This page aims to give further guidance to useful library resources and provide news stories that may prove particularly helpful to those studying in the fields of engineering and technology.
Specialist borrowable resources, information services, support and guidance for the technology subjects are available in the following libraries:
Borrowing an item
Discover the key messages, general rules and FAQs of library borrowing
Online guidance
Visit the Technology Libraries Online Resources page to discover a list of general engineering and technology online resources.
In addition, you will find online guidance and resources in the following guides:
Text and data mining guidance
Text and data mining (TDM) is a process through which large amounts of information can be analysed electronically. This allows researchers to work through far more research content than they would ever be able to do manually. There is a TDM LibGuide which aims to support Cambridge students and researchers considering a project employing TDM.
Practitioners should be aware that some publishers place technical protection measures (TPM) on their websites which means that text and data mining performed on their websites will result in a suspension of access while the publisher blocks the IP ranges of the University either partially or totally. For a list of publishers with restrictions on TDM, or who need to be contacted first, please see the Cambridge Libraries' TDM guidance page.
The dedicated Computer Science Guide provides an overview of the resources available for Computer Science and Technology students and researchers.
The Computer Science and Technology book collections can be located in the West Hub Library. Everyone is welcome at the Hub, and with a wide variety of individual and group study spaces located throughout the building you’re guaranteed to find the perfect place to work.. To explore the collections, see our Finding Resources pages.
Plagiarism & Academic Misconduct
Find out about good academic practice with these handy links:
Information skills training
Learn more about the training programmes from the Engineering Library, the Moore Library and Cambridge University Libraries.
The University is producing four short guidance videos to help students make the most of blended learning during their studies. The guidance will cover:
The videos may be accessed from the Cambridge Students website under Academic Resources/Blended Learning Guidance.
There is also a section detailing further sources of support with Blended Learning.
We hope that students and staff find these resources helpful in navigating the range of educational experiences in the coming year, and into the future.
The University launched a Self-Archiving Policy on 1 April 2023, following the year-long Rights Retention Pilot.
The policy gives Cambridge researchers a cost-effective route to make the accepted version of their papers open access without embargo – something that is now required by almost all research funders. It applies to all peer-reviewed research articles submitted after 1 April 2023, including reviews and conference papers.
One key difference between the new Self-Archiving Policy and the previous Rights Retention Pilot is that it is opt-out rather than opt-in.
This means that all researchers must either:
Before submission, ensure that your co-authors agree to apply a CC BY licence to the accepted manuscript. Alternative licences are permitted providing they are in line with funder requirements.
It is advisable to include the following sentence in your article’s financial disclosure or acknowledgements section: “For the purpose of open access, the author has applied a Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY) licence to any Author Accepted Manuscript version arising from this submission”. This ensures that the publisher is aware of your intention to retain the right to distribute the accepted manuscript.
On acceptance, deposit your article into the repository through Symplectic Elements.
Researchers can include any preference for an alternative Creative Commons licence using the options provided.
Email info@openaccess.cam.ac.uk stating your intention to opt out. When depositing papers into the repository through Symplectic Elements, it is your responsibility to inform us that you are opting out by using fields provided in the form.
More information about the new policy can be found at https://www.lib.cam.ac.uk/stories/self-archiving-policy
Guidance and FAQs are available at https://www.openaccess.cam.ac.uk/publishing-open-access/self-archiving-policy-guidance
University access to O'Reilly for Higher Education
University of Cambridge staff and students have access to the O’Reilly for Higher Education (OHE) platform. OHE is a collection of full-text ebooks and other online resources covering a range of titles of interest across STEMM subjects, with a specialisation in Technology and Computer Science. The database contains over 35,000 book titles, plus videos, case studies, and more.
iDiscover holds records for individual titles from O’Reilly, and you can explore the O'Reilly platform via this direct link (Raven login required).
The Library Essentials LibGuide is a handy one-stop shop for new library users providing an overview of the essential information you need to make the most of your libraries, The guide covers:-