LibGuides: Modern and Medieval Languages: Russian

Subject librarian

Email Me

Contact:

MMLL Library
Faculty of Modern and Medieval Languages and Linguistics
Sidgwick Avenue
Cambridge, UK
CB3 9DA

Subjects: Eastern European Area Studies, Film Studies, Francophone Area Studies, Germanic Area Studies, Iberian Area Studies, Italian Area Studies, Linguistics, Lusophone Area Studies, Modern and Medieval Languages

Recommended University subscription e-resources (Raven login needed)

Current digest of the Russian Press This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1949, each week the Current Digest presents a selection of Russian-language materials, carefully translated into English.
Integrum Central Press Publications This link opens in a new window
Largest electronic collection of Russian mass media.
Iskusstvo kino Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Journal of Russian and Soviet cinema
Literaturnaia gazeta digital archive This link opens in a new window
A weekly cultural and political newspaper
Sovetskaia kul'tura digital archive This link opens in a new window
Weekly newspaper. Source of information on arts and culture in the Soviet and Russian societies
Voprosy istorii: Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
Please select 'IP access'
Comprehensive coverage of national news, current events, economic developments and cultural events in Russia

More e-resources can be found in A-Z Databases: Eastern European Area Studies.

Recommended Open Access e-resources (no password needed)

Central and Eastern European Online Library
Provider of academic e-journals and e-books in the Humanities and Social Sciences from and about Central and Eastern Europe. Many items are open access.
Modern Languages Open
Modern Languages Open (MLO) is a peer-reviewed platform for the open access publication of research from across the modern languages to a global audience.
The Russian State Library digital collection
Provides bibliographic records on all types of items. You can search through the whole catalogue or limit your search to the following sub-catalogues for a particular category of items.
UCL SSEES Library Guides to Resources
Guides to resources on individual countries / regions in Central and Eastern Europe and Russia. Includes a guide to resources on the crisis in Ukraine; guide to resources on LGBTQ in Eastern Europe, and others.
UTREES: University Theses in Russian, Soviet and East European Studies 1907--
Full texts of Masters and PhD theses available through UTREES project and the British library.

Online Dictionaries

E-resources related to Church Slavonic

For more information on Medieval studies, see The Slavonic and East European Medieval Studies Group, Cambridge Byzantine Seminar

Lean Library browser plugin

Download Lean Library

delivers to your desktop the article or chapter if Cambridge University Libraries provide subscription access;
delivers an Open Access version of the article/chapter if there is no subscription access.

Transliteration and keyboard

The Library catalogues all titles in Slavonic languages in transliteration. Transliteration is used to display the Cyrillic alphabet using Roman characters. The transliteration follows the transliteration tables provided by the Library of Congress for various non-Roman languages (ALA-LC Romanization Tables).

Library of Congress Romanization tables (transliteration):

Transliteration tool - Russian

Virtual Keyboard for Cyrillic Script (Russian)

If you experience difficulties finding materials, please contact subject librarian.

Resources for My Subject

Modern and Medieval Languages: Russian

E-resources: Russian

In this section, you will find key electronic resources and databases relating to your studies. These resources are accessible with your Raven password or through a University computer. There are also open access e-resources, which are accessible without a password.

Additional databases can be found in the list of Eastern European Area Studies databases. Please also be sure to check the list of extra Slavonic resources (COVID-19).