This Guide is intended as a starting point for your research and lists a selection of material. You will need to look beyond the resources listed here to identify further reading. Additional material (including more ebooks) can be found in the Education Ebooks Collection, or Sage Research Methods and in scholarly ejournal articles sourced using bibliographic databases.
See the Statistics section of the Education Ebooks Collection for additional reading
The following sections of the Library will contain material on this subject:
301/01 - Social Science Research Methodology
370/78 - Educational Research
310 - Statistics; Data Analysis
Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics (5th edition) by
With an exciting new look, new characters to meet, and its unique combination of humour and step-by-step instruction, this award-winning book is the statistics lifesaver for everyone. From initial theory through to regression, factor analysis and multilevel modelling, Andy Field animates statistics and SPSS software with his famously bizarre examples and activities. What's brand new: A radical new design with original illustrations and even more colour A maths diagnostic tool to help students establish what areas they need to revise and improve on. A revamped online resource that uses video, case studies, datasets, testbanks and more to help students negotiate project work, master data management techniques, and apply key writing and employability skills New sections on replication, open science and Bayesian thinking Now fully up to date with latest versions of IBM SPSS Statistics©. All the online resources above (video, case studies, datasets, testbanks) can be easily integrated into your institution′s virtual learning environment or learning management system. This allows you to customize and curate content for use in module preparation, delivery and assessment. For instructions on how to upload the resources you want, please visit the Instructors′ page or alternatively, contact your local SAGE sales representative.Please note that ISBN: 9781526445780 comprises the paperback edition of the Fifth Edition and the student version of IBM SPSS Statistics. More information on this version of the software′s features can be found here.
Statistics with R (2nd ed.) by
Statistics is made simple with this award-winning guide to using R and applied statistical methods. With a clear step-by-step approach explained using real world examples, learn the practical skills you need to use statistical methods in your research from an expert with over 30 years of teaching experience. With a wealth of hands-on exercises and online resources created by the author, practice your skills using the data sets and R scripts from the book with detailed screencasts that accompany each script. This book is ideal for anyone looking to:* Complete an introductory course in statistics* Prepare for more advanced statistical courses* Gain the transferable analytical skills needed to interpret research from across the social sciences* Learn the technical skills needed to present data visually* Acquire a basic competence in the use of R and RStudio. This edition also includes a gentle introduction to Bayesian methods integrated throughout.The author has created a wide range of online resources, including: over 90 R scripts, 36 datasets, 37 screen casts, complete solutions for all exercises, and 130 multiple-choice questions to test your knowledge.
Statistics Hell
Prof. Andy Field's website - provides resources to help students understand statistics and SPSS. It includes handouts and podcasts taken mainly from his lecture courses.
Common Errors in Statistics (and How to Avoid Them) by
Praise for Common Errors in Statistics (and How to Avoid Them) "A very engaging and valuable book for all who use statistics in any setting." --CHOICE "Addresses popular mistakes often made in data collection and provides an indispensable guide to accurate statistical analysis and reporting. The authors' emphasis on careful practice, combined with a focus on the development of solutions, reveals the true value of statistics when applied correctly in any area of research." --MAA Reviews Common Errors in Statistics (and How to Avoid Them), Fourth Edition provides a mathematically rigorous, yet readily accessible foundation in statistics for experienced readers as well as students learning to design and complete experiments, surveys, and clinical trials. Providing a consistent level of coherency throughout, the highly readable Fourth Edition focuses on debunking popular myths, analyzing common mistakes, and instructing readers on how to choose the appropriate statistical technique to address their specific task. The authors begin with an introduction to the main sources of error and provide techniques for avoiding them. Subsequent chapters outline key methods and practices for accurate analysis, reporting, and model building. The Fourth Edition features newly added topics, including: Baseline data Detecting fraud Linear regression versus linear behavior Case control studies Minimum reporting requirements Non-random samples The book concludes with a glossary that outlines key terms, and an extensive bibliography with several hundred citations directing readers to resources for further study. Presented in an easy-to-follow style, Common Errors in Statistics, Fourth Edition is an excellent book for students and professionals in industry, government, medicine, and the social sciences.
A Dictionary of Statistics 3e by
This wide-ranging, jargon-free dictionary contains over 2,300 entries on all aspects of statistics, including terms used in computing, mathematics, and probability. It also includes biographical information on over 200 key figures in the field and coverage of statistical journals andsocieties. While embracing the whole multi-disciplinary spectrum of this complex subject, information is presented in a clear and practical manner. This edition features recommended web links for many entries, accessible via the Dictionary of Statistics website, which provide valuable extrainformation.This edition features expanded coverage of applied statistics. Entries are generously illustrated with 130 useful figures and diagrams, and include worked examples where applicable. Appendices include a historical calendar of important statistical events, lists of statistical and mathematicalnotation, and statistical tables. It is an invaluable dictionary for statistics students and professionals from a wide range of disciplines, including economics, politics, market research, medicine, psychology, pharmaceuticals, and mathematics, and provides a clear introduction to the subject forthe general reader.
From Numbers to Words by 
Interpreting Quantitative Data with IBM SPSS Statistics by 
Real World Research (4th ed) by 
Research Methods in Education by Qualitative Data Analysis:
If you are interested in using computer software for qualitative data analysis, see the following site for a clear appraisal of the various packages on offer, many of which we have some licences for in the Faculty:
There is also guidance in the resources pages for Using Software in Qualitative Research, 2nd edition.
Silver, C., & Lewins, A. (2020). Using Software in Qualitative Research | Online Resources.
Software
SPSS and NVivo are available to download from Academia for Education:
SPSS - https://cambridge.store.academia.co.uk/software/spss.html
NVivo - https://cambridge.store.academia.co.uk/software/nvivo.html
Please e-mail the UIS Service Desk with any queries: servicedesk@uis.cam.ac.uk
STATA - the School of Humanities and Social Sciences has a Stata site licence which allows all academic, research staff and students of any Faculty or Department of the School, to install Stata on their personal and unversity devices.
See: https://www.it.econ.cam.ac.uk/stata for links to install
Both SPSS and NVivo can be used free of charge on the Education Faculty PCs including the PCs in the Education Faculty Library
Training and support
The Statistics Clinic offering free statistical support to University members
NVivo
Cambridge UIS training course: NVivo (self paced)
Official NVivo YouTube channel
Sage: Step by step guide
Hull University: Getting started with NVivo (New release)
SPSS:
Cambridge UIS training course: SPSS (self paced)
"Sage Research Methods provides access to more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences and includes the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher."
Sabates, R. & Feinstein, L. (2008) Effects of Government Initiatives on Youth Crime. Oxford Economic Papers 60 (3) page 462-483
Gorard, S., Roberts, K., & Prandy, K. (2002). An introduction to the simple role of numbers in social science research. Cardiff: Cardiff University School of Social Sciences.
StatSoft, Inc. (2012). Electronic Statistics Textbook. Tulsa, OK: StatSoft.