Collections
U.K.
British Library Digitised Manuscripts
France
Bibliothèque nationale de France online image catalogue
Enluminures (French collections)
Germany
Spain
Museu nacional d’art de Catalunya
U.S.
Art
ARTstor - A digital library of images and accompanying scholarly information.
Art UK - previously known as the Public Catalogue Foundation. Art UK is an online gallery of approximately 210,000 paintings in public ownership in the UK.
Oxford Art Online - Searchable online visual culture reference resources from Oxford University Press.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) - Database for all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design and advertising. Covers journal articles, exhibition reviews and news items from 1973 to the present.
VADS (Visual Arts Data Service) - An online resource of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images.
Cinema, sound, and moving image:
British Library: Online Gallery - Search gateway for the British Library's collections. See also: British Library sound and vision blog.
British Film Institute - The BFI promotes and preserves filmmaking and television in the United Kingdom.
BFI Screenonline - the BFI guide to British film and TV history.
British Cartoon Archive - The BCA holds the artwork for more than 150,000 British editorial, socio-political, and pocket cartoons, supported by large collections of comic strips, newspaper cuttings, books and magazines. The archive is located in Canterbury at the University of Kent, but is searchable online.
The Kubrick Site - Resource archive for documentary materials regarding, in whole or in part, the work of the late American film director and producer Stanley Kubrick (1928-1999).
IMDb - An online database of information related to films, television programs and video games, including cast, production crew, characters, biographies, plot summaries, and reviews (content is uploaded and edited by volunteers, it is moderated but may occasionally contain errors).
La Cinémathèque Française: La Bibliotheque Du Film - Digitised articles, videos, advertising materials, journals and photographs from selected parts of the Cinémathèque Française library collections (website in French).
Film Archives Online - Database of film archives, mostly documentary and educational films, newsreels, travelogue, advertising, scientific, industrial, experimental and sports films.
Senses of Cinema - Australian-based online journal of film. Includes festival reports, reviews and director profiles.
British Universities Film & Video Council: News on Screen - The B.U.F.V.C's newsreel website - The world’s leading resource for the study of newsreels and cinemagazines.
BBC Archive - Archived collections of radio and TV programmes, documents and photographs from as far back as the 1930s.
Museum of Broadcast Communications: Online Collections Database - Database of 11,338 records from the Museum of Broadcast Communication.
Artfilms Online - Masterclasses, documentaries, interviews from top artists and producers.
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) - Recent UK television broadcasts from major channels, including films, shows, and documentaries.
Medieval image archives
Corpus of Romanesque Sculpture in Britain and Ireland
Medieval Stained Glass Photographic Archive
Bibliographies
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) - Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Features full abstracts and indexing from art journals published from the late 1960s onwards.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) - Searchable citation database, covering material published between 1975 and 2007.
International Bibliography of Art - Successor to the BHA, the IBA covers 2007 onwards.
