This Guide is intended as a starting point for your research and lists a selection of material. You will need to look beyond the resources listed here to identify further reading. Additional material (including more ebooks) can be found in the Education Ebooks Collection, or Sage Research Methods and in scholarly ejournal articles sourced using bibliographic databases.
Designing and reporting experiments in psychology (4th ed.) by
This book will help undergraduate psychology students to write practical reports of experimental and other quantitative studies in psychology. It is designed to help with every stage of report writing and provides a resource that students can refer to throughout their degree, up-to and including when writing up a final year undergraduate project.
Now fully updated in its fourth edition, this book maps to the seventh edition of the APA guidelines and offers more comprehensive advice, guidelines and recommendations than ever before.
Evaluating Educational Interventions, Second Edition by
This innovative guide is now in a revised and expanded second edition with an even stronger applied focus. It helps educators harness the potential of single-case design (SCD) as a critical element of data-based decision making in a multi-tiered system of support (MTSS). The authors present simple and complex SCDs and demonstrate their use to defensibly document the effects of academic or behavioral interventions. In a convenient large-size format, the book includes reproducible graphs and other tools; appendices provide guides to analyzing and presenting data in Microsoft Excel. Purchasers get access to a Web page where they can download and print the reproducible materials. New to This Edition *Updated to align perfectly with MTSS and current evidence-based practices. *Chapter on using SCD in educational research. *Greater emphasis on day-to-day educational practice throughout. *Significantly revised discussions of brief experimental analysis, complex SCDs, and advanced empirical analyses.
Experimental Designs by
The fourth book in The SAGE Quantitative Research Kit, this resource covers the basics of designing and conducting basic experiments, outlining the various types of experimental designs available to researchers, while providing step-by-step guidance on how to conduct your own experiment. As well as an in-depth discussion of Random Controlled Trials (RCTs), this text highlights effective alternatives to this method and includes practical steps on how to successfully adopt them. Topics include: · The advantages of randomisation · How to avoid common design pitfalls that reduce the validity of experiments · How to maintain controlled settings and pilot tests · How to conduct quasi-experiments when RCTs are not an option Practical and succintly written, this book will give you the know-how and confidence needed to succeed on your quantitative research journey.
Experimental Psychology by
Kantowitz, Roediger, and Elmes, all prominent researchers, take an example-based approach to the fundamentals of research methodology. The book is organized by topic--such as research in human factors, learning, thinking, and problem solving--and the authors discuss and clarify research methods in the context of actual research conducted in these specific areas. This unique feature helps readers connect the concepts of sound methodology with their practical applications. Carefully selected real-world examples allow readers to see for themselves the issues and problems that can occur in conducting research. More importantly, readers develop a sense of how to anticipate and adjust for problems in their own research.
"Experiments" In Research Methods in Education (8th ed.) by 
Handbook of Quantitative Methods for Educational Research by
This handbook serves to act as a reference for educational researchers and practitioners who desire to acquire knowledge and skills in quantitative methods for data analysis or to obtain deeper insights from published works. Written by experienced researchers and educators, each chapter in this handbook covers a methodological topic with attention paid to the theory, procedures, and the challenges on the use of that particular methodology.
A History of Modern Experimental Psychology by
The evolution of cognitive psychology, traced from the beginnings of a rigorous experimental psychology at the end of the nineteenth century to the "cognitive revolution" at the end of the twentieth, and the social and cultural contexts of its theoretical developments.Modern psychology began with the adoption of experimental methods at the end of the nineteenth century- Wilhelm Wundt established the first formal laboratory in 1879; universities created independent chairs in psychology shortly thereafter; and William James published the landmark work Principles of Psychology in 1890. In A History of Modern Experimental Psychology, George Mandler traces the evolution of modern experimental and theoretical psychology from these beginnings to the "cognitive revolution" of the late twentieth century. Throughout, he emphasizes the social and cultural context, showing how different theoretical developments reflect the characteristics and values of the society in which they occurred. Thus, Gestalt psychology can be seen to mirror the changes in visual and intellectual culture at the turn of the century, behaviorism to embody the parochial and puritanical concerns of early twentieth-century America, and contemporary cognitive psychology as a product of the postwar revolution in information and communication.After discussing the meaning and history of the concept of mind, Mandler treats the history of the psychology of thought and memory from the late nineteenth century to the end of the twentieth, exploring, among other topics, the discovery of the unconscious, the destruction of psychology in Germany in the 1930s, and the relocation of the field's "center of gravity" to the United States. He then examines a more neglected part of the history of psychology-the emergence of a new and robust cognitive psychology under the umbrella of cognitive science.
Quantitative Methods in Educational Research by
This is a comprehensive guide to quantitative research, rooted in the author's own teaching and research. In particular, it challenges both the student who "does not do numbers" and the student who does nothing but numbers (and who therefore fails to interpret or challenge his/her results). The book shows how all educational researchers need to "do" quantitative research, even if only in the sense of reading other people's research findings. In fact, the book argues that the conventional distinction between primary and secondary research data is inadequate, since there is enormous need/opportunity for conducting research through using and reinterpreting secondary data. This leads to one of the main selling points of the book - Gorard's idea of the "idle researcher", who makes valuable contributions to the research literature by using data gathered by other researchers.
Quasi-Experimentation by
Featuring engaging examples from diverse disciplines, this book explains how to use modern approaches to quasi-experimentation to derive credible estimates of treatment effects under the demanding constraints of field settings. Foremost expert Charles S. Reichardt provides an in-depth examination of the design and statistical analysis of pretest-posttest, nonequivalent groups, regression discontinuity, and interrupted time-series designs. He details their relative strengths and weaknesses and offers practical advice about their use. Comparing quasi-experiments to randomized experiments, Reichardt discusses when and why the former might be a better choice than the latter in the face of the contingencies that are likely to arise in practice. Modern methods for elaborating a research design to remove bias from estimates of treatment effects are described, as are tactics for dealing with missing data and noncompliance with treatment assignment. Throughout, mathematical equations are translated into words to enhance accessibility. Adding to its discussion of prototypical quasi-experiments, the book also provides a complete typology of quasi-experimental design options to help the reader craft the best research design to fit the circumstances of a given study.
Randomized Controlled Trials (2nd ed.) by
Randomized controlled trials are one of the most powerful and revolutionary tools of research. This book is a convenient and accessible description of the underlying principles and practice of randomized controlled trials and their role in clinical decision-making. Structured in a jargon-free question-and-answer format, each chapter provides concise and understandable information on a different aspect of randomized controlled trials, from the basics of trial design and terminology to the interpretation of results and their use in driving evidence-based medicine. The authors end each chapter with their musings, going beyond the evidence or citations, and sometimes even beyond orthodox correctness to share their thoughts and concerns about different aspects of randomized controlled trials, and their role within the health system. Updated to include insights from the last decade, this second edition challenges over-reliance on randomized controlled trials by debating their strengths and limitations and discussing their optimal use in modern healthcare. It also includes a new and increasingly relevant chapter on the ethics of randomized trials. World renowned writers and thinkers Drs Jadad and Enkin bring you this invaluable book for busy health professionals who wish to understand the theory of randomized controlled trials and their influence on clinical, research or policy decisions.
Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology (2nd ed.) by
Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology provides a seamless introduction to the subject, identifying various research areas and analyzing how one can approach them statistically. The text provides a solid empirical foundation for undergraduate psychology majors, and it prepares the reader to think critically and evaluate psychological research and claims they might hear in the news or popular press. This second edition features updated examples of research and new illustrations of important principles. It also includes updated coverage of ethical issues in research and of current diversity issues.
RTI Applications, Volume 2 by
Once a response-to-intervention (RTI) framework is in place, how can educators determine whether or not interventions are working? This volume focuses on the "response" component of RTI, providing crucial knowledge and hands-on techniques for assessing the effectiveness of RTI practices in grades K-12. The authors show how to select suitable assessment measures, analyze data about academic and behavioral interventions, and make defensible decisions about groups, individual students, and special education eligibility. Professional development strategies are also addressed. Useful reproducible tools are included; the large-size format facilitates photocopying. Purchasers also get access to a Web page where they can download and print the reproducible materials. This book is in the Guilford Practical Interventions in the Schools Series, edited by Sandra M. Chafouleas. See also RTI Applications, Volume 1: Academic and Behavioral Interventions, which covers how to select appropriate interventions and implement them with integrity.
Statistical Methods for Experimental Research in Education and Psychology by
This book focuses on experimental research in two disciplines that have a lot of common ground in terms of theory, experimental designs used, and methods for the analysis of experimental research data: education and psychology. Although the methods covered in this book are also frequently used in many other disciplines, including sociology and medicine, the examples in this book come from contemporary research topics in education and psychology. Various statistical packages, commercial and zero-cost Open Source ones, are used. The goal of this book is neither to cover all possible statistical methods out there nor to focus on a particular statistical software package. There are many excellent statistics textbooks on the market that present both basic and advanced concepts at an introductory level and/or provide a very detailed overview of options in a particular statistical software programme. This is not yet another book in that genre. Core theme of this book is a heuristic called the question-design-analysis bridge: there is a bridge connecting research questions and hypotheses, experimental design and sampling procedures, and common statistical methods in that context. Each statistical method is discussed in a concrete context of a set of research question with directed (one-sided) or undirected (two-sided) hypotheses and an experimental setup in line with these questions and hypotheses. Therefore, the titles of the chapters in this book do not include any names of statistical methods such as 'analysis of variance' or 'analysis of covariance'. In a total of seventeen chapters, this book covers a wide range of topics of research questions that call for experimental designs and statistical methods, fairly basic or more advanced.
Statistics and Causality by
>STATISTICS AND CAUSALITY A one-of-a-kind guide to identifying and dealing with modern statistical developments in causality Written by a group of well-known experts, Statistics and Causality: Methods for Applied Empirical Research focuses on the most up-to-date developments in statistical methods in respect to causality. Illustrating the properties of statistical methods to theories of causality, the book features a summary of the latest developments in methods for statistical analysis of causality hypotheses. The book is divided into five accessible and independent parts. The first part introduces the foundations of causal structures and discusses issues associated with standard mechanistic and difference-making theories of causality. The second part features novel generalizations of methods designed to make statements concerning the direction of effects. The third part illustrates advances in Granger-causality testing and related issues. The fourth part focuses on counterfactual approaches and propensity score analysis. Finally, the fifth part presents designs for causal inference with an overview of the research designs commonly used in epidemiology. Statistics and Causality: Methods for Applied Empirical Research also includes: New statistical methodologies and approaches to causal analysis in the context of the continuing development of philosophical theories End-of-chapter bibliographies that provide references for further discussions and additional research topics Discussions on the use and applicability of software when appropriate Statistics and Causality: Methods for Applied Empirical Research is an ideal reference for practicing statisticians, applied mathematicians, psychologists, sociologists, logicians, medical professionals, epidemiologists, and educators who want to learn more about new methodologies in causal analysis. The book is also an excellent textbook for graduate-level courses in causality and qualitative logic.
"Sage Research Methods provides access to more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences and includes the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher."
Doing Quantitative Research in Education with IBM SPSS Statistics by
This essential guide for education students and researchers explains how to use quantitative methods for analysing educational data using IBM SPSS Statistics. By using datasets from real-life educational research, it demonstrates key statistical techniques that you will need to know, explaining how each procedure can by run on IBM SPSS Statistics. Datasets discussed in the book are downloadable, allowing you to hone your skills as you read. In this third edition, explanations have been updated with figures and screenshots from SPSS version 28, alongside a range of new research examples and updated further reading. Daniel Muijs is Dean of the Faculty of Education and Society at Academica University of Applied Sciences in Amsterdam.
Experimental and Quasi-Experimental Designs for Generalized Causal Inference by
This long awaited successor of the original Cook/Campbell Quasi-Experimentation: Design and Analysis Issues for Field Settings represents updates in the field over the last two decades. The book covers four major topics in field experimentation:
Methods Matter by
Educational policy-makers around the world constantly make decisions about how to use scarce resources to improve the education of children. Unfortunately, their decisions are rarely informed by evidence on the consequences of these initiatives in other settings. Nor are decisions typically accompanied by well-formulated plans to evaluate their causal impacts. As a result, knowledge about what works in different situations has been very slow to accumulate. Over the last several decades, advances in research methodology, administrative record keeping, and statistical software have dramatically increased the potential for researchers to conduct compelling evaluations of the causal impacts of educational interventions, and the number of well-designed studies is growing. Written in clear, concise prose, Methods Matter: Improving Causal Inference in Educational and Social Science Research offers essential guidance for those who evaluate educational policies. Using numerous examples of high-quality studies that have evaluated the causal impacts of important educational interventions, the authors go beyond the simple presentation of new analytical methods to discuss the controversies surrounding each study, and provide heuristic explanations that are also broadly accessible. Murnane and Willett offer strong methodological insights on causal inference, while also examining the consequences of a wide variety of educational policies implemented in the U.S. and abroad. Representing a unique contribution to the literature surrounding educational research, this landmark text will be invaluable for students and researchers in education and public policy, as well as those interested in social science.