This Guide is intended as a starting point for your research and lists a selection of material. You will need to look beyond the resources listed here to identify further reading. Additional material (including more ebooks) can be found in the Education Ebooks Collection, or Sage Research Methods and in scholarly ejournal articles sourced using bibliographic databases.
See the Surveys and Questionnaires Sections of the Education Ebooks Collection for additional reading
The following sections of the Library will contain material on this subject:
301/01 – Social science research methodology
370/78 – Educational research
Glasgow, P.A. (2003) Fundamentals of survey research methodology. McLean, VA: Mitre Corporation.
Listen to Darleen Opfer discuss questionnaires and surveys
Designing Effective Web Surveys by
Designing Effective Web Surveys is a practical guide to designing web surveys, based on empirical evidence and grounded in scientific research and theory. It is designed to guide survey practitioners in the art and science of developing and deploying successful web surveys. The author guides the researcher through the steps involved, from the basic building blocks and suggests ways to increase visual impact and interactivity. Throughout, he considers the importance of layout and design, and attention is also given to the way questions are put together. The book is intended for academic, government, and market researchers who design and conduct web surveys.
Design, Evaluation, and Analysis of Questionnaires for Survey Research (2nd ed.) by
Praise for the First Edition "...this book is quite inspiring, giving many practical ideas for survey research, especially for designing better questionnaires." --International Statistical Review Reflecting modern developments in the field of survey research, the Second Edition of Design, Evaluation, and Analysis of Questionnaires for Survey Research continues to provide cutting-edge analysis of the important decisions researchers make throughout the survey design process.The new edition covers the essential methodologies and statistical tools utilized to create reliable and accurate survey questionnaires, which unveils the relationship between individual question characteristics and overall question quality. Since the First Edition, the computer program Survey Quality Prediction (SQP) has been updated to include new predictions of the quality of survey questions on the basis of analyses of Multi-Trait Multi-Method experiments. The improved program contains over 60,000 questions, with translations in most European languages. Featuring an expanded explanation of the usage and limitations of SQP 2.0, the Second Edition also includes: New practice problems to provide readers with real-world experience in survey research and questionnaire design A comprehensive outline of the steps for creating and testing survey questionnaires Contemporary examples that demonstrate the many pitfalls of questionnaire design and ways to avoid similar decisions Design, Evaluation, and Analysis of Questionnaires for Survey Research, Second Edition is an excellent textbook for upper-undergraduate and graduate-level courses in methodology and research questionnaire planning, as well as an ideal resource for social scientists or survey researchers needing to design, evaluate, and analyze questionnaires.
Handbook of Complementary Methods in Education Research (3rd ed.). (p. 641-654) by 
International Handbook of Survey Methodology by 
Internet Survey Methodology by
This book provides the understandings needed for researchers to develop scientifically validated internet survey methods. Except by chance, inaccurate data will provide results that have little or no validity or reliability. 'Garbage In Garbage Out' (GIGO) is a term commonly used in the computer industry to remind us that, if the data being analyzed are incorrect, the result will likewise be incorrect. While no survey design system can correct for improper sampling or poor item construction, it is essential to have a survey platform that allows for and supports best practices in presentation, sampling, data collection, and analysis-all as supported by research.
Methods for Testing and Evaluating Survey Questionnaires by
The definitive resource for survey questionnaire testing and evaluation Over the past two decades, methods for the development, evaluation, and testing of survey questionnaires have undergone radical change. Research has now begun to identify the strengths and weaknesses of various testing and evaluation methods, as well as to estimate the methods reliability and validity. Expanding and adding to the research presented at the International Conference on Questionnaire Development, Evaluation and Testing Methods, this title presents the most up-to-date knowledge in this burgeoning field. The only book dedicated to the evaluation and testing of survey questionnaires, this practical reference work brings together the expertise of over fifty leading, international researchers from a broad range of fields. The volume is divided into seven sections: Cognitive interviews Mode of administration Supplements to conventional pretests Special populations Experiments Multi-method applications Statistical modeling Comprehensive and carefully edited, this groundbreaking text offers researchers a solid foundation in the latest developments in testing and evaluating survey questionnaires, as well as a thorough introduction to emerging techniques and technologies.
The SAGE Handbook of Survey Methodology by
Survey Methodology is becoming a more structuredfield of research, deserving of more and more academic attention. TheSAGE Handbook of Survey Methodology explores boththe increasingly scientific endeavour of surveys and their growing complexity,as different data collection modes and information sources are combined. The handbooktakes a global approach, with a team of international experts looking at localand national specificities, as well as problems of cross-national, comparativesurvey research. The chapters are organized into seven major sections, each ofwhich represents a stage in the survey life-cycle: Surveys and Societies Planning a Survey Measurement Sampling Data Collection Preparing Data for Use Assessing and Improving Data Quality The SAGE Handbook of SurveyMethodology is a landmark andessential tool for any scholar within the social sciences.
Surveys in Social Research (6th ed.) by
David de Vaus' classic text Surveys in Social Researchprovides clear advice on how to plan, conduct and analyse social surveys. It emphasises the links between theory and research, the logic and interpretation of statistics and the practices of social research. This sixth edition has been completely revised and updated, and contains new examples, data and extensive lists of web resources. As well as explaining how to conduct good surveys, de Vaus shows how to become a critical consumer of research. He argues that the logic of surveys and statistics is simply an extension of the logic we use in everyday life; analysis, however, requires creativity and imagination rather than the application of sterile mechanical procedures. The prime goal of research should be to gain accurate understanding and, as a researcher, use methods and techniques which enhance understanding. De Vaus advocates researchers use the method, rather than letting the method use you. Surveys in Social Researchis essential reading for students and researchers working with surveys. It assumes no background in statistical analysis, and gives you the tools you need to come to grips with this often challenging field of work. thod use you. Surveys in Social Researchis essential reading for students and researchers working with surveys. It assumes no background in statistical analysis, and gives you the tools you need to come to grips with this often challenging field of work.
Bauer, K.W. (2004) Conducting longitudinal studies. New Directions for Institutional Research, issue 121 (Special issue: Overcoming survey research problems), 75-90.
Coomber, R. (1997) Using the internet for survey research, Sociological Research Online, 2 (2)
Krosnik, J.A.A. (1999) Survey research. Annual Review of Psychology, 50(1), 537-567.
Porter, S. R (2004). Pros and cons of paper and electronic surveys. New Directions for Institutional Research, issue 121 (Special issue: Overcoming survey research problems), 91-97.
Porter, S. R (2004). Raising response rates: what works? New Directions for Institutional Research, issue 121 (Special issue: Overcoming survey research problems), 5-21.
Porter, S.R. and Whitcomb, M.E. (2004) Understanding the effect of prizes on response rates. New Directions for Institutional Research, issue 121 (Special issue: Overcoming survey research problems), 51-62.
Porter, S.R., Whitcomb, M.E. and Weitzer, W.H. (2004) Multiple surveys of students and survey fatigue. New Directions for Institutional Research, issue 121 (Special issue: Overcoming survey research problems), 63-73.
Presser, S., Couper, M. P., Lessler, J. T., Martin, E., Martin, J., Rothgeb, J. M., & Singer, E. (2004). Methods for testing and evaluating survey questions. Public Opinion Quarterly, 68(1), 109-130.
Pryor, J.H. (2004) Conducting surveys on sensitive topics. New Directions for Institutional Research, issue 121 (Special issue: Overcoming survey research problems), 39-50.
Shih, T.-H., & Fan, X. (2009). Comparing response rates in e-mail and paper surveys: A meta-analysis. Educational Research Review, 4(1), 26-40.
Umbach, P.D. (2004) Web surveys: best practices. New Directions for Institutional Research, issue 121 (Special issue: Overcoming survey research problems), 23-38.
Designing Surveys (3rd ed.) by
Written with the needs and goals of a novice researcher in mind, this fully updated Third Edition provides an accurate account of how modern surveys are actually designed and conducted. Much more than a "how-to" guide, this up-to-date and accessible book presents the material in a social science context and teaches readers to think through decisions about sample design, questionnaire development, and data collection, rather than simply following prescriptive advice that may not be appropriate to particular practical situations. In addition to providing examples of alternative procedures, Designing Surveys shows how classic principles and recent research guide decision-making--from setting the basic features of the survey design to implementing instrument development, testing, and data collection. The new edition covers new developments in data collection technologies, provides a more comprehensive treatment of questionnaire development and pretesting, and includes completely new chapters on sample design and selection.
How to Conduct Surveys (6th ed.) by
Packed with new topics that reflect today's challenges, the Sixth Edition of the bestselling How to Conduct Surveys guides readers through the process of developing their own rigorous surveys and evaluating the credibility and transparency of surveys created by others. Offering practical, step-by-step advice and written in the same clear and accessible style as author Arlene Fink's other works, the book focuses on choosing the appropriate type of survey, writing survey questions and responses, formatting the survey, deciding on the characteristics and numbers of respondents to include, choosing how often to survey respondents, and analyzing and reporting the results. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Small-Scale Social Survey Methods by
Small-Scale Social Survey Methods is a comprehensive guide to the successful design and implementation of surveys as a research method. It covers:* finding the right group to respond to the survey* developing the right questions to ask* understanding the different types of sampling* analysing the data produced by the survey.
Survey Methodology (2nd ed.) by
This new edition of Survey Methodology continues to provide a state-of-the-science presentation of essential survey methodology topics and techniques. The volume's six world-renowned authors have updated this Second Edition to present newly emerging approaches to survey research and provide more comprehensive coverage of the major considerations in designing and conducting a sample survey. Key topics in survey methodology are clearly explained in the book's chapters, with coverage including sampling frame evaluation, sample design, development of questionnaires, evaluation of questions, alternative modes of data collection, interviewing, nonresponse, post-collection processing of survey data, and practices for maintaining scientific integrity. Acknowledging the growing advances in research and technology, the Second Edition features: Updated explanations of sampling frame issues for mobile telephone and web surveys New scientific insight on the relationship between nonresponse rates and nonresponse errors Restructured discussion of ethical issues in survey research, emphasizing the growing research results on privacy, informed consent, and confidentiality issues The latest research findings on effective questionnaire development techniques The addition of 50% more exercises at the end of each chapter, illustrating basic principles of survey design An expanded FAQ chapter that addresses the concerns that accompany newly established methods Providing valuable and informative perspectives on the most modern methods in the field, Survey Methodology, Second Edition is an ideal book for survey research courses at the upper-undergraduate and graduate levels. It is also an indispensable reference for practicing survey methodologists and any professional who employs survey research methods.
Survey Research Methods (5th edition) by 
"Sage Research Methods provides access to more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences and includes the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher."
| Remember that you can search for scholarly journal articles by subject using a specialist bibliographic database. Further support with this can be found on the Literature Searching Guide. |