This Guide is intended as a starting point for your research and lists a selection of material. You will need to look beyond the resources listed here to identify further reading. Additional material (including more ebooks) can be found in the Education Ebooks Collection, or Sage Research Methods and in scholarly ejournal articles sourced using bibliographic databases.
See the Qualitative Research Section of the Education Ebooks Collection for additional reading
 |
 |
 |
|
| Remember that you can search for scholarly journal articles by subject using a specialist bibliographic database. Further support with this can be found on the Literature Searching Guide. |
The following sections of the Library will contain material on this subject
301/01 – Social science research methodology
370/78 – Educational research
Arts-Based Educational Research and Qualitative Inquiry by
Awarded QRSIG's Honerable Mention for 2021 2020 AESA Critics' Choice Book Award Winner Arts-Based Educational Research and Qualitative Inquiry introduces novice qualitative researchers, within education and related fields, to arts-based educational research (ABER). Abundant prompts and exercises are provided to help readers apply the concepts and experiment with various applications of the ideas presented. The authors walk the path with novice researchers offering a variety of approaches to the practice of arts-based methods, while providing a guided overview of ABER, and include pedagogical features in each chapter. Exercises are designed to assist educational researchers who wish to expand their repertoire of methodologies. The authors also weave into the discussion the possibilities and limitations of many types of arts-based methods while introducing readers to the growing methodological literature. By offering a tapestry of ways to engage the novice researcher, the book illustrates that it is not always possible to separate cognitive findings from aesthetic knowing. This book will help qualitative researchers to expand their methodologies to include arts-based approaches to their projects and by doing so reshape their identities as qualitative researchers. It also offers some evaluative criteria and tool kits for experimenting with various arts and educational research.
Introducing Qualitative Research in Psychology (3rd ed.) by
Why use qualitative research in psychology? How is qualitative research in psychology carried out? What are the major debates and unresolved issues surrounding this form of research? Introducing Qualitative Research in Psychology is a vital resource for students new to qualitative psychology. It offers a clear introduction to the topic by taking eight different approaches to qualitative methods and explaining when each one should be used, the procedures and techniques involved, and any limitations associated with such research. Throughout the new edition, material has been re-organized and updated to reflect developments in the field, while Carla Willig''s style of writing, popular with students and lecturers alike, remains unchanged. Together with wider coverage of conceptual issues and epistemological & theoretical challenges in qualitative research, this third edition boasts three new methods chapters: Thematic Analysis, Narrative Analysis and Visual Methodologies. Three additional chapters on Qualitative Research Design & Data Collection, The Role of Interpretation and Putting Together A Research Proposal will be invaluable to students and researchers during conceptual preparation. This edition contains more interactive exercises and discussion points in order to help students understand what they are learning, as well as three qualitative research reports written by students. The third edition is supported by a new Online Learning Centre www.openup.co.uk/willig with resources for lecturers and students. With contributions from Sarah Jane Dryden, Caroline Silcock and Joanna Silver. "All students of qualitative research in psychology will find a wealth of information in Carla Willig''s book. With its expanded sections and detailed consideration of concepts, techniques and applications of qualitative research, the interactive approach taken in this book is ably supported by extensive research examples. As usual with Carla Willig''s clear and detailed writing style, this book will give both new and existing researchers the opportunity to think clearly about their use of qualitative research and its methods." Dr Nollaig Frost, Senior Lecturer, Psychology, Middlesex University, UK "A tour de force from an expert guide which grounds students in the lexicon of qualitative psychology, before explicating a range of major methodologies. Students will appreciate many worked examples, and will be stimulated by the coverage of contemporary innovations, issues and debates - an invaluable textbook." Professor Brendan Gough, Institute of Health and Wellbeing, Leeds Metropolitan University, UK "In just over a decade, Carla Willig''s book has become one of the key introductory texts in the field. Many of my students and supervisees have enjoyed reading it - finding complex issues and debates have been explained in an accessible manner. This latest edition includes helpful advice on writing a research proposal, some newer research methods and discussion about the future of qualitative research. In addition, there are new chapters on epistemology and interpretation which I think my students will find particularly valuable as these are often the most challenging topics when one is new to qualitative research." Dr David Harper, Reader in Clinical Psychology, University of East London, UK "Once again, Carla Willig has produced a wonderfully clear account of how and why qualitative methods ought be used to answer psychological questions. Not only does Willig examine key theories, ethics and debates surrounding the use and interpretation of qualitative data, she shows us ''how'' to do it - step by step, with a tremendous sense of balance and integrity. This new edition covers some of the more recent debates in qualitative research, contains new examples of how to design, carry out and approach analysis in qualitative methods and lots of useful questions that researchers ask themselves along the way. My students have used Willig''s writings on qualitative methods for many years as they can understand and engage with it. There is simply no other equivalent text in psychology to rival Willig''s - her clarity, conviction and sheer brilliance in putting difficult ideas on methods into plain language is something students in psychology will relish for a very long time to come." Paula Reavey, Professor of Psychology, London South Bank University, UK "In writing this text originally, Carla Willig argued that, unlike quantitative research (where the aim is to follow a set of rules and get them ''right''), qualitative research is more about ''having adventures''. From the start it sounds a lot more fun, and certainly a lot more interesting! And it was. Students and lecturers alike appreciate its lively, practical approach, its very clear and elegant writing, its use of clever examples of students'' own work and its lucid explanations of the theory underpinning methods and methodologies. This new, third edition is a real triumph. It''s more comprehensive and it''s bang up to date, with three additional new chapters, more examples of student projects, and overall an even more systematic approach. It is, in my view, the most approachable and person-friendly text around introducing qualitative research in psychology, and a great opportunity to ''boldly go'', have adventures, and really get to grips with doing qualitative research." Wendy Stainton Rogers, Professor Emerita, Faculty of Health and Social Care, The Open University, UK
Qualitative Data Analysis (2nd ed.) by
In this fully updated and expanded second edition, Carol Grbich provides a guide through current issues in the analysis of qualitative data. Packed with detailed examples, a glossary, further reading lists and a section on writing up, this book is exactly what you need to get you started in qualitative research. The new edition covers analytical approaches including: - grounded theory - classical, existential and hermeneutic phenomenology - feminist research including memory work - classical, auto- and cyberethnography as well as ethnodrama - content, narrative, conversation and discourse analysis - visual interpretation - semiotic, structural and poststructural analyses A one-stop-shop for students new to qualitative data analysis!
Qualitative Research (4th edition) by
The bestselling guide to qualitative research, updated and expanded Qualitative Research is the essential guide to understanding, designing, conducting, and presenting a qualitative research study. This fourth edition features new material covering mixed methods, action research, arts-based research, online data sources, and the latest in data analysis, including data analysis software packages as well as narrative and poetic analysis strategies. A new section offers multiple ways of presenting qualitative research findings. The reader-friendly, jargon-free style makes this book accessible to both novice and experienced researchers, emphasizing the role of a theoretical framework in designing a study while providing practical guidance. Qualitative research reaches beyond the what, where, and when of quantitative analysis to investigate the why and how behind human behavior and the reasons that govern such behavior, but this presents a number of significant challenges. This guide is an invaluable reference for students and practitioners alike, providing the deep understanding that this sometimes difficult area of research requires to produce accurate results. The book contains a step-by-step guide to analyzing qualitative data and an addendum for graduate students with a template for a thesis, dissertation, or grant application. Build a strong foundation in qualitative research theory and application Design and implement effective qualitative research studies Communicate findings more successfully with clear presentation Explore data sources, data analysis tools, and the different types of research
Qualitative Research from Start to Finish by
This book will help readers understand the practice of qualitative research--whether they want to do it, teach it, or just learn about it. All the major research phases are encompassed (startup, design, data collection, analysis, and composing), including newly emerging trends. Numerous easy-to-read vignettes show how other scholars have successfully implemented specific procedures. Equally distinctive, the book presents qualitative research as an adaptive craft. The array of choices among different procedures and methods enables readers to customize their own studies and to accommodate different worldviews and genres. New to This Edition: *Stronger discussion of different worldviews (e.g., constructivism, postpositivism, and pragmatism) and how they relate to different methodological choices. *Clearer emphasis on doing a generalized qualitative study, while acknowledging 12 specialized genres (e.g., action-based research, arts-based research, autoethnography, grounded theory, phenomenology, and others). *Expanded discussions of different kinds of qualitative study samples and of mixed methods. *New ideas on how to avoid getting stalled when analyzing qualitative data. *Consideration of an additional way of concluding a qualitative study: by taking action. Pedagogical Features *Chapters start with an abstract and end with a suggested exercise. *Key terms and concepts appear in boldface throughout the text and are listed in end-of-chapter recaps as well as in the book's glossary. *Sections within each chapter start with a preview box: "What you should learn from this section." *An appendix presents a semester- or yearlong field-based project.
The SAGE Dictionary of Qualitative Inquiry (3rd ed.) by
Now with 70 additional terms as well as a Reader′s Guide, key references have been updated and several terms and phrases from previous editions have been reorganized and expanded. Students and teachers will find this book a very useful resource for navigating various perspectives on qualitative inquiry and as a starting point for launching their own investigations into the issues covered in this guide.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods by
Qualitative research is designed to explore the human elements of a given topic, while specific qualitative methods examine how individuals see and experience the world. Qualitative approaches are typically used to explore new phenomena and to capture individuals' thoughts, feelings, or interpretations of meaning and process. Such methods are central to research conducted in education, nursing, sociology, anthropology, information studies, and other disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and health sciences. Qualitative research projects are informed by a wide range of methodologies and theoretical frameworks. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods presents current and complete information as well as ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative research in a very accessible style. In taking an interdisciplinary approach, these two volumes target a broad audience and fill a gap in the existing reference literature for a general guide to the core concepts that inform qualitative research practices. The entries cover every major facet of qualitative methods, including access to research participants, data coding, research ethics, the role of theory in qualitative research, and much more-all without overwhelming the informed reader. Key Features Defines and explains core concepts, describes the techniques involved in the implementation of qualitative methods, and presents an overview of qualitative approaches to research Offers many entries that point to substantive debates among qualitative researchers regarding how concepts are labeled and the implications of such labels for how qualitative research is valued Guides readers through the complex landscape of the language of qualitative inquiry Includes contributors from various countries and disciplines that reflect a diverse spectrum of research approaches from more traditional
What Is Qualitative Research? by
This book provides an inviting introduction to qualitative research, one that is designed to stimulate reflection on its character and prospects. What is Qualitative Research? offers clear definitions of key terms and concepts, as well as a thorough discussion of the various kinds of data used. Different types of qualitative investigation are examined, and key concepts and issues discussed. There will also be an examination of important debates within qualitative research about its proper character and future direction. This book examines the nature of qualitative research, the contrast with quantitative method, and the variety of forms that qualitative inquiry now takes. Comprehensive examination coupled with illustrative examples clarifies the differences and disagreements among qualitative researchers. Covering important topics such as research design, data production and analysis and the politics of representation, What is Qualitative Research? will be a vital resource for both new and experienced researchers.
Doing Qualitative Research (6th ed.) by
Need practical advice on how to do your first qualitative research project? This book will guide you through each step of the research process: from brainstorming ideas and working with your supervisor to navigating the field to writing up your results. Driven by examples from other students' projects, the book features discussions on translating social problems into research topics, collecting data in the wake of a pandemic, and guidance from Qualitative Data Analysis Software expert Christian Schmieder to help you summarise, categorise, and review qualitative data. A new chapter on how much data you need answers the age-old question: 'how many interviews or case studies are enough?' It also includes: - Articles and websites to build your bibliography - Questions to test your knowledge - Videos from world-leading qualitative experts - Activities to dig deeper into key concepts and think critically about research - Lessons-learned discussions with other researchers - Exercises to help you choose the right path for your project. Key features: in addition to the online Silverman Workshops, the book includes top tips, end-of-chapter checklists to test your understanding, and annotated further reading so you can develop your knowledge further.
Handling Qualitative Data (4th ed.) by
Viewing data as the heart of qualitative research, this book provides clear guidance on the steps involved in collecting and managing primary & secondary data while equipping you with a toolkit that they can apply to data in any context.In her positive and jargon-free style, the author discusses how setting up, working with, making sense of and presenting data can be a springboard into learning key research skills and reflecting on methodological issues. New to this edition: Ethical practice learning features, such as exercises and reflective questions Thoughtful guidance on the newer challenges in handling qualitative data, like data security and access to online data New chapters provide clear advice on communicating data to different audiences, and creating impactful data visualizations Online resources that illustrate how to work with data in real research projects; including a 'stepping into software' space that provides practical tips and guidance on using qualitative analysis software effectively
Interpreting Qualitative Data (5th ed.) by
In this fifth edition of his field-defining text, David Silverman, a true guru of qualitative research, walks the reader through the basics of gathering and analyzing qualitative data. The book offers beginners unrivalled hands-on guidance to help them get the best out of a research methods course or research project. New to the fifth edition: A streamlined structure to aid navigation and guide readers smoothly through the research process. A new chapter on generalizing from case-study research which addresses the perennial issue of 'how many cases do you need?' New material on doing qualitative research online and the ethics of internet research. Additional sections covering organizational documents and documents of everyday life, including blogs and diaries. Many more recent case study examples drawn from a broad range of disciplines including business, education, social work and geography as well as health studies. A new and improved companion website, full of additional resources for students and lecturers. This is the perfect companion for all those new to qualitative research.
Qualitative Data Analysis (4th ed.) by
The Third Edition of Miles & Huberman's classic research methods text is updated and streamlined by Johnny Saldaña, author of The Coding Manual for Qualitative Researchers. Several of the data display strategies from previous editions are now presented in re-envisioned and reorganized formats to enhance reader accessibility and comprehension. The Third Edition's presentation of the fundamentals of research design and data management is followed by five distinct methods of analysis: exploring, describing, ordering, explaining, and predicting. Miles and Huberman's original research studies are profiled and accompanied with new examples from Saldaña's recent qualitative work. The book's most celebrated chapter, "Drawing and Verifying Conclusions," is retained and revised, and the chapter on report writing has been greatly expanded, and is now called "Writing About Qualitative Research." Comprehensive and authoritative, Qualitative Data Analysis has been elegantly revised for a new generation of qualitative researchers. Click here for a listing of Johnny Saldaña's upcoming workshops. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Qualitative Data Analysis with NVivo (3rd ed.) by
Engaging and accessible, this book offers students a complete guide to using NVivo for qualitative data analysis. Drawing on their wealth of expertise, the authors offer detailed, practical advice that relates to students' own experience and research projects. Packed with real-world examples and case studies, the book supports students through every stage of qualitative data analysis. The Third Edition: Contains fully integrated instructions for using NVivo on both Mac and PC, with screenshots and click-by-click guidance. Seamlessly interweaves theory and practice in easy-to-follow steps. Empowers students to develop their critical thinking. Accompanied by video tutorials for both Mac and PC, web links and a host of other helpful online resources, this step-by-step book removes students′ anxiety about tackling data analysis. Whether for advanced researchers or those approaching the task for the first time, this clear, yet comprehensive guide is the perfect companion for anyone doing qualitative data analysis with NVivo.
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design (4th edition) by
In the Fourth Edition of this bestselling book, John W Creswell and new co-author Cheryl N Poth explore the philosophical underpinnings, history and key elements of each of five qualitative inquiry traditions: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography and case study - putting them side by side, so that we can see the differences. The authors relate research designs to each of the traditions of enquiry. They compare theoretical frameworks and ways to employ standards of quality, as well as strategies for writing introductions to studies, collecting data, analyzing data, writing a narrative and verifying results. New in this edition: Updated materials on each tradition More on interpretive frameworks and ethics More visual depictions of the five approaches Two new topical articles in Chapter 5, reproduced in full in the appendices.
Qualitative Methodology by
Fresh, insightful and clear, this exciting textbook provides an engaging introduction to the application of qualitative methodology in the real world. Expert researchers then trace the history and philosophical underpinnings of different methodologies, explore the specific demands each places upon the researcher and robustly set out relevant issues surrounding quality and rigor. nbsp; Featured methodologies include action research, discourse analysis, ethnography, grounded theory, case studies and narrative inquiry.nbsp;nbsp; This practical book provides a helpful guide to the research process - it introduces the relevant methods of generating, collecting and analysing data for each discrete methodology and then looks at best practice for presenting findings. This enables new researchers to compare qualitative methods and to confidently select the approach most appropriate for their own research projects.nbsp;nbsp; Key features include: Summary table for each chapter - allowing quick checks to test knowledge 'Window into' sections - real world examples showing each methodology in action Student activities Learning objectives Full glossary Annotated suggestions for further reading Links to downloadable SAGE articles Links to relevant websites and organizations This is an invaluable resource for students and researchers across the social sciences and a must-have guide for those embarking on a research project. Visit the accompanyingnbsp;companion website for a range of free additional resources.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Data Analysis by
The wide range of approaches to data analysis in qualitative research can seem daunting even for experienced researchers. This handbook is the first to provide a state-of-the art overview of the whole field of QDA; from general analytic strategies used in qualitative research, to approaches specific to particular types of qualitative data, including talk, text, sounds, images and virtual data. The handbook includes chapters on traditional analytic strategies such as grounded theory, content analysis, hermeneutics, phenomenology and narrative analysis, as well as coverage of newer trends like mixed methods, reanalysis and meta-analysis. Practical aspects such as sampling, transcription, working collaboratively, writing and implementation are given close attention, as are theory and theorization, reflexivity, and ethics. Written by a team of experts in qualitative research from around the world, this handbook is an essential compendium for all qualitative researchers and students across the social sciences.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research (6th ed.). by
This new edition of the SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research represents the sixth generation of the ongoing conversation about the discipline, practice, and conduct of qualitative inquiry. As with earlier editions, the Sixth Edition is virtually a new volume, with 27 of the 34 chapters representing new topics or approaches not seen in the previous edition. To mark the Handbook's 30-year history, we are pleased to offer a bonus PART VI in the eBook versions of the Sixth Edition: this additional section brings together and reprints ten of the most famous or game-changing contributions from the previous five editions.
Successful Qualitative Research by 
Thematic Analysis by 
A Very Short, Fairly Interesting and Reasonably Cheap Book about Qualitative Research by
David Silverman's second edition provides a refreshing introduction to doing and debating qualitative research. An antidote to the standard textbook, this new edition shows how research can be methodologically inventive, empirically rigorous, theoretically-alive and practically relevant. Using materials ranging from photographs to novels and newspaper stories, the book demonstrates that getting to grips with qualitative methods means asking ourselves fundamental questions about how we are influenced by contemporary culture. By drawing on examples from websites and social media in the new edition, Silverman's text acknowledges how our social worlds are changing and explores new arenas for data collection. A new Glossary of Received Ideas aims to challenge conventional understandings of terms central to qualitative research and will inform, amuse and stimulate readers. This book is perfect pre-course reading for those new to research as well as seasoned researchers who want to reflect on their practice. SAGE's A Very Short, Fairly Interesting and Reasonably Cheap Book About series shies away from the sterility of conventional textbooks, offering students an informal and accessible overview of the field that questions and challenges the traditional literature. You can view all the books in the VSFI series here.
"Sage Research Methods provides access to more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences and includes the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher."
Sage produces a number of companion websites for some of their publications which provide extensive support and resources. The following two are particularly relevant for qualitative research:
Thematic analysis - Virginia Braun & Victoria Clarke
Successful qualitative research - Virginia Braun & Victoria Clarke
