Top resources for the English tripos
(find more in the English Literature A-Z)
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) - Current searchable online edition of the OED. Useful for history of individual words, and of the English language.
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (ODNB) - Concise, scholarly biographies of historical and literary figures. Searchable and quotable.
Literature Online (LION) - Includes Author Pages (with scholarly biographies, lists of works, and links to related journal articles) and online versions of reference books such as The Concise Oxford Companion to English Literature and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms.
ARTstor - A digital library of images and accompanying scholarly information.
The Bible - 20 versions of the English Bible.
Times Digital Archive 1785-2010 - Searchable digital copies of The Times Between 1785-2010.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive - Every page of every copy of the TLS published from 1902-2011.
Literature Timeline - Interactive timeline from the British Library. Detailing the evolution of English language and literature, from the 11th century to the present day.
Voice of the Shuttle: literature in English - Extensive Web directory created by Alan Liu of the University of California.
Literary Resources in the Net - Collection of links to online resources for English and American literature. Created by Jack Lynch of Rutgers University.
Orlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present
(Searchable indexes of scholarly books and articles - good for tracking down references)
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Click 'More settings' to limit your search to the Arts & Humanities index)
Practical Criticism & Critical Practice:
The faculty's virtual classroom: An Introduction to Practical Criticism - includes a short history of the paper and an introductory online class.
The Forest of Rhetoric - silva rhetoricae - Resource explaining the major concepts of classical rhetoric.
The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics - Reference work dealing with all aspects of Poetry and Poetics: history, types, movements, prosody, and critical terminology.
PhilPapers - Extensive database of journals and books on philosophers and theorists such as Theodor W. Adorno, Roland Barthes and Walter Benjamin.
Prac Crit - An online journal of poetry and criticism, dedicated to reading contemporary poems up close.
The Faber Poetry Library - A collection of some of the most influential poets of the twentieth century.
The Cambridge Literature Timeline
From Beowulf to Zadie Smith, the Timeline is an easy-to-use visual aid that runs the whole gamut of English Literature. Major writers are represented alongside key historical events and movements from 1066 to the present day. Each author is linked to his or her scholarly biographical entry on Literature Online.