This Guide is intended as a starting point for your research and lists a selection of material. You will need to look beyond the resources listed here to identify further reading. Additional material (including more ebooks) can be found in the Education Ebooks Collection, or Sage Research Methods and in scholarly ejournal articles sourced using bibliographic databases.
See the Phenomenological Methods and Phenomenology Sections of the Education Ebooks Collection for additional reading
Dowling, M. (2007). From Husserl to van Manen. A review of different phenomenological approaches. International Journal of Nursing Studies, 44(1), 131–142.
Flood, A. (2010). Understanding phenomenology. Nurse Researcher, 17(2), 7–15.
Koch, T. 1995. Interpretive approaches in nursing research: The influence of Husserl and Heidegger. Journal of advanced nursing, 21(5), 827-836.
* Available in print in the University Library *
Larkin, M., Watts, S., Clifton, E. (2006) Giving voice and making sense in Interpretative Phenomenological Analysis. Qualitative Research in Psychology, 3:2, 102-120.
Laverty, S. M. (2003). Hermeneutic Phenomenology and Phenomenology: A Comparison of Historical and Methodological Considerations. International Journal of Qualitative Methods, 2(3), 21–35.
Lindseth, A., & Norberg, A. (2004). A phenomenological hermeneutical method for researching lived experience. Scandinavian Journal of Caring Sciences, 18(2), 145–153.
* Includes good examples *
Reid, K., Flowers, P. & Larkin, M. (2005) Exploring lived experience: An introduction to Interpretative Phenomenological Analysis. The Psychologist, 18:1, 20-23.
Interpretative Phenomenological Analysis (2nd. ed.) by
Interpretative phenomenological analysis (IPA) is a qualitative research approach committed to the examination of how people make sense of their major life experiences. This text provides a detailed guide to conducting IPA research, presenting the theoretical underpinnings of the approach, a comprehensive overview of the stages of an IPA research project, and examples of high-quality IPA studies. Extended worked examples from the authors′ own studies in health, psychological distress, and identity illustrate the breadth and depth of IPA research, making this book the definitive guide to IPA for students and researchers alike. New to this edition: - A thoroughly updated chapter dedicated to analysis - An exemplary mini-study - Improved and updated terminology - A chapter discussing innovations in design, data collection, and collaboration ′It is not often I can use "accessible" and "phenomenology" in the same sentence, but reading the new book, Interpretative Phenomenological Analysis...certainly provides me the occasion to do so. I can say this because these authors provide an engaging and clear introduction to a relatively new analytical approach′ - The Weekly Qualitative Report
Researching lived experience: human science for an action sensitive pedagogy by 
The Foundations of Social Research by
Choosing a research method can be bewildering. How can you be sure which methodology is appropriate, or whether your chosen combination of methods is consistent with the theoretical perspective you want to take? This book links methodology and theory with great clarity and precision, showing students and researchers how to navigate the maze of conflicting terminology. The major epistemological stances and theoretical perspectives that colour and shape current social research are detailed and the author reveals the philosophical origins of these schools of inquiry and shows how various disciplines contribute to the practice of social research as it is known today.
Nursing research using phenomenology : qualitative designs and methods in nursing by 
Phenomenological Psychology by
Phenomenological Psychology provides a comprehensive, accessible and practical introduction to phenomenological theory, research and methods. Detailed and extensive examples of real research are included throughout to encourage an applied and critical understanding. The book moves from descriptive through to more interpretative phenomenological methods to enable the reader to learn to use the main approaches to phenomenological psychology, and to understand the similarities and differences between the different approaches.
Phenomenological Research Methods by
In this volume, Clark Moustakas clearly discusses the theoretical underpinnings of phenomenology, based on the work of Husserl and others, and takes the reader step-by-step through the process of conducting a phenomenological study. His concise guide provides numerous examples of successful phenomenological studies from a variety of fields including therapy, health care, victimology, psychology and gender studies. The book also includes form letters and other research tools to use in designing and conducting a study.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research in Psychology - Chapter 11: Interpretative Phenomenological Analysis. Written by Virginia Eatough & Jonathan A. Smith by
Recommended by Steve Watson as a good summary and an alternative to Smith & Flowers Interpretative Phenomenological Analysis
The following sections of the Library will contain material on this subject:
301/01 – Social science research methodology
370/78 – Educational research
"Sage Research Methods provides access to more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences and includes the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher."