This Guide is intended as a starting point for your research and lists a selection of material. You will need to look beyond the resources listed here to identify further reading. Additional material (including more ebooks) can be found in the Education Ebooks Collection, or Sage Research Methods and in scholarly ejournal articles sourced using bibliographic databases.
See the Education Research Section of the Education Ebooks Collection for additional reading
For sources of secondary data, see the Locating data section of the Literature Searching Guide
Research Methods in Education (8th ed.) by
Chapter 28: Using Secondary Data in Educational Research
Research Methods in Educational Leadership and Management by
This classic guide continues to be the leading Research Methods text that specifically deals with Educational Leadership and Management. The collection boasts an array of high-profile international expert contributors, covering a wide range of specialisms, emphasising the importance of the critically engaged practitioner. Accessible and user-friendly, this edition has been fully revised and updated to take full account of online research. It features new authors, more case studies and examples, and brand new chapters on: - research Design - grounded research - ethnography - discourse analysis - narrative / Life history - student voice Whether you are postgraduate, an academic, or a practitioner researcher, if you are investigating Research Methods, Leadership & Management or Educational Research, this is the book you will need.
Using Secondary Data in Educational and Social Research by
This comprehensive guide introduces students to the use of secondary data in educational and social research, and provides a practical resource for researchers who are new to the field of secondary data analysis.
Real World Research (4th ed) (See page 359) by 
"Sage Research Methods provides access to more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences and includes the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher."