This Guide is intended as a starting point for your research and lists a selection of material. You will need to look beyond the resources listed here to identify further reading. Additional material (including more ebooks) can be found in the Education Ebooks Collection, or Sage Research Methods and in scholarly ejournal articles sourced using bibliographic databases.
Carlson, D. L. (Feb 2021) Qualitative Inquiry. Special Issue: Global Perspectives on the Post-Qualitative Turn in Qualitative Inquiry, 27(2).
Christ, R. C. (Jan 2020). What Do Pedagogies Produce? Thinking/Teaching Qualitative Inquiry in Qualitative Inquiry, 26(1).
Koro-Ljungberg, M, Carlson, D Tesar, M & Anderson K (2015) Methodology brut: Philosophy, Ecstatic Thinking and some other unfinished things. Qualitative Inquiry, 21(7), 612-619.
Kuntz, A and Presnall, M. (2012) Wandering the Tactical: From Interview to Intraview, Qualitative Inquiry, 18(9) 732-744.
Lather, P (2016) Top ten+ list: Rethinking ontology in (post)qualitative research, Cultural Studies ó Critical Methodologies, 16(2), p 125-131.
Lather, P., & St Pierre, E. (2013) 'Post-qualitative research' International Journal of Qualitative Studies in Education, 26(6) p. 629-633.
St Pierre, E. (1997). Methodology in the fold and the irruption of transgressive data. International Journal of Qualitative Studies in Education, 10(2), 175-189.
St. Pierre, E. (2021). Why Post Qualitative Inquiry? Qualitative Inquiry, 27(2), 163-166.
St. Pierre, E., Jackson, A., & Mazzei, L. (2016). New Empiricisms and New Materialisms. Cultural Studies, Critical Methodologies, 16(2), 99-110.
The SAGE Dictionary of Qualitative Inquiry (4th ed.) by
This Fourth Edition of Thomas A. Schwandt's one-of-a-kind guide to the terms and phrases that help shape the origins, purpose, logic, meaning, and methods of the practices known as qualitative inquiry features 20 additional terms as well as a restructured Reader's Guide. Key references have been updated and select terms and phrases from previous editions have been reorganized and greatly expanded. Together, the dictionary entries provide a guide to the methodological and epistemological concepts and theoretical orientations of qualitative inquiry. This unique resource is ideal for readers who are navigating various perspectives on qualitative inquiry, working on a qualitative dissertation, or are launching their own investigations into the issues covered.
A great introductory talk on how Post-Qualitative Inquiry began and where it's going
A YouTube channel dedicated to postqualitative research, including links to videos and podcasts (click below)
Going Beyond the Theory/Practice Divide in Early Childhood Education by
Going Beyond the Theory/Practice Divide in Early Childhood Education focuses on the use of pedagogical documentation as a tool for learning and transformation. Based on innovative research, the author presents new approaches to learning in early childhood education, shifting attention to the force and impact which material objects and artefacts can have in learning. Drawing upon the theories of feminist Karen Barad and philosophers Gille Deleuze and Félix Guattari, Hillevi Lenz Taguchi discusses examples of how pens, paper, clay and construction materials can be understood as active and performative agents, challenging binary divides such as theory/practice, discourse/matter and mind/body in teaching and learning. Numerous examples from practice are explored to introduce an intra-active pedagogy. 'Methodological' strategies for learning with children in preschools, and in teacher education, are brought to the fore. For example: the neighbourhood around the preschool and children's homes is explored, using drawing and construction-work on the floor; mathematics is investigated in teacher education, using the body, dance and music to investigate mathematical relationships and problems; taken-for-granted forms of academic writing are challenged by different forms of praxis- and experience-based writings that transgress the theory/practice divide; children, students and teacher educators use pedagogical documentation to understand their own learning, and to critique dominant habits of thinking and doing. Challenging the dominant understanding of 'inclusion' in educational contexts, and making 'difference' actively visible and positive, this book is rooted in the experiences, practices and words of teachers, teacher educators and student teachers. It will appeal to all those involved in early childhood education and also to those interested in challenging educational thinking and practices.
Navigating the Postqualitative, New Materialist and Critical Posthumanist Terrain Across Disciplines by
Navigating the Postqualitative, New Materialist and Critical Posthumanist Terrain Across Disciplines is an accessible introductory guide to theories, paradigm shifts and key concepts in postqualitative, new materialist and critical posthumanist research. Supported by its own website, this first book in a larger series is an essential companion to the primary texts and original sources of the theorists discussed in this and other books in the series. Disrupting the theory/practice divide, the book offers a postqualitative reimagining of traditional research processes. In doing so, it guides readers through the contestation of binaries, innovative concepts, and the practical provocations that make up the postqualitative terrain. It orients the researcher in the ontological re-turn also by considering Indigenous knowledges, African, Eastern and young children's philosophies. The style itself is postqualitative through diffractive engagements by the authors and the website includes some examples of the practical provocations described in the book that give an imaginary of how postqualitative research can be taught and enacted. This book is an essential resource for novice as well as experienced researchers working both within and across disciplines in higher education. More information and pocasts for this book can be found at https://postqualitativeresearch.com/series-overview/navigating-the-postqualitative-new-materialist-and-critical-posthumanist-terrain-across-disciplines-an-introductory-guide-2/
Posthuman Knowledge by
The question of what defines the human, and of what is human about the humanities, have been shaken up by the radical critiques of humanism and the displacement of anthropomorphism that have gained currency in recent years, propelled in part by rapid advances in our knowledge of living systems and of their genetic and algorithmic codes coupled with the global expansion of a knowledge-intensive capitalism. In Posthuman Knowledge, Rosi Braidotti takes a closer look at the impact of these developments on three major areas: the constitution of our subjectivity, the general production of knowledge and the practice of the academic humanities. Drawing on feminist, postcolonial and anti-racist theory, she argues that the human was never a neutral category but one always linked to power and privilege. Hence we must move beyond the old dualities in which Man defined himself, beyond the sexualized and racialized others that were excluded from humanity. Posthuman knowledge, as Braidotti understands it, is not so much an alternative form of knowledge as a critical call: a call to build a multi-layered and multi-directional project that displaces anthropocentrism while pursuing the analysis of the discriminatory and violent aspects of human activity and interaction wherever they occur. Situated between the exhilaration of scientific and technological advances on the one hand and the threat of climate change devastation on the other, the posthuman convergence encourages us to think hard and creatively about what we are in the process of becoming.
Posthuman Research Practices in Education by
How do we include and develop understandings of those beyond-the-human aspects of the world in social research? Through fifteen contributions from leading international thinkers, this book provides original approaches to posthumanist research practices in education. It responds to questions which consider the effect and reach of posthuman research.
Posthumanism and higher education : reimagining pedagogy, practice and research by The following are related terms that can be used when searching for additional information on this subject:
Posthumanism
New Materialism
Feminist Science Studies
FNM (Feminist New Materialism)
Coming soon!
"Sage Research Methods provides access to more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences and includes the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher."
