LibGuides: Modern and Medieval Languages: French

More information on how to find e-resources is available in the ebooks@cambridge online guide.

Subject Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

MMLL Library
University of Cambridge
Sidgwick Avenue
Cambridge
CB3 9DA

01223 335014

CAIRN French Studies Collection This link opens in a new window A database of French journals in humanities and social sciences
Corpus de la littérature médiévale des origines au 15e siècle This link opens in a new window French medieval literature texts (full-text and searchable). Also accesible via Classiques Garnier Numerique
Corpus des dictionnaires de l'Acadèmie française This link opens in a new window French dictionaries (17-20th c.) Also accesible via Classiques Garnier Numerique
Corpus Montaigne This link opens in a new window
Complete works of Montaigne including translations. Also accesible via Classiques Garnier Numerique
Grand corpus des grammaires françaises, des reqmarques et des traités sur la langue (XIVe-XVIIe siècles) This link opens in a new window The "Grand Corpus des Grammaires Françaises, des Remarques et des Traités sur la Langue XIVe-XVIIe siécles" ("Great Corpus of French language Grammars, Commentaries and Treatises on language (14th-17th centuries)") groups together in one database the "Corpus of French Renaissance grammars," the "Corpus of French 17th century grammars" and the "Corpus of remarks on the French language (17th Century)." This is close to representing all the French grammars from the 14th to the 17th centuries. Each grammar is presented both in fully searchable keyed text, as well as facsimile page images.

Gallica This link opens in a new window Begun in 1997 as the major digitization project at the Bibliothèque Nationale de France, Gallica includes full-text and page-images of hundreds of thousands of volumes from the Middle Ages to the beginning of the twentieth century, with an emphasis on nineteenth-century material. Designed as the digital repository of French culture, Gallica covers virtually all areas of human inquiry, in particular history, literature, science, philosophy, law, economics, and political science. Gallica contains dictionaries and encyclopedias; journals, newspapers, and other periodicals; pamphlets; theater; poetry; novels and other prose texts; manuscripts; recordings; and images. Various collections compose "Les Dossiers de Gallica," such as Gallica Classique (Garnier editions), le dossier Proust, Voyages en France, Voyages en Afrique, La Bibliothèque de Voltaire à la Bibliothèque nationale de Russie, Le Rêve d'Emile Zola dans tous ses états, le dossier Utopie, Le dossier "Sociétés Savantes (d'Aquitaine et de Lorraine), and an audio collection, La Voix sur Gallica (poetry and politics).