This Guide is intended as a starting point for your research and lists a selection of material. You will need to look beyond the resources listed here to identify further reading. Additional material (including more ebooks) can be found in the Education Ebooks Collection, or Sage Research Methods and in scholarly ejournal articles sourced using bibliographic databases.
See the Quantitative Research and Statistics Sections of the Education Ebooks Collection for additional reading
The following sections of the Library will contain material on this subject
301/01 – Social science research methodology
370/78 – Educational research
310 - Statistics; Data analysis
Quantitative Methods in Educational Research by
This is a comprehensive guide to quantitative research, rooted in the author's own teaching and research. In particular, it challenges both the student who "does not do numbers" and the student who does nothing but numbers (and who therefore fails to interpret or challenge his/her results). The book shows how all educational researchers need to "do" quantitative research, even if only in the sense of reading other people's research findings. In fact, the book argues that the conventional distinction between primary and secondary research data is inadequate, since there is enormous need/opportunity for conducting research through using and reinterpreting secondary data. This leads to one of the main selling points of the book - Gorard's idea of the "idle researcher", who makes valuable contributions to the research literature by using data gathered by other researchers.
Quantitative Research for the Qualitative Researcher by
Quantitative Research for the Qualitative Researcher is a concise, supplemental text that provides qualitatively oriented students and researchers with the requisite skills for conducting quantitative research. Throughout the book, authors Laura M. O'Dwyer and James A. Bernauer provide ample support and guidance to prepare readers both cognitively and attitudinally to conduct high quality research in the quantitative tradition. Highlighting the complementary nature of quantitative and qualitative research, they effectively explain the fundamental structure and purposes of design, measurement, and statistics within the framework of a research report, (including a dissertation). The text encourages the reader to see quantitative methodology for what it is, a process for systematically discovering new knowledge that can help describe, explain, and predict the world around us.
The SAGE Handbook of Quantitative Methodology for the Social Sciences by
Click ′Additional Materials′ for downloadable samples"The 24 chapters in this Handbook span a wide range of topics, presenting the latest quantitative developments in scaling theory, measurement, categorical data analysis, multilevel models, latent variable models, and foundational issues. Each chapter reviews the historical context for the topic and then describes current work, including illustrative examples where appropriate. The level of presentation throughout the book is detailed enough to convey genuine understanding without overwhelming the reader with technical material. Ample references are given for readers who wish to pursue topics in more detail. The book will appeal to both researchers who wish to update their knowledge of specific quantitative methods, and students who wish to have an integrated survey of state-of- the-art quantitative methods."--Roger E. Millsap, Arizona State University"This handbook discusses important methodological tools and topics in quantitative methodology in easy to understand language. It is an exhaustive review of past and recent advances in each topic combined with a detailed discussion of examples and graphical illustrations. It will be an essential reference for social science researchers as an introduction to methods and quantitative concepts of great use."--Irini Moustaki, London School of Economics, U.K. "David Kaplan and SAGE Publications are to be congratulated on the development of a new handbook on quantitative methods for the social sciences. The Handbook is more than a set of methodologies, it is a journey. This methodological journey allows the reader to experience scaling, tests and measurement, and statistical methodologies applied to categorical, multilevel, and latent variables. The journey concludes with a number of philosophical issues of interest to researchers in the social sciences. The new Handbook is a must purchase."--Neil H. Timm, University of PittsburghThe SAGE Handbook of Quantitative Methodology for the Social Sciences is the definitive reference for teachers, students, and researchers of quantitative methods in the social sciences, as it provides a comprehensive overview of the major techniques used in the field. The contributors, top methodologists and researchers, have written about their areas of expertise in ways that convey the utility of their respective techniques, but, where appropriate, they also offer a fair critique of these techniques. Relevance to real-world problems in the social sciences is an essential ingredient of each chapter and makes this an invaluable resource. The handbook is divided into six sections: * Scaling* Testing and Measurement* Models for Categorical Data* Models for Multilevel Data* Models for Latent Variables* Foundational Issues These sections, comprising twenty-four chapters, address topics in scaling and measurement, advances in statistical modeling methodologies, and broad philosophical themes and foundational issues that transcend many of the quantitative methodologies covered in the book. The Handbook is indispensable to the teaching, study, and research of quantitative methods and will enable readers to develop a level of understanding of statistical techniques commensurate with the most recent, state-of-the-art, theoretical developments in the field. It provides the foundations for quantitative research, with cutting-edge insights on the effectiveness of each method, depending on the data and distinct research situation.
SAGE Quantitative Research Methods by
For more than 40 years, SAGE has been one of the leading international publishers of works on quantitative research methods in the social sciences. This new collection provides readers with a representative sample of the best articles in quantitative methods that have appeared in SAGE journals as chosen by W. Paul Vogt, editor of other successful major reference collections such as Selecting Research Methods (2008) and Data Collection (2010). The volumes and articles are organized by theme rather than by discipline. Although there are some discipline-specific methods, most often quantitative research methods cut across disciplinary boundaries. Volume One: Fundamental Issues in Quantitative Research Volume Two: Measurement for Causal and Statistical Inference Volume Three: Alternatives to Hypothesis Testing Volume Four: Complex Designs for a Complex World
Doing Quantitative Research in Education with IBM SPSS Statistics (3rd ed.) by
This essential guide for education students and researchers explains how to use quantitative methods for analysing educational data using IBM SPSS Statistics. By using datasets from real-life educational research, it demonstrates key statistical techniques that you will need to know, explaining how each procedure can by run on IBM SPSS Statistics. Datasets discussed in the book are downloadable, allowing you to hone your skills as you read. In this third edition, explanations have been updated with figures and screenshots from SPSS version 28, alongside a range of new research examples and updated further reading. Daniel Muijs is Dean of the Faculty of Education and Society at Academica University of Applied Sciences in Amsterdam.
Educational Research: Planning, Conducting, and Evaluating Quantitative and Qualitative Research. (6th ed.). by
In precise step-by-step language, this 4th edition helps you learn how to conduct, read, and evaluate research studies. Key changes include expanded coverage of ethics and new research articles.
Quantitative Research in Education (2nd ed.) by
"The book provides a reference point for beginning educational researchers to grasp the most pertinent elements of designing and conducting research..." --Megan Tschannen-Moran, The College of William & Mary Quantitative Research in Education: A Primer, Second Edition is a brief and practical text designed to allay anxiety about quantitative research. Award-winning authors Wayne K. Hoy and Curt M. Adams first introduce readers to the nature of research and science, and then present the meaning of concepts and research problems as they dispel notions that quantitative research is too difficult, too theoretical, and not practical. Rich with concrete examples and illustrations, the Primer emphasizes conceptual understanding and the practical utility of quantitative methods while teaching strategies and techniques for developing original research hypotheses. The Second Edition includes suggestions for empirical investigation and features a new section on self-determination theory, examples from the latest research, a concluding chapter illustrating the practical applications of quantitative research, and much more. This accessible Primer is perfect for students and researchers who want a quick understanding of the process of scientific inquiry and who want to learn how to effectively create and test ideas.
"Sage Research Methods provides access to more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences and includes the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher."