This Guide is intended as a starting point for your research and lists a selection of material. You will need to look beyond the resources listed here to identify further reading. Additional material (including more ebooks) can be found in the Education Ebooks Collection, or Sage Research Methods and in scholarly ejournal articles sourced using bibliographic databases.
The following sections of the Library will contain material on this subject:
301/01 – Social science research methodology
370/78 – Educational research
Listen to Darleen Opfer discuss questionnaires and surveys
Constructing Effective Questionnaires by
Asking the right questions is at the heart of all successful survey research. This text will teach students and new researchers how to commission, conduct and evaluate research based on asking these questions. The author′s experience as well as in-depth knowledge of conceptual and methodological literature make this an invaluable guide for all those new to survey research.
Constructing Questions for Interviews and Questionnaires by
The success of any interview or questionnaire depends upon good question design, yet most of the available literature has been devoted to interview techniques, rather than question formulation. This practical book provides a coherent, theoretical basis for the construction of valid and reliable questions for interviews and questionnaires. The theoretical framework used in the book provides a set of principles that, when followed, will increase the validity and reliability of verbal data collected for social research. Dr Foddy outlines the problems which can arise when framing questions with clarity and commonsense. He has written a wide ranging, useful book for survey practitioners working in the social sciences.
Design, Evaluation, and Analysis of Questionnaires for Survey Research (2nd ed.) by
Praise for the First Edition "...this book is quite inspiring, giving many practical ideas for survey research, especially for designing better questionnaires." --International Statistical Review Reflecting modern developments in the field of survey research, the Second Edition of Design, Evaluation, and Analysis of Questionnaires for Survey Research continues to provide cutting-edge analysis of the important decisions researchers make throughout the survey design process.The new edition covers the essential methodologies and statistical tools utilized to create reliable and accurate survey questionnaires, which unveils the relationship between individual question characteristics and overall question quality. Since the First Edition, the computer program Survey Quality Prediction (SQP) has been updated to include new predictions of the quality of survey questions on the basis of analyses of Multi-Trait Multi-Method experiments. The improved program contains over 60,000 questions, with translations in most European languages. Featuring an expanded explanation of the usage and limitations of SQP 2.0, the Second Edition also includes: New practice problems to provide readers with real-world experience in survey research and questionnaire design A comprehensive outline of the steps for creating and testing survey questionnaires Contemporary examples that demonstrate the many pitfalls of questionnaire design and ways to avoid similar decisions Design, Evaluation, and Analysis of Questionnaires for Survey Research, Second Edition is an excellent textbook for upper-undergraduate and graduate-level courses in methodology and research questionnaire planning, as well as an ideal resource for social scientists or survey researchers needing to design, evaluate, and analyze questionnaires.
The Good Research Guide (6th ed.) by 
Methods for Testing and Evaluating Survey Questionnaires by
The definitive resource for survey questionnaire testing and evaluation Over the past two decades, methods for the development, evaluation, and testing of survey questionnaires have undergone radical change. Research has now begun to identify the strengths and weaknesses of various testing and evaluation methods, as well as to estimate the methods reliability and validity. Expanding and adding to the research presented at the International Conference on Questionnaire Development, Evaluation and Testing Methods, this title presents the most up-to-date knowledge in this burgeoning field. The only book dedicated to the evaluation and testing of survey questionnaires, this practical reference work brings together the expertise of over fifty leading, international researchers from a broad range of fields. The volume is divided into seven sections: Cognitive interviews Mode of administration Supplements to conventional pretests Special populations Experiments Multi-method applications Statistical modeling Comprehensive and carefully edited, this groundbreaking text offers researchers a solid foundation in the latest developments in testing and evaluating survey questionnaires, as well as a thorough introduction to emerging techniques and technologies.
Research Methods in Education (8th ed.) by 
Designing Surveys (3rd ed.) by
This book is a comprehensive guide to the whole survey research process. Much more than a practical 'how-to' guide, the book presents the material in a social science context which is both thorough yet accessible. It provides a timeline and follows the steps of research including preparing for, designing, and implementing survey research, and includes a section on survey ethics. After reading this book, students are well equipped to conduct their own surveys and, just as importantly, critically assess surveys done by others. The Third Edition brings the book up to date with the latest developments in online tools.
Developing a Questionnaire (2nd ed.) by
Developing a Questionnaire: 2nd Edition is a comprehensive guide to the successful design and implementation of questionnaires as a research method. It covers: how, why and when to use questionnaires - how to analyse data - how to present results - how to relate questionnaires to other forms of research. This second edition contains new chapters on the use of questionnaires in surveys, face-to-face questionnaires and telephone interviews.
Using questionnaires in small-scale research: a beginner's guide by 
Questionnaire Design, Interviewing and Attitude Measurement by 
Survey Research Methods (5th ed.) by 
"Sage Research Methods provides access to more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences and includes the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher."
