LibGuides: Engineering Sciences: Chemical

Collections

To find out more about library services and resources for Chemical Engineering & Biotechnology students, visit our Technology Libraries webpages.

The Chemical Engineering & Biotechnology book collections are currently located in the West Hub Library. Everyone is welcome at the Hub, and with a wide variety of individual and group study spaces located throughout the building you’re guaranteed to find the perfect place to work.

To explore the collections, see our Finding Resources pages.

Other specialist borrowable resources, information services, support and guidance are available in the following libraries:

Borrowing an item

Discover the key messages, general rules and FAQs of library borrowing

Information skills & training

Plagiarism & Academic Misconduct

Find out about good academic practice with these handy links:

Information Skills training

Learn more about the training programmes from Cambridge University Libraries, the Moore Library and the Technology Libraries.

How to access and use ebooks - a video

Please note: this SMS video is not accessible with keyboard only access and some screen readers. Please use the YouTube version below if you experience any issues.

How to access and use ebooks - a video
(Opens in YouTube in a new window)

How to access and use ebooks at Cambridge: video transcript
(Opens in a new window)

Finding stuff

Discovering an item

Find what you need by searching the iDiscover libraries catalogue

Document delivery

Can't find the item you need? Some Cambridge Libraries offer Document Delivery services that will source and borrow a copy for you.

Recommend an item for our collections

Did you know you can recommend items (including books, journals or eresources) for library purchase? Talk to a member of library staff for details.

Online resources

This Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology guide references electronic resources across a wide range of subjects. For those needing to explore associated subject database guides, the Chemistry Library offers a useful list of chemistry databases, the Biological Sciences Libraries cover useful biochemistry and pharmacology databases, and the Technology Libraries provide a list of general technology resources (the Technology Libraries resources include useful links to eBook packages, databases, journals and proceedings, patents, standards, preprints, theses and dissertations).

American Chemical Society journals This link opens in a new window University-subscribed access, off-campus access via Raven password

Dr Barrie's Educational Programs on Cubic Equations of State

EMBASE This link opens in a new window EMBASE is a biomedical and pharmacological resource that gives you access to the most up-to-date information about medical and drug-related subjects. It features Advanced Ovid Mapping, which analyzes users' natural language queries and suggests appropriate terms for searching, as well as a variety of extensive vocabulary features.
IBIS World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology This link opens in a new window Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field

Oxford Chemistry Primers Collection
SciFinder-n CAS SciFinder-n provides researchers with chemical substance information, informing your critical research activities with authoritative details on chemical substances and their related chemical structures, chemical names, regulatory information, and properties, including CAS Registry Numbers®. When accessing SciFinder-n for the first time you will be prompted to create an account.
Scopus Huge database of articles in science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities. For remote access:
more...less...
Step 1: Select 'Login'
Step 2: Click on then 'Other Institution login'
Step 3: Search for 'University of Cambridge'
Step 4: You will be prompted for your Raven ID
Web of Science Web of Science, published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering some of the journals within the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. You can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

Standards

Standards gives the assurance of quality and reliability (safety) as well as enables business sustainability through interoperability.

You can find standards online and learn more about them on the Standards LibGuide website.

British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new window All users at academic institutions will need to have the FileOpen plug-in installed on your device in order to access BSI documents within BSOL.

Patents

A patent protects your invention and lets you take legal action against anyone who makes, uses, sells or imports your invention without your permission.

You can find patents online and learn more about them on the Patents LibGuide website.

Databases

BrowZine Online tool which allows you to create your own virtual bookshelf of journal titles and set content alerts.
List of all A-Z online resources in Cambridge

Note: For chemical engineering and biotechnology databases, please apply filters in subject search field.

NIST Chemistry WebBook Reliable information on properties of pure substances.
NIST Thermophysical Properties of Fluids Reliable information on properties of about 60 fluids.

For the latest news, advice and updates on University of Cambridge electronic content, see the eJournals@cambridge blog and the eBooks@cambridge blog.

eBooks LibGuide
A guide to finding and using eBooks at the University of Cambridge
eLegal Deposit LibGuide
A guide to what eLegal Deposit is, what is available and how to access it

Professional societies

Below is a list of institutions and societies that can offer access to knowledge resources for their members.

Websites and social media feeds

The Chemical Engineering & Biotechnology department have Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, YouTube and LinkedIn accounts to follow.

There are several associated groups with social media feeds to follow. For example:

The Sensor CDT group have Twitter and Facebook feeds
The BioElectronic Systems Technology Group have a Twitter feed

Resources for My Subject

Engineering Sciences: Chemical