This Guide is intended as a starting point for your research and lists a selection of material. You will need to look beyond the resources listed here to identify further reading. Additional material (including more ebooks) can be found in the Education Ebooks Collection, or Sage Research Methods and in scholarly ejournal articles sourced using bibliographic databases.
See the Research with Children Section of the Education Ebooks Collection for additional reading
The following sections of the Library will contain material on this subject:
301/01 – Social science research methodology
370/78 – Educational research
372/21 - Early childhood education
Doing Research with Children (3rd ed.) by
The Third Edition of Doing Research with Children is practical introduction to the process of designing, doing and writing up research with children and young people. At the center is a commitment to engaging with children and young people as active research participants rather than as passive subjects. In this new edition, you'll find up to date information on the fast-changing political and ethical debates around research with children and young people as well as guidance on how to carry out research yourself. Divided into three sections, the new edition covers: The main theories and approaches of research with children and young people Expanded guidance on research ethics Techniques for conduction both qualitative and quantitative research More on analyzing your research A brand new chapter on communicating your research findings This is a must-have guide for students and practitioners who are engaging in research with children and young people. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Ethical Research with Children by
"This book is an interesting read and one that covers a range of concerns and issues that researchers might encounter when designing research, interviewing or working with children." Educational Review This book focuses on doing ethical research with children in today's climate of increased globalization, surveillance and awareness of children as competent research participants. It covers a range of conceptual, methodological and procedural issues, and provides a framework for doing ethical research with children. Written by international experts in the fields of early childhood research and ethics, this book supports students, practitioner-researchers and research gatekeepers with resources on how to conduct and evaluate ethical research with children. The contributors: Use key examples of cutting-edge research from a range of countries to examine research ethics with children and those around them Provide strategies for planning, conducting and evaluating research in an ethical way Explore theoretical approaches to children and childhood that are relevant to ethical research Ethical Research with Children is key reading for students in childhood studies, teacher education, public health, nursing, human services, legal studies, psychology and social sciences, as well as practitioner-researchers in these fields.
The Ethics of Research with Children and Young People (2nd ed.) by
Ethical questions are at the centre of research with children and young people. This clear and practical text informs students and researchers about the relevant laws and guidelines and current debates in research ethics. Priscilla Alderson and Virginia Morrow cover ethics at every stage of research, and with all kinds of young research participants, particularly those who are vulnerable or neglected. They break down the process of research into ten stages, each with its own set of related questions and problems, and they show how these need to be addressed. This practical book is essential reading for anyone who conducts or reviews research with children or young people. Priscilla Alderson is Emerita Professor of Childhood Studies at the Institute of Education University of London. Virginia Morrow is Senior Research Officer in the Department of International Development, University of Oxford.
Listening to Young Children, Expanded Third Edition by
Viewing children as 'experts in their own lives', the Mosaic approach offers a creative framework for understanding young children's perspectives through talking, walking, making and reviewing material with an adult. This book demonstrates how children's views and experiences can stay in focus in early childhood provision. The multi-method approach brings together digital tools with interviewing and observation to enable adults to review current practice and implement change with children. Combining the authors' successful books Listening to Young Children and Spaces to Play into an expanded and fully updated third edition, this book builds on the authors' original ground-breaking work by commenting on the development and adaptation of the Mosaic approach, along with case studies of the Mosaic approach in action in four countries: England, Denmark, Norway and Australia. Alongside guidance on using and adapting the framework with young children, older children and adults, there is new material on the ethical and methodological issues involved.
Researching Children's Experience by
How should the researcher approach the sensitive subject of the child? What are the ethical issues involved in researching children's experiences? In essays written by a collection of key, international authors, Researching Children's Experience addresses these questions, and examines up-to-date methodological and conceptual approaches to researching children. This book is a practical, comprehensive and interdisciplinary guide for advanced students and researchers, exploring a range of studies, and the theoretical and ethical motivations behind them. The book is divided into three coherent sections: - Conceptual, methodological and ethical issues in researching children's experiences. - Methods for conducting research with children. - The generation and analysis of text. Researching Children's Experience provides examples of how researchers from a variety of social science perspectives have set about carrying out research into children's experience. Useful to students embarking on a research project, and to experienced researchers wishing to explore new methods, Greene and Hogan's book is an essential addition to anyone doing research on children. It will be especially useful to those in developmental psychology, education, nursing and other disciplines interested in studying children's experience.
Researching Children's Experiences by
This accessible book presents approaches to planning, carrying out, and analyzing research projects with children and youth from a social constructivist perspective. Rich, contextualized examples illustrate how to elicit and understand the lived experiences of diverse young people. Data-collection methods discussed in depth include drawing, photography, the Internet, games, interviewing, focus groups, journaling, and observation. Also covered are strategies for fostering the active contributions of children in the research process; navigating consent and ethical issues; enlisting the support of parents, school personnel, and other gatekeepers; and interpreting data. Throughout, the authors emphasize the need to attend to the social setting in which research with children is done. End-of-chapter questions and exercises encourage readers to reflect on taken-for-granted conceptions of children and childhood and to try out the book's ideas in their own research projects.
Researching Children's Perspectives by
The 1990s have been marked by a growing emphasis, in various professional contexts, on obtaining the views of clients, including children. This position is an international one, shared across the developed world, and encapsulated in the UN Convention on the rights of the child. This book addresses the issues and practicalities surrounding the obtaining of children's views, particularly in the research context. The book takes a deliberately and explicitly pluralist stance. Its distinctiveness rests on the scrutiny of methodological issues pertaining to the collection of children's views and practical applications. The book is structured around two main sections. Section 1 examines five aspects of theoretical and conceptual issues (ethical issues and codes of conduct, children's rights, the legal perspective, developmental dimensions and sociological issues). Section 2 illustrates these aspects by focusing on methods and applications in obtaining children's views in specific projects. The book is aimed at researchers and graduate students in psychology, social sciences, education, health and law. It will also be of value to a range of professionals involved in eliciting children's views (e.g. psychologists, teachers, social workers, medical workers and the police).
Researching Young Children's Perspectives by
What ethical dilemmas face researchers who work with young children? Researching Young Children's Perspectives critically examines the challenges and complexities of rights based, participatory research with children. Rather than approaching these dilemmas as problematic issues, this book positions them as important topics for discussion and reflection. Drawing from their own rich experiences as research collaborators with young children in internationally diverse settings, the authors consider the ethical, methodological and theoretical frameworks that guide best-practice in research with young children. Each chapter poses points for consideration that will inform and challenge both the novice and experienced researcher, such as: How 'participatory' can research be with infants under eighteen months? When should listening through observation stand alone? What is the distinction between methodologies and methods? How can all young children be assured of a voice in research? The authors also present seven separate case studies which demonstrate exemplary research with young children. Each study is accompanied by insightful commentary from the authors, who highlight the issues or difficulties faced and propose potential solutions. If you are a student at undergraduate level and above, this book will give you all the confidence you need to conduct your own high quality research with children.
The SAGE Handbook of Early Childhood Research by
Recent decades have seen an upsurge of research with and about young children, their families and communities. The Handbook of Early Childhood Research will provide a landmark overview of the field of early childhood research and will set an agenda for early childhood research into the future. It includes 31 chapters provided by internationally recognized experts in early childhood research. The team of international contributors apply their expertise to conceptual and methodological issues in research and to relevant fields of practice and policy. The Handbook recognizes the main contexts of early childhood research: home and family contexts; out-of-home contexts such as services for young children and their families; and broader societal contexts of that evoke risk for young children. The Handbook includes sections on: the field of early childhood research and its key contributions new theories and theoretical approaches in early childhood research collecting and analysing data applications of early childhood research This Handbook will become the valuable reference text for students, practitioners and researchers from across the social sciences and beyond who are engaged in research with young children.
Doing Research with Children and Young People by
Doing Research with Children and Young People introduces researchers to the key considerations involved in working with children and young people. The book highlights issues which arise at different stages in the process and which all researchers need to take account of as they plan and carry out a study. These include: · ethical and legal issues · philosophical underpinnings of research · age and diversity of the children involved · evaluation and dissemination of findings. Doing Research with Children and Young People has been developed to accompany The Open University course Research with Children and Young People (EK310). It is an ideal introduction for all students and practitioners preparing to research in fields such as education, health, welfare, childhood and youth studies, psychology and sociology.
Educational Research with Our Youngest by
Interpreting the voices of under three year olds is central to early childhood education. Yet entering into their life-worlds is fraught with challenges and unrealised possibilities. This ground-breaking book generates a dialogue about the multiple ways researchers have exploited a range of methods for approaching, accessing, understanding and interpreting infant voice. Each chapter explores the kinds of ethical considerations and dilemmas that may arise in this process. The book itself represents a chorus of international voices (researchers, children, teachers and parents), all adding to a discussion about various circumstances, dilemmas and possibilities involved in doing research with our youngest. This book is an essential read for researchers and teachers alike who seek to 'listen' and 'see' very young children with fresh ears and eyes.
The Reality of Research with Children and Young People by
The Reality of Research with Children and Young People illustrates the process of carrying out research through thirteen `research stories'. Each story includes a piece of published research, accompanied by a commentary from the author of the research explaining: · the origins of the research · how research questions were formed · factors influencing the choice of methodology and data collection techniques · problems that arose and how these were dealt with · personal reflections on the project. The research examples included in this volume have been carefully selected to demonstrate the reality of researching with children from pre-school age to late adolescence. They reflect the different traditions and variety of methods of collecting data, including interview, evaluation, ethnography, experiment, survey, case study, questionnaire, longitudinal, and standardised assessment. The Reality of Research with Children Young People provides valuable insights into the process of research for students and professionals in a range of fields including education, health, welfare, childhood and youth Studies, psychology and sociology. The book was developed to accompany The Open University Course, Research with Children and Young People (EK310).
Researching with Children and Young People by
Researching with Children and Young People covers every stage of the process of doing a research project, from research design and data collection, through to analysis and writing up. The book is divided into three sections, in which the authors cover: - Introducing research and consultation with children and young people - Collecting and analysing data - Whole-project issues. Each chapter includes activities, discussion questions, tips and extended case studies to help the reader to engage with the material and investigate the practical implications. This text will be of great use to postgraduate researchers in education, social work and nursing, and any practitioner involved in carrying out research with children and young people.
Understanding Research with Children and Young People by
How do views about children shape research concerned with their lives? What different forms can research with children take? What ethical issues does it involve? How does it impact on policy and practice, and on the lives of children themselves? This book helps you to understand how research is designed and carried out to explore questions about the lives of children and young people. It tackles the methodological, practical and ethical challenges involved, and features examples of actual research that illustrate: Different strategies for carrying out research Common challenges that arise in the research process Varying modes of engagement that researchers can adopt with participants and audiences; and The impact that research can have on future studies, policy and practice.
"Sage Research Methods provides access to more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences and includes the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher."
Dockett, S. (2007) Trusting children’s accounts in research. Journal of Early Childhood Research, 5(1), 47-63.
Einarsdottir, J. (2007) Research with children: methodological and ethical challenges. European Early Childhood Education Research Journal, 15(2), 197-211.
European Early Childhood Education Research Journal. Special issue: Children’s Perspectives and Participation in Research, 19(3), 2011.
Mortari, L., & Harcourt, D. (2012). "Living" ethical dilemmas for researchers when researching with children. International Journal of Early Years Education, 20(3), 234-243.
Punch, S.. (2002) Research with children: the same or different from research with adults. Childhood, 9(3), 321-341.
Uprichard, E. (2010) Questioning research with children: discrepancy between theory and practice. Children and Society, 24(1), 3-13.