Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for My Subject

Modern and Medieval Languages and Linguistics: Russian

Curated resources: Russian

In this section, you will find a selection of cultural and language-learning online resources for the study of Russian curated by your subject librarian. These resources are open and accessible to all. 

If you are aware of other useful resources we should add to this list, do get in touch with your subject librarian.

Resources in the UK

Slavonic collections at Cambridge University Library include more than 95,000 items in Russian. Comprising thousands of items including books, journals, posters, postcards, the Catherine Cooke special collection is an extraordinary resource for research on Russian and Soviet design and architecture. Please contact Mel Bach for more information about the UL Slavonic collections. 

Bookshelf in SPRI Library, with a wooden dedication plaque to Dr Terence E. Armstrong, with a an ingraved image of an Arctic circle

Scott Polar Research Institute Library (Cambridge) has extensive Russian-language holdings in all the disciplines of polar science; some of the Library's Russian-language material is rare even within Russia. The Breitfuss Collection includes more than 1,000 items about the polar regions published largely in German and Russian. The library collections are useful for research on Russian culture of the North, Russia as empire, GULAG camp system, history of Russian exploration of Polar region, ethnography of the indigenous peoples, Siberian languages. Please contact Dr Eleanor Peers for more information about the collections.

 

The Cambridge University Russian Society holds events on Russian politics and culture, and runs conversational evenings.

Pushkin House in London holds events and organizes projects to promote and celebrate Russian culture.

The British Library Russian Collections provide access to materials

Russian and Ukrainian Archives Guide will give you information and tips for using archives in Russia and Ukraine.

Language learning Resources

The Language Center (Cambridge) provides printed and film resources, conversation exchange sessions and other support.

The CEELBAS Language Repository supports language training for research on Central and Eastern Europe.

Transliteration and keyboard

Virtual Keyboard for Cyrillic Script (for both Russian and Ukrainian)

Library of Congress Romanization tables (transliteration)

Romanization of Russian (Wikipedia)

If you experience difficulties finding a search term or item on iDiscover or online, please contact subject librarian.

Back to Top button

                                                                             Return to Start page button