This Guide is intended as a starting point for your research and lists a selection of material. You will need to look beyond the resources listed here to identify further reading. Additional material (including more ebooks) can be found in the Education Ebooks Collection, or Sage Research Methods and in scholarly ejournal articles sourced using bibliographic databases.
See the Mixed Methods Section of the Education Ebooks Collection for additional reading
The following sections of the Library will contain material on this subject:
301/01 – Social science research methodology
370/78 – Educational research
Blatchford, P. (2005) A multi-method approach to the study of school class size differences. International Journal of Social Research Methodology, 8(3), 195-205.
Burke-Johnson, R., & Onwuegbuzie, A. J. (2004). Mixed methods research: a research paradigm whose time has come. Educational Researcher, 33(7), 14-26.
Ercikan, K. and Roth, W.-M. (2006) What good is polarizing research into qualitative and quantitative? Educational Researcher, 35(5), 14-23.
Gorard, S. (2002). Can we overcome the methodological schism? Four models for combining qualitative and quantitative evidence. Research Papers in Education, 17(4), 345-361.
Jessop, T. and Penny, A. (1999) A story behind a story: developing strategies for making sense of teacher narratives. International Journal of Social Research Methodology, 2(3), 213-230.
Johnson, R.B. and Onwuegbuzie, A. (2004) Mixed methods research: a research paradigm whose time has come? Educational Researcher, 33(7), 14-26.
Johnson, R. B., Onwuegbuzie, A. J., & Turner, L. A. (2007). Toward a Definition of Mixed Methods Research. Journal of Mixed Methods Research, 1(2), 112-133.
Kadushin, C., Hecht, S., Sasson, T., & Saxe, L. (2008). Triangulation and Mixed Methods Designs: Practicing What We Preach in the Evaluation of an Israel Experience Educational Program. Field Methods, 20(1), 46-65.
Lund, T. (2012). Combining qualitative and quantitative approaches: Some arguments for mixed methods research. Scandinavian Journal of Educational Research, 56(2), 155-165.
Onwuegbuzie, A. (2007) A typology of mixed methods sampling designs in social science research. The Qualitative Report, 12(2), 281-316.
Symonds, J. E., & Gorard, S. (2010). Death of mixed methods? Or the rebirth of research as a craft. Evaluation & Research in Education, 23(2), 121 - 136.
Terrell, S. R. (2012). Mixed-methods research methodologies. Qualitative Report, 17(1), 254-280.
Listen to Dominic Wyse discuss mixed methods research
Advances in Mixed Methods Research by
Advances in Mixed Methods Research provides an essential introduction to the fast-growing field of mixed methods research. Bergman's book examines the current state of mixed-methods research, exploring exciting new ways of conceptualizing and conducting empirical research in the social and health sciences. Contributions from the world's leading experts in qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches are brought together, clearing the way for a more constructive approach to social research. These contributions cover the main practical and methodological issues and include a number of different visions of what mixed methods research is. The discussion also covers the use of mixed methods in a diverse range of fields, including sociology, education, politics, psychology, computational science and methodology. This book represents an important contribution to the ongoing debate surrounding the use of mixed methods in the social sciences and health research, and presents a convincing argument that the conventional, paradigmatic view of qualitative and quantitative research is outdated and in need of replacement. It will be essential reading for anyone actively engaged in qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods research and for students of social research methods. Manfred Max Bergman is Chair of Methodology and Political Sociology at the University of Basel.
Mixing Methods in Psychology by
Can qualitative and quantitative methods be combined effectively in psychology? What are the practical and theoretical issues involved? Should different criteria be used to judge qualitative and quantitative research? The acceptance of qualitative research methods in psychology has lead to a split between qualitative and quantitative methods and has raised questions about how best to assess the validity of research practice. While the two approaches have traditionally been seen as competing paradigms, more recently, researchers have begun to argue that the divide is artificial. Mixing Methods in Psychology looks in detail at the problems involved in attempting to reconcile qualitative and quantitative methods both within and across subjects. All angles of the debate are discussed, covering areas as diverse as health, education, social, clinical and economic psychology. The contributors, who are some of the leading figures in the field, present theoretical and methodological guidance as well as practical examples of how quantitative and qualitative methods can be fruitfully combined. By aiming to bridge the gap between the two methods, this book reveals how each can inform the other to produce more accurate theories and models of human behaviour. This groundbreaking text will be essential reading for students and researchers wishing to combine methods, or for anyone who simply wants to get a better understanding of the debate.
Mixed Methods Research by
This accessibly written book is ideal for use in graduate courses or by practicing researchers and evaluators. The author puts the research problem at center stage, showing how mixed methods designs can fruitfully address different types of research questions. She illustrates the discussion with examples of mixed methods studies from a variety of disciplines and qualitative approaches (interpretative, feminist, and postmodern). The text demonstrates how to navigate ethical issues; gather, analyze, and interpret data; and write up the results, including an in-depth example with step-by-step commentary. Special features include "researcher standpoint" reflections from leading scholars and practical strategies to help users develop their own research perspectives. Every chapter concludes with a glossary, discussion questions, and useful Web resources.
Using Mixed Methods by
Using Mixed Methods argues for research from a holistic perspective, integrating different methods, different data and overall research strategies. It provides innovative and ground-breaking in their implications for undertaking social and educational research. The author offers ways of justifying undertaking integrated approaches and offers an underlying rationale for the practices of social and educational research. The author aims to help readers understand how to approach research using an integrated methodology, based on a pragmatic philosophy underpinned by an empirical epistemology. It provides an opportunity to develop an understanding of how to use an integrated methodology that meets the needs of the post-graduate researcher who wants to challenge the traditional paradigmatic view of research. The book explores:The traditional epistemological positions associated with different research approachesFramework for an integrated methodologyMain explanations and justification for carrying out research using the FraIMEthical approach to researchWritten in an easily accessible style, this book is for postgraduate students in education and social science courses.
A Concise Introduction to Mixed Methods Research (2nd ed) by
For students and researchers new to mixed methods, A Concise Introduction to Mixed Methods Research 2e by renowned author John W. Creswell provides a brief and practical introduction to mixed methods. Many graduate students and researchers in the social, behavioral and health sciences may not have the time or resources to read long treatises or stacks of journal articles on mixed methods research. This text quickly describes the basics of setting up and conducting a study using this methodology. Chapters are short and follow the process of research, from ensuring skills for conducting research, acknowledging the steps in planning a study, designing studies with increasing complexity, planning sampling strategies and integration, and writing up the results of your study. New chapters separate basic and advanced mixed methods designs for more depth, while a reorganization of chapters better align with the research process. Useful templates throughout allow readers to concretely design and organize their studies. Get started in mixed methods quickly with this brief primer.
Designing and Conducting Mixed Methods Research (3rd ed) by
Combining the latest thinking in the field with practical, step-by-step guidance, the Third Edition of John W. Creswell and Vicki L. Plano Clark's Designing and Conducting Mixed Methods Research now includes seven mixed methods designs with accompanying journal articles illustrating each design. The authors walk readers through the entire research process and present updated examples from published mixed methods studies drawn from multiple disciplines. In addition, this new edition includes information about the dynamic and evolving nature of the field of mixed methods research, four additional methodological approaches, and coverage of new directions in mixed methods.
Educational Research : quantitative, qualitative, and mixed approaches (5th ed.) by
Educational Research: Quantitative, Qualitative, and Mixed Approaches, Fourth Edition is a graduated text that introduces readers to the fundamental logic of empirical research and the sources of research ideas. Detailed descriptions guide students through the design and implementation of actual research studies with a balanced examination of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed research. Definitions of key terms are provided in the margins for easy reference and to help students understand the multiple research methods and strategies used in education and related fields. New Features: - Student study site materials are integrated within the text, with the use of marginal icons depicting interactive concept maps, journal articles, and tools and tips. - New "Action Research" activity for each chapter is included. - A chapter on Writing the Research report incorporates changes in new edition of the Publication Manual of the APA, and includes a sample manuscript using APA style. - New exhibits on Egon G. Guba and Donald T. Campbell, and a new table on applying qualitative research validity strategies are incorporated. - New material on research paradigms, types of plagiarism, using free software for random sampling and assignment, nomological vs. ideographic causation are integrated. - Several chapters are slightly shortened and made simpler, without sacrificing any of the book's rigor.
Foundations of Mixed Methods Research (2nd ed.) by
The highly-anticipated second edition of the Foundations of Mixed Methods Research:Integrating Quantitative and Qualitative Approaches in the Social and Behavioral Sciences gives students a comprehensive overview of mixed methods from philosophical roots and traditions through designing, conducting, and disseminating a study. Authors Abbas Tashakkori, R. Burke Johnson, and Charles Teddlie have thoroughly updated the text to reflect the many advances over the last decade in mixed methods. New example studies throughout and a new appendix highlight the latest research on mixed methods and current best practices. New sections on evaluating quality in mixed methods studies and writing up research results round out the process of mixed methods research. The authors have added features like content summaries and objectives at the beginning of each chapter and chapter summaries and previews at the end of each chapter to aid readers in their mixed methods journey. Students across social science, behavioral science, and health and nursing fields are now expected to be proficient in mixed methods research. This text begins with an introduction to and overview of the development of mixed methodology, and then takes students through all aspects of working with mixed methods, from research design and data collection through to analysis and conclusions. This new edition includes additional information on writing, publishing, and disseminating results, as well as information on policy impact and annotated examplars of mixed methods research studies. A new generation of mixed methods scholars can now engage with this vital text in mixed methods research.
Mixed Method Design by
The use of mixed methods designs for conducting research has become a major trend in social science research. Renowned methodological experts Janice Morse and Linda Niehaus present a guide to intermediate and experienced researchers on the possibilities inherent in mixed method research. They offer the basic principles of conducting this kind of study, then examine a wide variety of design options available to the researcher, including their strengths and weaknesses and when to use them. Providing examples from a variety of disciplines, examining potential threats to validity, and showing the relationship between method and theory, the book will be a valuable addition to the methodologist's library and a useful text in courses in research design.
Mixed Methods in Social Inquiry by
"This is an excellent addition to the literature of integrated methodology. The author has skillfully integrated diverse ways of thinking about mixed methods into a comprehensive and meaningful framework. By providing detailed examples, she makes it easy for both the students and the practitioners to understand the intricate details and complexities of doing mixed methods research. On the other hand, by comparing, contrasting, and bridging multiple perspectives about mixed methods, she has made this book very relevant and useful to seasoned scholars of mixed methodology."--Abbas Tashakkori, Frost Professor and coordinator, educational research and evaluation methodology, Department of Educational and Psychological Studies, Florida International University, founding coeditor, Journal of Mixed Methods Research
Research Design : Qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches (6th ed.) by 
SAGE Handbook of Mixed Methods in Social and Behavioral Research by
The Handbook of Mixed Methods in Social & Behavioral Research contains a gold mine of articles by leading scholars on what has come to be known as the third methodological movement in social research. Aimed at surveying the differing viewpoints and disciplinary approaches of mixed methods, this breakthrough book examines mixed methods from the research enterprise to paradigmatic issues to application. The book also discusses the strengths and weaknesses of mixed methods designs, and provides an array of specific examples in a variety of disciplines, from psychology to nursing. The book closes with a brief section on how to teach and perform collaborative research using a mixed methods research design. Written so that it can be used either as a pedagogical tool or as a reference for researchers, the book is rich in examples and includes a glossary, easy-to-follow diagrams, and tables to help readers become more familiar with the language and controversies in this evolving area.
"Sage Research Methods provides access to more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences and includes the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher."
| Remember that you can search for scholarly journal articles by subject using a specialist bibliographic database. Further support with this can be found on the Literature Searching Guide. |