This Guide is intended as a starting point for your research and lists a selection of material. You will need to look beyond the resources listed here to identify further reading. Additional material (including more ebooks) can be found in the Education Ebooks Collection, or Sage Research Methods and in scholarly ejournal articles sourced using bibliographic databases.
See the Action Research Section of the Education Ebooks Collection for additional reading
Listen to Michael Evans discuss case studies and action research
The following sections of the Library will contain material on this subject:
301/01 – Social science research methodology
370/78 – Educational research
Action Research: A Methodology for Change and Development by
Presenting a fresh view of action research as a methodology which makes a unique contribution to knowledge about the process of development and change, this text explores its use in different disciplines and locations and shows its fluidity and responsiveness to the values and culture of each.
Action Research for Educational Change by
This book is concerned with action research as a form of teacher professional development. In it, John Elliot traces the historical emergence and current significance of action research in schools. He examines action research as a "cultural innovation" with transformative possibilities for both the professional culture of teachers and teacher educators in academia and explores how action research can be a form of creative resistance to the technical rationality underpinning government policy. He explains the role of action research in the specific contexts of the national curriculum, teacher appraisal and competence-based teacher training.
Action Research: Principles and practice (3rd edition) by
Since its first publication, Action Research: Principles and Practice has become a key text in its field. This new updated edition clearly describes and explains the practices of action research and its underlying values, and introduces important new ideas, including: all professionals should be reflective practitioners; they should produce their personal theories of practice to show how they are holding themselves accountable for their educational influences in learning; the stories they produce become a new people's history of action research, with potential for influencing new futures. This new edition has expanded in scope, to contribute to diverse fields including professional development across the sectors and the disciplines. It considers the current field, including its problems as well as its considerable hopes and prospects for new thinking and practices. Now fully updated, this book contains: A wealth of case-study material New chapters on the educational significance of action research An overview of methodological and ethical discussion The book is a valuable addition to the literature on research methods in education and nursing and healthcare, and professional education, and contributes to contemporary debates about the generation and dissemination of knowledge and its potential influence for wider social and environmental contexts. Practitioners across the professions who are planning action research in their own work settings will find this book a helpful introduction to the subject while those studying on higher degree courses will find it an indispensable resource.
Doing Action Research in Early Childhood Studies by
Are you worried about doing your early years action research project? Does the thought of choosing the right research question feel daunting? Are you concerned about the challenges you might face? If you answer 'yes' to any of these questions, then this is the book for you Written in a lively and accessible style, this is the essential step-by-step guide to conducting your own action research project. The book introduces and evaluates different approaches to action research and explores how they can be applied in early childhood settings to create positive change and to improve practice. Using varied illustrations and case studies of contemporary projects in diverse early childhood contexts, the book addresses specific issues and challenges that you might face when conducting action research in such settings. Each chapter offers gentle guidance and support at a specific stage of the research process, from choosing your initial topic to formulating your research question, through to sharing the lessons of your project. The book's key features include: 16 'Steps' that walk you through the process of conducting your action research project References to real life research projects to illustrate key ideas, themes, practices and debates Advice on creating an action research journal, with sample extracts 'Thinking Boxes' in each chapter to encourage you to review and reflect on the chapter's contents as you plan your research project Checklists in each chapter of key concepts, processes and themes, together with further resources The authors explore some difficult issues associated with action research, including ethics, rigour, validity, critical reflection, and social and professional change. They show that there is more than one 'right' way to perform an action research project and advise you how to choose an approach that is appropriate for your particular interests and circumstances. "Doing Action Research in Early Childhood Studies" is an essential resource for students and practitioners of early childhood studies.
Effective Action Research (2nd ed) by 
Participatory Action Research (2nd ed.) by
Fully revised and updated, this second edition of Participatory Action Research (PAR) provides new theoretical insights and many robust tools that will guide researchers, professionals and students from all disciplines through the process of conducting action research 'with' people rather than 'for' them or 'about' them. PAR is collective reasoning and evidence-based learning focussed on social action. It has immediate relevance in fields ranging from community development to education, health, public engagement, environmental issues and problem solving in the workplace. This new edition has been extensively revised to create a user-friendly textbook on PAR theory and practice, including: updated references and a comprehensive overview of different approaches to PAR (pragmatic, psychosocial, critical); more emphasis on the art of process design, especially in complex social settings characterized by uncertainty and the unknown; developments in the use of Web2 collaborative tools and digital strategies to support real-time data gathering and processing; updated examples and stories from around the world, in a wide range of fields; critical commentaries on major issues in the social sciences, including stakeholder theory, systems thinking, causal analysis, monitoring and evaluation, research ethics, risk assessment and social innovation. This modular textbook provides novel perspectives and ideas in a longstanding tradition that strives to reconnect science and the inquiry process with life in society. It provides coherent and critical treatment of core issues in the　ongoing evolution of PAR, making it suitable for a wide range of undergraduate and postgraduate courses. It is intended for use by researchers, students and working professionals seeking to improve or rethink their approach to co-creating knowledge and supporting action for the well-being of all.
Writing up Your Action Research Project by
Many practice-based researchers have expert knowledge of doing research but often experience difficulties when writing it up and communicating the significance of what they have done. This book aims to help bridge the gap. Packed with practical advice and strong theoretical resources it takes you through the basics of designing and producing your text so that it will meet established standards and high quality assurance expectations. Divided into 3 distinctive parts, key points include: understanding writing practices engaging with the literatures how to write up a project report or dissertation how writing is judged in terms of professional and academic writing practices developing ideas for further study and publication Writing up Your Action Research Project is an essential text for practitioners on professional education and undergraduate courses across disciplines who want their writing to reflect the excellence of their research. It is the ideal companion to the author's You and Your Action Research Project, now in its fourth edition.
Action Research, Innovation and Change by
Action research continues to see a growth in interest both internationally and across disciplines. This book demonstrates the diversity in settings and focus for action research and provides a guide to its core aspiration: to achieve principled change. Written by authors from a range of countries and range of disciplines (including education, health care, palliative care, social work and community development), this book answers these key questions: How can action research be used to achieve principled change? How has action research been applied in various disciplines and in different countries? What can be learnt about the conduct of action research from these diverse settings? By means of detailed case studies of successful projects and discussions that challenge and raise theoretical questions, this book explores some of the contemporary cutting edge applications and conceptualisations of action research. Action research paves the way for the empowerment of people involved in social action, and the examples of successful change processes that are the core of this book will prove inspirational and provide practical advice. Written by a range of leading international researchers in the field, this book will define the future for action research for years to come.
All You Need to Know about Action Research (2nd edition) by
What is action research? Why do action research? When should you use action research? In this edition the authors guide you through everything you need to know to plan and carry out a successful action research project. The book provides: A guide to the history and philosophy underpinning action research, Comprehensive coverage of the main theoretical debates in action research, A unique understanding of how action research can help your learning and your professional practice + more!
Doing Action Research in Your Own Organization (5th edition) by
Concise and unintimidating, the fifth edition of this bestselling book is the only pragmatic, quick-start guide to the main theories, issues, and approaches to insider action research. With an encouraging and approachable tone, David is the perfect mentor for anyone conducting action research in their own organization. Calming nerves at the same time as building confidence, he helps readers devise an appropriate research design that anticipates possible challenges and fits within the limits of their environments. A complete do-it-yourself toolkit for every step of the action research process, this edition is outfitted with: Real-world student and professional case studies Author video tips Annotated templates Progress checklists Journal articles, weblinks, and other further reading. To the point without losing clarity or thoroughness, this book is the hands-on manual for all the need-to-know facts about understanding and undertaking insider action research.
A Short Guide to Action Research (4th edition) by 
Writing and Doing Action Research by
In Writing and Doing Action Research, Jean McNiff provides a comprehensive and user-friendly guide to the practical aspects of writing and doing action research. Written for practitioners involved in higher degree courses and professional development programmes, and students undertaking methods courses, this book includes guidance on how to: Carry out an action research project in your setting Present your findings in a dissertation, report or thesis
You and Your Action Research Project (4th edition) by
You and Your Action Research Project is packed full of useful advice to take the reader through the various stages of an action research project. Written for practitioners across professions who are studying on work-based learning programmes and award-bearing courses, this book contains practical strategies for improving project work. Split into the following five sections; Thinking about doing a project, Getting ready to do a project, Planning a project and managing it, Doing your project, Evaluating your action research project, the structure is clearly accessible and easy-to-read, encouraging readers of cross-curricular interests from teachers, to nurses and social workers to try new approaches. This fourth edition of the best-seller has been thoroughly updated and improved, with new and up-to-date case study material from a very wide range of disciplines, greater emphasis on the need for dialogical practices, points for reflection, more developed ideas about sorting and analysing data, and a stronger focus on writing as a form of research. With key sections on engaging with the literatures and collaborative practices, whilst also developing ideas about writing and data analysis, this book will be essential reading for those wanting to begin and further develop their action research. Jean McNiffis an independent researcher and writer, Professor of Educational Research at York St John University, and Adjunct Professor at the University of Limerick. She is also the author of key text Action Research: Principles and Practice.
"Sage Research Methods provides access to more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences and includes the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher."
 |
 |
| Remember that you can search for scholarly journal articles by subject using a specialist bibliographic database. Further support with this can be found on the Literature Searching Guide. |
Cain, T. (2011). Teachers' classroom-based action research. International Journal of Research and Method in Education, 34(1), 3-16.
Feldman, A. (2007). Validity and quality in action research. Educational Action Research, 15(1), 21-32.
Somekh, B. and Zeichner, K (2009) Action research for educational reform: remodelling action research theories and practices in local contexts. Educational Action Research, 17(1), 5-21.