This Guide is intended as a starting point for your research and lists a selection of material. You will need to look beyond the resources listed here to identify further reading. Additional material (including more ebooks) can be found in the Education Ebooks Collection, or Sage Research Methods and in scholarly ejournal articles sourced using bibliographic databases.
See the Critical Discourse Analysis Section of the Education Ebooks Collection for additional reading
Ahmed, Y. (2021) Political discourse analysis: a decolonial approach, Critical Discourse Studies,18:1,139-155
Beach, D. (2016). It's all about mechanisms - what process-tracing case studies should be tracing. New political economy, 2016-09-02, Vol.21 (5), p.463-472
Checkel, J. T. (2008). Tracing Causal mechanisms, International Studies Review 8(2), 362- 70.
Gastil, J. (1992). Undemocratic Discourse: a Review of Theory and Research on Political Discourse. Discourse & Society, 3(4), 469-501.
Iser, W. (1972). The Reading Process: A Phenomenological Approach, New Literary History, Vol. 3, No. 2, On Interpretation: I (Winter, 1972), pp. 279-299.
Palier, B., & Trampusch, C. (2016). Process tracing: the understandings of casual mechanisms, New Political Economy (Vol. 21). Carfax.
Snow, D. A., Burke Rochford, Jr, R, Worden, S.K. and Benford, R. D. (1986). Frame Alignment Processes, Micromobilization, and Movement Participation. American Sociological Review 51, 464-481.
The following sections of the Library will contain material on this subject:
301/01 – Social science research methodology
370/78 – Educational research
Discourse in Late Modernity by
Discourse in Late Modernity sets out to show that critical discourse analysis is strongly positioned to address empirical research and theory-building across the social sciences, particularly research and theory on the semiotic/linguistic aspects of the social world. It situates critical discourse analysis as a form of critical social research in relation to diverse theories from the philosophy of science to social theory and from political science to sociology and linguistics. First, the authors clarify the ontological and epistemological assumptions of critical discourse analysis - its view of what the social world consists of and how to study it - and, in so doing, point to the connections between critical discourse analysis and critical social scientific research more generally. Secondly, they relate critical discourse analysis to social theory, by creating a research agenda in contemporary social life on the basis of narratives of late modernity, particularly those of Giddens, Habermas, and Harvey as well as feminist and postmodernist approaches. Thirdly, they show the relevance of sociological work in the analysis of discursive aspects of social life, drawing on the work of Bourdieu and Bernstein to theorise the dialectic of social reproduction and change, and on post-structuralist, post-colonial and feminist work to theorise the dialectic of complexity and homogenisation in contemporary societies. Finally, they discuss the relationship between systemic-functional linguistics and critical discourse analysis, showing how the analytical strength of each can benefit from the other.* Sets out a new and distinctive theoretical grounding and research agenda for critical discourse analysis* Interdisciplinary in scope* Draws on a broad range of theories and approaches
Methods of Critical Discourse Analysis (1st ed.) by 
The Routledge Handbook of Discourse Analysis (2nd ed.) by 
"Sage Research Methods provides access to more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences and includes the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher."
| Remember that you can search for scholarly journal articles by subject using a specialist bibliographic database. Further support with this can be found on the Literature Searching Guide. |
