LibGuides: Modern and Medieval Languages: Ukrainian

Subject librarian

Email Me

Contact:

MMLL Library
Faculty of Modern and Medieval Languages and Linguistics
Sidgwick Avenue
Cambridge, UK
CB3 9DA

Subjects: Eastern European Area Studies, Film Studies, Francophone Area Studies, Germanic Area Studies, Iberian Area Studies, Italian Area Studies, Linguistics, Lusophone Area Studies, Modern and Medieval Languages

Recommended University subscription e-resources (Raven login needed)

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The ARTstor Digital Library includes approximately 300,000 images and accompanying scholarly information covering art, architecture and archeology.
Donetsk and Luhansk newspaper e-collection This link opens in a new window
10 rare newspapers from the self-proclaimed "Donetsk People's Republic" and "Lugansk People's Republic" regions of Ukraine.
East View databases, serials and eresources This link opens in a new window
Digital archives include Soviet and contemporary press.
Euromaidan Protests in Ukraine, 2013-2014 This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of ephemera and primary source material from the Euromaidan protests that rocked Kiev beginning on November 21, 2013.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines

More e-resources can be found in Eastern European Area Studies databases and the list of extra Slavonic resources (COVID-19).

Recommended Open Access e-resources (no password needed)

Electronic Library of Ukrainian Literature
The MAPA: Digital Atlas of Ukraine program
The program, undertaken by the Ukrainian Research Institute at Harvard University and its partners, brings the latest innovations of information technology to studies of modern Ukrainian history and contemporary political geography. Includes historical atlas and contemporary atlas.
National Library of Ukraine
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)
"Aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world"
UCL SSEES Library Guides to Resources
Guides to resources on individual countries / regions in Central and Eastern Europe and Russia. Includes a guide to resources on the crisis in Ukraine; guide to resources on LGBTQ in Eastern Europe, and others.
Ukrainian conflict collection
Content includes news outlets, social media, blogs, and government websites. Sites are in English, Ukrainian, Russian, and other languages.
UTREES: University Theses in Russian, Soviet and East European Studies 1907--
Full texts of Masters and PhD theses available through UTREES project and the British library.

E-resources related to Church Slavonic

For more information on Medieval studies, see The Slavonic and East European Medieval Studies Group, Cambridge Byzantine Seminar

Lean Library browser plugin

Download Lean Library

delivers to your desktop the article or chapter if Cambridge University Libraries provide subscription access;
delivers an Open Access version of the article/chapter if there is no subscription access.

Transliteration & Keyboard

The Library catalogues all titles in Slavonic languages in transliteration. Transliteration is used to display the Cyrillic alphabet using Roman characters. The transliteration follows the transliteration tables provided by the Library of Congress for various non-Roman languages (ALA-LC Romanization Tables).

Library of Congress Romanization tables (transliteration):

Transliteration tool - Ukrainian

Romanization of Ukrainian (Wikipedia)

Virtual Keyboard for Cyrillic Script (Ukrainian)

If you experience difficulties finding materials, please contact subject librarian.