This Guide is intended as a starting point for your research and lists a selection of material. You will need to look beyond the resources listed here to identify further reading. Additional material (including more ebooks) can be found in the Education Ebooks Collection, or Sage Research Methods and in scholarly ejournal articles sourced using bibliographic databases.
The following sections of the Library will contain material on this subject:
301/01 – Social science research methodology
370/78 – Educational research
Basics of Qualitative Research (4th ed.) by
Offering immensely practical advice, Basics of Qualitative Research, Fourth Edition presents methods that enable researchers to analyze, interpret, and make sense of their data, and ultimately build theory from it. Authors Juliet Corbin and Anselm Strauss (late of the University of San Francisco and co-creator of grounded theory) walk readers step-by-step through the research process--from the formation of the research question through several approaches to coding, analysis, and reporting. Packed with definitions and illustrative examples, this highly accessible book concludes with chapters that present criteria for evaluating a study, as well as responses to common questions posed by students of qualitative research. New end-of-chapter "Insider Insights" contributed by qualitative researchers give readers a sense of what it's like to work in the field. Significantly revised, this Fourth Edition remains a landmark volume in the study of qualitative methods.
Constructing Grounded Theory (2nd ed.) by
Lecturers, request your electronic inspection copy Kathy Charmaz presents the definitive guide to doing grounded theory from a constructivist perspective. This second edition of her groundbreaking text retains the accessibility and warmth of the first edition whilst introducing cutting edge examples and practical tips. This expanded second edition: - explores how to effectively focus on data collection - demonstrates how to use data for theorizing - adds two new chapters that guide you through conducting and analysing interviews in grounded theory - adds a new chapter on symbolic interactionism and grounded theory - considers recent epistemological debates about the place of prior theory - discusses the legacy of Anselm Strauss for grounded theory. This is a seminal title for anyone serious about understanding and doing grounded theory research.
Grounded Theory (3rd ed.) by
The student-focused guide to grounded theory, this book takes you step by step through the whole research process, from creating a research proposal to sharing your findings.Packed with tools to help you understand how grounded theory can be applied at each stage of your research project, the book includes:*Interactive activities and critical thinking questions in every chapter so you can put your knowledge into practice*Case studies written by a wide variety of researchers so you can learn how to navigate real world research from people who have been in your shoes*Templates and checklists to help guide your writing and ensure you don't miss a step in the research process.Clear, accessible and applied, this book will help you get to grips with the philosophy of grounded theory, understand the nuts and bolts of designing and carrying out your research project, and manage any hurdles along the way.Explore the accompanying online resources, which include PowerPoint slides, additional templates, and weblinks to videos and journal articles relevant to the key concepts in each chapter.
School-Based Research by 
Basics of Qualitative Research - 3rd ed. (Old ed) by
The Third Edition of the bestselling Basics of Qualitative Research:Techniques and Procedures for Developing Grounded Theory continues to offer immensely practical advice and technical expertise to aid researchers in making sense of their collected data. Authors Juliet Corbin and the late Anselm Strauss (co-creator of Grounded Theory) present methods that enable researchers to analyze and interpret their data, and ultimately build theory from it. Highly accessible in their approach, Corbin and Strauss provide a step-by-step guide to the research act--from the formation of the research question through several approaches to coding and analysis, to reporting on the research. Full of definitions and illustrative examples, this book concludes with chapters that present criteria for evaluating a study, as well as responses to common questions posed by students of qualitative research. Significantly revised, Basics of Qualitative Research remains a landmark volume in the study of qualitative methods. Key Features of the Third Edition: Allows for students to develop their critical thinking skills in the "Critical Issues" section at the end of each chapter. Shows the actual steps involved in data analysis (from description to grounded theory) and data gathering by means of theoretical sampling. Provides exercises for thinking, writing and group discussion that reinforces material presented in the text.
Developing Grounded Theory (2nd ed.) by
"Grounded theory is the most popular genre of qualitative research used in the health professions and is widely used elsewhere in the research world. In this volume, six key grounded theory methodologists examine the history, principles, and practices of this method, highlighting areas in which different strands of the methods diverge. Chapters cover the work of Anselm Strauss, Barney Glaser, Leonard Schatzman, and the postmodern and constructivist schools. This volume will be ideal for courses on grounded theory that wish to show the ways in which it can be used in research studies"--
Discovery of Grounded Theory by
Most writing on sociological method has been concerned with how accurate facts can be obtained and how theory can thereby be more rigorously tested. In The Discovery of Grounded Theory, Barney Glaser and Anselm Strauss address the equally Important enterprise of how the discovery of theory from data--systematically obtained and analyzed in social research--can be furthered. The discovery of theory from data--grounded theory--is a major task confronting sociology, for such a theory fits empirical situations, and is understandable to sociologists and laymen alike. Most important, it provides relevant predictions, explanations, interpretations, and applications. In Part I of the book, "Generation Theory by Comparative Analysis," the authors present a strategy whereby sociologists can facilitate the discovery of grounded theory, both substantive and formal. This strategy involves the systematic choice and study of several comparison groups. In Part II, The Flexible Use of Data," the generation of theory from qualitative, especially documentary, and quantitative data Is considered. In Part III, "Implications of Grounded Theory," Glaser and Strauss examine the credibility of grounded theory. The Discovery of Grounded Theory is directed toward improving social scientists' capacity for generating theory that will be relevant to their research. While aimed primarily at sociologists, it will be useful to anyone Interested In studying social phenomena--political, educational, economic, industrial-- especially If their studies are based on qualitative data.
Doing Grounded Theory by
This short, easy to read introduction to grounded theory will help you to employ the method in your research project. Uwe Flick discusses each stage of the process of doing grounded theory research, including formulating a research question through analysis of data, theoretical sampling, sorting and saturation, data collection, coding and forming theories from data.
The Good Research Guide (6th edition) by 
Grounded Theory for Qualitative Research by
Based on the author's own wealth of experience this timely, engaging book helps first-time researchers to discover the excitement of grounded theory method. Fresh, innovative and clear, this book traces the history and development of grounded theory method, and examines how the method is evolving for new contexts today. It sets out the principles involved in using grounded theory method and explains the process and theory associated with coding in grounded theory. The book introduces us to the practicalities of research design, theory building, coding and writing up and gives us the tools to tackle key questions: What is grounded theory? How do we code and theorize using grounded theory? How do we write up a grounded theory study? This is an exciting new text for students and researchers across the social sciences who want to use grounded theory method. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Rediscovering Grounded Theory by
Rediscovering Grounded Theory is a bold re-evaluation of the origins of grounded theory, a philosophical clarification of its key ideas and a presentation of the most effective way to use its techniques in your research. It answers questions such as ′What should grounded theory look like?′, ′How do I recognise grounded theory?′ and ′How do I produce good grounded theory?′ by returning to the original ideas as they were presented by Glaser and Strauss. Sharp, clear and thought-provoking, the book includes: - Detailed analysis of the current literature - Exemplar sections filled with detailed, real world examples and applications - A detailed glossary It will provide you with a grasp of what a grounded theory should look like, take you through the process of building a grounded theory and then explain best practice for critically evaluating the quality of grounded theory research.
Research Methods in Education (8th ed.) by 
The SAGE Handbook of Current Developments in Grounded Theory by
Building on the success of the bestselling The SAGE Handbook of Grounded Theory (2007), this title provides a much-needed and up-to-date overview, integrating some revised and updated chapters with new ones exploring recent developments in grounded theory and research methods in general. The highly-acclaimed editors have once again brought together a team of leading academics from a wide range of disciplines, perspectives and countries. This is a method-defining resource for advanced students and researchers across the social sciences. Part One: The Grounded Theory Method: 50 Years OnPart Two: Theories and Theorizing in Grounded TheoryPart Three: Grounded Theory in PracticePart Four: Reflections on Using and Teaching Grounded TheoryPart Five: GTM and Qualitative Research PracticePart Six: GT Researchers and Methods in Local and Global Worlds
What Is Grounded Theory? by
What is Grounded Theory? provides a compelling account of an approach that has come to be one of the most widely used qualitative research methods across a wide range of subject areas and in the disciplines of nursing, health sciences, computer science, marketing, social psychology and education, among others. Drawing on two decades of research practice and teaching, Tarozzi explains what Grounded Theory (GT) is, exploring its historical context, the many and sometimes antithetical approaches that have emerged of it and the epistemological implications of its application to different disciplines. With chapter summaries, further reading lists and a wealth of practical examples, the author shows how to do GT, accompanying the reader through the various phases of the research project. Using GT in research is an adventurous journey: one can only understand what GT is by doing it.
"Sage Research Methods provides access to more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences and includes the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher."
| Remember that you can search for scholarly journal articles by subject using a specialist bibliographic database. Further support with this can be found on the Literature Searching Guide. |
