in the Social Sciences (2nd ed.) by
Visual Research Methods in the Social Sciences: Awakening Visions is an indispensable resource for students, researchers and teachers seeking to use visual sources in their research and understand how images work. This fully updated edition adds questions and activities for studies and many new images and models as well as additional exploration of social and theoretical contexts and examples of current visual and multimodal research. Due to the proliferation of image-centric social media and the growing potential for 'fake news', being able to critically assess media and other visual messages is more important than ever. For researchers embarking on visual research this book offers useful practical guidance and real-world examples from seasoned researchers exploring cultures as varied as: religious cults in Venezuela, the Beer Can Regatta in Darwin, Mapuche Indians in Chile and graffiti artists in Sheffield. It offers an integrated approach to visual research, building compelling case studies using a wide range of visual forms, including: archive images, media samples, maps, objects, video, photographs and drawings alongside traditional qualitative approaches. Examples of the visual construction of 'place', representations of social identities and different approaches to analysis are explored in the first section of the book, whilst the essays in the second section highlight the creativity and innovation of four leading visual researchers. This new edition will prove valuable for both experienced visual researchers and those embarking on visual research in the social sciences for the first time.
Art on My Mind by
"As erudite and sophisticated as hooks is, she is also eminently readable, even exhilarating." --Booklist In Art on My Mind, bell hooks, a leading cultural critic, responds to the ongoing dialogues about producing, exhibiting, and criticizing art and aesthetics in an art world increasingly concerned with identity politics. Always concerned with the liberatory black struggle, hooks positions her writings on visual politics within the ever-present question of how art can be an empowering and revolutionary force within the black community.
Doing Visual Ethnography (4th ed.) by
This book is the definitive guide to understanding and doing visual ethnography. Sarah Pink's landmark text provides you with both the critical theoretical foundations and the creative tools and techniques you need to conduct your own visual ethnography. Covering the material and the digital, and tying key concepts and ideas to real world contexts throughout, this fully updated fourth edition: Provides clear and critical guidance on research planning and ethics Discusses new and emerging technologies, including digitally connected devices and wearable cameras. Introduces contemporary methods such as futures ethnography, distance ethnography, team ethnography, and the use of documentary. Explores the latest theory and practice in photographic and video ethnography. Shows you how visual ethnography can be applied, participatory, and even interventional. A milestone in visual and ethnographic research, this book is a must-have for students and researchers across the social sciences. It is an essential invitation, and companion, to doing impactful, creative, and critical visual research.
Visual Culture by
"This collection of classic essays in the study of visual culture fills a major gap in this new and expanding intellectual field. Its major strength is its insistence on the importance of three central aspects of the study of visual culture: the sign, the institution and the viewing subject. It will provide readers, teachers and students with an essential text in visual and cultural studies." - Janet Wolff, University of RochesterVisual Culture: The Reader provides an invaluable resource of over 30 key statements from a wide range of disciplines. Although underpinned by a focus on contemporary cultural theory, this reader puts issues of visual culture and the rhetoric of the image at centre stage. Divided into three parts, The Culture of the Visual, Regulating Photographic Meaning, Looking and Subjectivity, this reader enables students to make hitherto unmade connections across art, film and photography history and theory, semiotics, history, semiotics and communications, media studies, and cultural theory. The key statements are from the work of:Visual Culture: The Reader sets the agenda for the study of Visual Culture and will be an essential sourcebook for researchers and students alike.sets the agenda for the study of Visual Culture and will be an essential sourcebook for researchers and students alike.This is the reader for the module The Image and Visual Culture (D850) - part of The Open University Masters in Social Sciences Programme.
Visual Methodologies (5th ed.) by
Have you found some exciting images that you want to explore but don't know how to start your research or what methods to choose? Do you have a question about an aspect of visual culture that you want to answer? Whatever level of experience you have, this classic text will provide you with the key skills you need to complete a visual methods research project, understand the rationale behind each step, and engage with the contexts and power relations that shape our interpretation of visual images. With a clear step-by-step approach that is easy to dip in and out of, the book features: *Key examples in every methods chapter to demonstrate how the methods work in practice and with different visual materials *'Focus' and 'Discussion' features that help you practice your skills at specific parts of the methods and understand some of the method's complexities *Guidance on researching using digital visual media, such as Instagram and TikTok, integrated throughout the book This bestselling critical guide is the perfect companion to visual methods projects for undergraduates, graduates, researchers and academics across the social sciences and humanities.
Visual Research by
Visual Research: A Concise Introduction to Thinking Visually is the first text to present a concise overview of the significant ethical, theoretical, and practical considerations for conducting research with images. The capacity to take photos and video on handheld devices and the ability to store, post, and share such imagery online all offer tremendous opportunities for social research. The rapid development and popularity of such technology means that little technological proficiency is required, and even less theoretical and ethical consideration. This book provides an accessible introduction to doing visual research in the social sciences. Beginning with ethical considerations, this book highlights the importance of thinking visually before engaging in visual research. Further themes involve creating, organizing, and using images and are presented so as to help readers think about and work with their own visual data. Boxed case studies and further reading suggestions enhance the utility of this primer. Concise and highly focused, Visual Research will be an invaluable resource for visual, media, and communications students and researchers and others interested in visual research in the social sciences.
"Sage Research Methods provides access to more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences and includes the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher."
| Remember that you can search for scholarly journal articles by subject using a specialist bibliographic database. Further support with this can be found on the Literature Searching Guide. |
