This Guide is intended as a starting point for your research and lists a selection of material. You will need to look beyond the resources listed here to identify further reading. Additional material (including more ebooks) can be found in the Education Ebooks Collection, or Sage Research Methods and in scholarly ejournal articles sourced using bibliographic databases.
See the Early Years Research Methods Section of the Education Ebooks Collection for additional reading
The following sections of the Library will contain material on this subject:
372/21 - Early Childhood Research
Beyond Listening by
More young children than ever before are spending their time in some form of early childhood service. But how do we know what they think about it? While there has been a move to take children's views into account more generally, very little attention has been given to listening to young children below the age of six or seven.This book is the first of its kind to focus on listening to young children, both from an international perspective and through combining theory, practice and reflection. With contributions and examples from researchers and practitioners in six countries it examines critically how listening to young children in early childhood services is understood and practised.Each chapter is rooted in the everyday lives of young children and presents a range of actual experiences for students and practitioners to draw from. Beyond listening goes further to address key questions emerging from early childhood services and research. These are What do we mean by listening? Why listen? How do we listen to young children? What view of the child do different approaches to listening presume? What risks does listening entail for young children?The authors are leading experts in this area of rapidly growing interest and have themselves developed innovative methods such as the Mosaic approach, which is discussed in the book.
Listening to Young Children, Expanded Third Edition by
Viewing children as 'experts in their own lives', the Mosaic approach offers a creative framework for understanding young children's perspectives through talking, walking, making and reviewing material with an adult. This book demonstrates how children's views and experiences can stay in focus in early childhood provision. The multi-method approach brings together digital tools with interviewing and observation to enable adults to review current practice and implement change with children. Combining the authors' successful books Listening to Young Children and Spaces to Play into an expanded and fully updated third edition, this book builds on the authors' original ground-breaking work by commenting on the development and adaptation of the Mosaic approach, along with case studies of the Mosaic approach in action in four countries: England, Denmark, Norway and Australia. Alongside guidance on using and adapting the framework with young children, older children and adults, there is new material on the ethical and methodological issues involved.
The SAGE Handbook of Early Childhood Research by
Recent decades have seen an upsurge of research with and about young children, their families and communities. The Handbook of Early Childhood Research will provide a landmark overview of the field of early childhood research and will set an agenda for early childhood research into the future. It includes 31 chapters provided by internationally recognized experts in early childhood research. The team of international contributors apply their expertise to conceptual and methodological issues in research and to relevant fields of practice and policy. The Handbook recognizes the main contexts of early childhood research: home and family contexts; out-of-home contexts such as services for young children and their families; and broader societal contexts of that evoke risk for young children. The Handbook includes sections on: the field of early childhood research and its key contributions new theories and theoretical approaches in early childhood research collecting and analysing data applications of early childhood research This Handbook will become the valuable reference text for students, practitioners and researchers from across the social sciences and beyond who are engaged in research with young children.
Doing Early Childhood Research by
There are a growing number of courses on early childhood education at university level. This has placed new demands on both students and staff as research is a key feature of many of these courses. Research training is an important element in both undergraduate and postgraduate degrees in early childhood education and there is a genuine need for an accessible textbook that addresses the particular research issues which are a feature of this important field.
Doing Your Early Years Research Project (5th ed.) by
This best-selling guide to undertaking your Early Years research project takes you on a practical step-by-step journey. Breaking down each section into accessible and digestible topics, and accompanied by a multitude of practical examples, case studies, research summaries and key points, the author brings this process to life. The updated and revised edition includes: All chapters have been updated with new content on working in an online environment Completely revised Chapter 10, packed with new content New activities and case studies throughout From learning how to structure and organise your project, through to the final presentation and written report of your findings, this is the essential guide for undergraduate and postgraduate students throughout their early childhood or early years courses.
Research in Early Childhood by
′Andrea Nolan and he colleagues have written a uniquely wise and reader-friendly account of all aspects of researching early childhood′ - Liz Brooker, Reader in Early Childhood, University of London Institute of Education In this innovative guide to research in early childhood, the research process is presented as a journey and this book is your roadmap. The authors take you step-by-step through the practical considerations and complexities of undertaking research with young children featuring the real-world research journeys of two student researchers. Their authentic stories describe the emotions, challenges and moments of exhilaration involved in completing a research project. The book gives guidance on all aspects of the research process, including: - selecting a topic - ethical considerations - collecting your data - analysing your data - disseminating your findings. This book will be an invaluable guide to students of Early Childhood completing a research project or writing a thesis or dissertation.
Research Methods in Early Childhood by
Packed full of even more examples of research methods in practice, this second edition now comes with a fantastic website giving you all you need to understand research methods in early childhood. With new case studies and reflective tasks throughout, this bestselling textbook covers all you need to know about undertaking research in early childhood, including action research, ethics and doing your research project. Online, you'll find: - Quizzes to test your methods knowledge - Free journal articles with accompanying activities to broaden understanding and develop critical thinking - Useful web links as well as videos of the authors answering FAQs about research If you are undertaking research in early childhood then this book is for you.' Penny Mukherji and Deborah Albon will be discussing ideas from Research Methods in Early Childhood in the SAGE Early Years Masterclass, a free professional development experience hosted by Kathy Brodie. To sign up, or for more information, click here.
Understanding Research in Early Education (3rd ed) by
In this newly revised edition of Understanding Research in Early Education, Margaret Clark demonstrates the continuing relevance of research in the homes of young children and in preschool units. Through rigorous yet understandable language, the text stresses the importance of research, acknowledging how easy it can be, amidst the change and flood of documents on early education and care, to overlook the insights to be gained from past research. The author draws on her own studies, and those of others, to illustrate how to avoid common pitfalls, ask the right questions to inform students¿ research projects, and critically apply findings in the classroom or nursery. The book is one of the few texts for students to bring research alive, analysing key research to consider its limitations and the extent to which results are relevant to policy and practice. Without requiring any prior expertise in research and research methodologies, the third edition will prove invaluable for undergraduate and postgraduate students taking courses in early years¿ education, and practitioners undertaking continuing professional development. New content includes: fully revised chapters, an updated reference list, and a new chapter discussing current research on baseline assessment.
"Sage Research Methods provides access to more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences and includes the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher."