LibGuides: Modern and Medieval Languages: Portuguese

Latest Acquisitions

Lygia Clark by Cornelia H. Butler and Luis Pérez-Oramas
ISBN: 9780870708909
Publication Date: 2014

Online Dictionaries and Language Corpora

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
A multilingual dictionary that offers translations of words from Spanish to English and vice versa.
Priberam
A monolingual Portuguese dictionary.
Dicio
A monolingual Portuguese dictionary.

Recommended e-resources (University subscription - Raven login needed)

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Artstor is now on JSTOR. The Artstor website will be retired on 1 August 2024.
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window Hosts all ejournals and ebooks formerly on CJO, CBO, CCO, CHO, SSO & UPO. Multi-disciplinary.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Clase Periodica (Index of Latin American Journals) This link opens in a new window
Classic Brazilian Cinema Online This link opens in a new window A collection that offers easy online access to more than sixty Brazilian movie magazines, from the earliest ones published in the 1910s to later magazines covering the 1960s and early ‘70s.
- This link opens in a new window
Digitalia Film Library This link opens in a new window
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window This archive is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. This authoritative bibliography is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide, and a valuable index for libraries, researchers and individuals interested in European works that relate to the America
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window Literature Online (Lion) includes a collection of over 349,000 works of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary reference and critical resources. Literature Online's primary texts include English poetry from 600 to the present, American and African-American poetry from 1603 to the present, The Faber Poetry Library, English drama from 1280 to 1915, and English prose from 1500 to 1900, among others. Secondary sources include the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature from 1920 onward, with links to articles in JSTOR, LIFT, a literary journal index with full text of selected articles, the King James Bible, Webster's Dictionary, links to selected Web resources, and biographical information.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) This link opens in a new window Full-text scholarly journals in social sciences and humanities for Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin.

Recommended e-resources (Open Access - no password needed)

Digital Libraries and Databases

BNDigital - Brasil
The digitised collections of the National Library of Brazil.
Digital Library of Literature from Lusophone Countries
This digital library offers primary and free source of literary documents in full version. These works are from Brazil and Portugal, from the best available editions.
Latindex
A database that provides access to scientific journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal.
SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online
An online library offering access to scientific journals published in Brazil.

Specialised Resources

AfrOrigens
AfrOrigens is a project to map the materiality linked to diasporic events of the transatlantic trafficking of Africans and, consequently, its study and integration into political agendas for the identification, recognition, and reparation of crimes against humanity.
Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America (AILLA)
A collection that contains recordings, both audio and video, in a wide range of genres in Indigenous languages from Latin America. The archive also contains a wealth of materials such as grammars, dictionaries, ethnographies, and field notes, relating to these languages.
Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera
A steadily growing repository containing a previously unavailable subset of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection, as well as newly acquired materials being digitised and added on an ongoing basis.
imagineRio
A searchable digital atlas that illustrates the social and urban evolution of Rio de Janeiro.
Laboratório de História Oral e Imagem (LABHOI)
A Brazil-based research network with specialties in oral and iconographic history that has produced a range of resources on subjects including the history and memory of the transatlantic slave trade.
Latin American Choral Music
A work-in-progress compilation of information about choral music by Latin American composers from 1550 to the present.
The Latin American Mortality Database (LAMBdA)
A database that offers mortality data about Latin America from the interval between 1848 and 2014.
Modern Languages Open
A peer-reviewed platform for the open access publication of research from across the modern languages to a global audience.
Pan-Hispanic Ballad Project
A database offering access to materials including a critical bibliography of Pan-Hispanic Balladry, a large corpus of texts representative of Pan-Hispanic ballads documented worldwide since the 15th century, and digitized reproductions of original oral performances or their musical notation.
Passados Presentes
An interactive database that allows users to explore points from the UNESCO-funded Inventory of Spaces of Memory for the Transatlantic Slave Trade and the History of Enslaved African in Brazil.
Portal Americanista Europeo
A portal that offers information about European research on humanities and social sciences in Latin America.

Visual Culture Resources

Acervo do Instituto Moreira Salles
The archive of the Instituto Moreira Salles, a cultural institute based in Brazil that holds a wide range of photographic, iconographic, literary and musical collections.
Brasiliana Fotográfica
A website that offers access to digitised copies of photographic collections held in libraries and archives from across Brazil.
Brasiliana Iconográfica
A website that offers access to digitised copies of iconographic collections held in libraries and archives from across Brazil.

Resources for My Subject

Modern and Medieval Languages: Portuguese

Portuguese E-Resources

E-resources: Portuguese

Additional databases that may be of use are A-Z E-Resources: Lusophone Area Studies (link opens in new window) and AZ E-Resources: Latin-American Studies (link opens in new window).

Latest Acquisitions

Online Dictionaries and Language Corpora

Recommended e-resources (University subscription - Raven login needed)

Recommended e-resources (Open Access - no password needed)

Digital Libraries and Databases

Specialised Resources

Visual Culture Resources