If you are using an ebook, rather than an online only source - cite these following the guidance in the Books and Ebooks section.

Date:

When an online reference work is continuously updated, use n.d. as the date and include a retrieval date.

If you can access a permanent URL to a stable page that will not change then you will not need the Retrieved date and can use a named date.

Entry in a dictionary, theasurus or encyclopedia with a group author

Group author. (n.d.). Term/title of section. in Title of work. Retrieved Month day, YYYY, from URL

Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Pedagogy. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved January 4, 2020, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/pedagogy
In text:

To quote a definition of a term, include the definition number

(Merriam-Webster, n.d., Definition 1).

Entry in a dictionary, theasurus or encyclopedia with an individual author

Section author surname, INITIALS. (date or n.d.). Term/title of section. in INITIALS. Surname (Ed.) or  INITIALS. Surname & INITIALS. Surname (Eds.) (if known), Title of work. Retrieved Month day, YYYY, from URL

Blust, R. (n.d.). Austronesian languages. in Encyclopedia Britannica. Retrieved March 24, 2020 from https://www.britannica.com/topic/Austronesian-languages

In text:

(Blust, n.d.).

Entry in a dictionary, theasurus or encyclopedia with no author

Where there is no author, start your reference with the title of the page/section. For example Wikipedia

Title of page/section. (date or n.d.). in title of source. Retrieved Month day, YYYY (if needed) URL

If you can access a permanent URL to a stable page that will not change then you will not need the Retrieved date and can use a named date. For example in Wikipedia you can access the stable archived version of a page by selecting 'view history' then select the link to page for the time and date you have used.

List of oldest schools. (2021, March 23). In Wikipedia. URL

Non permanent link:

List of oldest schools. (n.d.). In Wikipedia. Retrieved August 12, 2021) from URL

In-Text

(List of oldest schools, 2021)

(List of oldest schools, n.d.)

Printed dictionary with group author

• When the author and publisher are the same, the publisher name is omitted to avoid repetition.

Group author. (YYYY). Term. in Title of Dictionary (edition information., p. ). Publisher (if different from author).

Merriam-Webster. (2003). Pedagogy. In Merriam-Webster’s dictionary (11th ed., p. 72).

• Provide any edition information about the dictionary in round brackets after the dictionary title.
• Provide the page number for the entry in parentheses after the title of the dictionary.
• When both an edition and page number are present, place them in the same set of parentheses, separated with a comma.

Printed dictionary with editor

Editor surname, INITIALS. (Ed. or Eds.) (YYYY). Term. in Title of Dictionary (edition information., p. ). Publisher.

Sykes, W. (Ed.) ( 2003). Pedagogy. In he concise Oxford dictionary of current English (7th ed., pp. 137-162). Clarendon.

In-Text

To quote a definition of a term, include the definition number

(Merriam-Webster, n.d., Definition 1). 

(Sykes, n.d., Definition 1).