Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for My Subject

Modern and Medieval Languages and Linguistics: German

Curated resources: German

In this section, you will find a selection of cultural and language-learning online resources for the study of German curated by your subject librarian. Most of these resources are open and accessible to all. 

If you are aware of other useful resources we should add to this list, do get in touch with your subject librarian.

Subject Librarian

Matthias Ammon's picture
Matthias Ammon
Contact:
01223 (7)62896

Resources in Cambridge

The Beit Library

The Beit Library (in the MMLL Library) is especially strong on the history of the German language, the classical period (esp. Goethe) and on the nineteenth century. It also contains a major reference section which has works like Goedeke, Grimm, ADB, Killy, Verfasserlexikon. The Beit has quite a number of titles not in the UL and it is essential to check its holdings in conjunction with the UL collection. Some Colleges have important German collections (notably Trinity), some of which are on iDiscover database.

The University Library

The University Library has excellent stocks in German subject areas. It has one of the major collections in German studies in the country.

The UL also has special collections in German. It holds incunables (pre-1500 imprints) published in Germany. There is a significant collection of printed dissertations from German universities, and a small collection of 'Schulprogramme'. The volumes of the Acton collection are particularly strong on political history and culture in the nineteenth century. The Schnitzler archive contains about one third of Arthur Schnitzler's manuscript papers and is being digitised. The Stefan Heym archive holds Heym's entire papers and a complete collection of his printed works. Other collections are the Bach collection (mainly German and Austrian texts 1900-1930), the Hunter-Alpine library of works on psychiatry, the Library of the Society for Psychical Research, special collections on World War One and on the Nazi period, the Bible Society Library, and a complete set of the illustrated volumes of the Insel Bücherei.

The Language Centre

For language teaching, the German Section shares resources with the Language Centre which has large stocks of audio and visual material. Students can access German broadcast material from ARD and DW at the Independent Learning Centre.

Just in Time Grammar is an online application, developed within the Faculty, to help basic and intermediate students brush up their command of German grammar. If you have a Raven password you can access the site here.

Computer-aided Language Learning (CALL)

The Faculty has a well equipped CALL facility (Computer Aided Language Learning) in the South Wing of the Raised Faculty Building. You are advised to familiarise yourself with the resources there as early as possible in your first year.

Online resources for learning German

This list of links to sites are specially recommended to students of German.

See also language learning resources from the Deutsche Welle for all levels.