Shakespeare DVDS
The library has over 135 DVDS of Shakespeare productions from film and performances at the Globe & RSC.
Find them in the Shakespeare room or via iDiscover
Watch Online
Digital Theatre Plus - Recordings of live performances from the Liverpool Everyman Playhouse, the RSC and more.
Drama online - Watch productions of Shakespeare plays. Check out the Globe on Screen, RSC Live, The National Theatre, Shakespeare Video and the Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy collections. Drama online also includes searchable scripts for over 1200 plays and a collection of eBooks on Critical Studies and Performance Practice, including the Arden Shakespeare imprint.
The MIT Global Shakespeare Video & Performance Archive - A collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare and scholarly critical works.
Web Resources
BBC Shakespeare Archive Resource - over 900 programmes from the BBC’s archive of Shakespeare’s plays, poems and sonnets.
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online: The New Oxford Shakespeare - Online, searchable versions of the works of Shakespeare from the Oxford Shakespeare series. Choose from Modern Critical Editions, Critical Reference Editions and Authorship Companions.
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare (1591-1911) - 11 major editions, 28 separate contemporary printings of individual plays and poems, and 100 adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Understanding Shakespeare - A research tool that links directly from the text of Shakespeare's plays to relevant articles from the JSTOR archive.
Shakespeare Documented - The largest collection of images, descriptions and transcriptions of primary-source materials documenting the life of Shakespeare.
The Traffic of the Stage - A database of UK Shakespeare productions between 1996-2007.
Shakespearean London Theatres (ShaLT) - A site dedicated to the histories of particular London theaters of Shakespeare's time created by De Montfort University and The V&A.
The London Stage 1660-1800 - Facsimile from the Hathi Trust of The London stage, 1660-1800; a calendar of plays, entertainments & after pieces, together with casts, box-receipts and contemporary comment. Compiled from the playbills, newspapers and theatrical diaries of the period.
Touchstone - Database of information about significant Shakespeare collections in the United Kingdom.
Bartleby.com: Shakespeare - Shakespeare reference page from Bartleby's free online collections. Including T.S. Eliot’s essay “Hamlet and His Problems” and Ralph Waldo Emerson’s lecture “Shakspeare; or, the Poet”
Shakespeare Birthplace Trust - The Reading Room at the SBT Shakespeare Centre in Stratford is open to the public. It has extensive holdings of prompt-books from RSC productions and some recordings of performances.
The Victorian Illustrated Shakespeare Archive - Archive of over 3000 illustrations from four of the most significant illustrated editions of Shakespeare's works in the Victorian period.
Oxford University Press Illuminating Shakespeare - Resource for exploring different aspects of Shakespeare. Includes a YouTube playlist of videos of academics discussing elements of Shakespeare in performance and in relation to various topics.
Manchester Shakespeare - contains books and journal articles published by Manchester University Press covering social, historical and cultural critiques of Shakespeare and his contemporaries.
Archives Unbound - The Shakespeare Collection - contains a selection of prompt books (annotated working texts of stage managers and company prompters) from the 17th to 20th centuries, the extensive diaries of Shakespeare enthusiast Gordon Crosse documenting 500 UK performances from 1890 to 1953, the First Folio and Quartos, editions and adaptations of Shakespeare's works from the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries, more than 80 works Shakespeare is thought to have been familiar with, as well as works composed by Shakespeare's contemporaries.
Resources for specific plays
Hyper Hamlet - Searchable index of four centuries of Hamlet quotations in context. Includes quotations by 3321 authors from different periods, languages and genres.
RICHARD III Screenplay - Full text and additional notes for the screenplay written by Ian McKellen & Richard Loncraine (1995).
#SlowShakespeare - Dr Hester Lees-Jeffries' blogs a daily reading of a Shakespeare play: currently #BurningBarge - Antony and Cleopatra. See the past #SlowShakespeares below:
#Starcrossed - Romeo and Juliet
Bibliographies
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online - Consists of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1960 and 2011.
