| "Thinking about research dissemination and impact is a central part of any educational research project, bearing in mind the complex relationships between research, practice and policy. Questions arise about ‘knowledge mobilisation’ and ‘translation’ of research findings while considering the use of different channels of communication and audiences. Educational research partnerships often build in impact at the planning stage, allowing productive collaborations and mutual impact in approaches like ‘close to practice’ research" Ruth Kershner, 2022 |
See the Impact & Dissemination Section of the Education Ebooks Collection for additional reading
Achieving Impact in Research by
This unique addition to the Success in Research series addresses the importance of understanding and achieving impact for the purposes of gaining research funding and reporting achieved impact for the Research Excellence Framework (REF). The book includes contributions from researchers and researcher developers who feel that impact is ill-defined and poorly understood despite its prevalence in policy documents, websites and institutional activities. This succinct and cohesive text draws on the expert contributors′ collective research practice, knowledge and experience. Using a variety of examples, boxed activities and highlighted reflection points, this practical guide covers the following key areas: The meaning of impact in relation to research How the Impact Agenda fits with attitudes and ethics that motivate research The different characterisations of research impact and when impact is apparent How impact can be planned into proposals, evaluated and evidenced The skills needed to be an impactful researcher How impact can be supported through Knowledge Exchange and effective partnerships This is a must-have guide for anyone seeking to understand and achieve impact in their own research.The Success in Research series, from Cindy Becker and Pam Denicolo, provides short, authoritative and accessible guides on key areas of professional and research development. Avoiding jargon and cutting to the chase of what you reallyneed to know, these practical and supportive books cover a range of areas from presenting research to achieving impact, and from publishing journal articles to developing proposals. They are essential reading for any student or researcher interested in developing their skills and broadening their professional and methodological knowledge in an academic context.
Increasing the Impact of Your Research by
This important resource helps researchers in all disciplines share their findings, knowledge, and ideas effectively and beyond their own field. By pursuing the practical recommendations in this book, researchers can increase the exposure of their ideas, connect with wider audiences in powerful ways, and ensure their work has a true impact. The book covers the most effective ways to share research, such as: Social media--leveraging time-saving tools and maximizing exposure and branding. Media--landing interviews and contributing to public dialogue. Writing--landing book deals and succeeding in key writing opportunities. Speaking--giving TED Talks, delivering conference keynote presentations, and appearing on broadcasts like NPR. Connecting--networking, influencing policy, and joining advisory boards. Honors--winning awards and recognition to expand your platform. Rich in tips, strategies, and guidelines, this book also includes clever "fast tracks" and downloadable eResources that provide links, leads, and templates to help secure radio broadcasts, podcasts, publications, conferences, awards, and other opportunities. The eResources can be found under the Support Materials heading below!
The Lean PhD : radically improve the efficiency, quality and impact of your research by
This book fundamentally challenges the way in which PhDs are currently pursued. It applies lean methodologies - which have been embraced by start-ups - to the doctoral research process. It explains how to apply techniques such as the minimal viable product (MVP) approach, rapid prototyping and pivoting to each stage, from choosing a topic to seeking feedback, in order to save time, make the process more efficient and demonstrate impact. Chapters are enriched with insights from PhD researchers, practical guidance on going lean and a wealth of empirical data which supports this new approach to postgraduate research. This inspiring text is a must-read for prospective and current PhD students who wish to accelerate their careers in academia and beyond.
The New Metrics : practical assessment of research impact by
Traditionally, research impact has been measured by counting citations, and citation-based indicators, such as impact factors. But in the last few years there has been increasing pressure on research and higher education institutions to move beyond citation metrics, and look instead at different forms of impact - at real world impact. Scholarly impact expert Elaine Lasda brings together a cast of innovative contributors from a variety of sectors to look at how impact is measured in ways that go beyond citations in peer-reviewed journal articles. With case studies from publishers, museums, scientific centers and government agencies, the contributors show how using a different mix of traditional bibliometrics, newer altmetrics, and other new measures can provide vital information to support the mission and vision of their organizations. For librarians and information professionals, it is becoming increasingly more important to be able to provide expertise on research impact, influence, productivity and prestige. This exciting new book shows readers how to clarify the importance and relevance of organizational research output, and therefore increase their professional value. With the growing sophistication of research impact analysis, the need for "impact metric literacy" is rising, and this book is a helpful tool for those looking to improve their understanding of research impact.
"Sage Research Methods provides access to more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences and includes the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher."
Farley-Ripple, E., Riordan, J., Cook, K., Flood, J., Brown, C., Malin, J., Cooper, A., Shewchuk, S., MacGregor, S., Phipps, D., & Malik, S. (2020). Special Issue on Research Impact in Education. International Journal of Education Policy and Leadership, 16(12).