Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Technology Libraries

Explore our libraries, study spaces, services and resources

Technology Libraries: Engineering Library

Photo of Engineering Library featuring seated study group of students with Engineering Library in black text on grey

Engineering Library: Opening Hours

Monday-Friday: Doors: 09:00-17:00 | Information Desk: 10:00-16:00
Other times: Department-approved card access

 

Welcome

The library is accessible to members of the University between 09:00 and 17:00 weekdays. If the department has given you card access outside of these times, you can use the library beyond these hours and at weekends. Engineering undergraduates have access from 08:00 to 19:00 every day.

To support and protect those working in the library, we ask that everyone wears a face covering and make use of the hand sanitisers and anti-bacterial wipes when using the library spaces. We are not running to full capacity and we encourage everyone to allow people to keep distance if they prefer. Windows will be kept open throughout the day for ventilation reasons.

 

Ask us anything

Our Information Desk service is now available between 10:00 and 16:00 on weekdays. Come and ask our friendly staff about anything to do with the library.

Find Us

Engineering Library,
Baker Building First Floor,
Department of Engineering,
Trumpington Street,
Cambridge.
CB2 1PZ

What3Words address: ///unwanted.bonus.beans

 

Contact Us

E-mail: library@eng.cam.ac.uk | techlib@lib.cam.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 (0)1223 332626
Twitter: @CamTechLibs

Image: map of the libraryThe Engineering Library is based at the Department of Engineering main site on Trumpington Street. Information about visitor access can be found on the departmental facilities webpage. One of the doors into the Baker Building is a power-assisted door. If you are not a member of the Department, please check in at Reception on the Ground Floor. The library is up two flights of stairs, on the first floor of the building. There is a lift to the right of the building's entrance. The main entrance to the library is on the first floor landing, via a set of manual doors.

Collaborative Space

In the Library's Collaborative Space is the Information Desk where, during staffed hours, there are friendly librarians to answer any queries and provide further support. In this space, you'll also find a computer for browsing iDiscover and a self-circulation machine for borrowing and returning items. These facilities are at a table that is higher than a standard seated desk - ask a member of staff if you require assistance. Additionally, you'll find group study areas and some of the book collection.

Silent Space

The Silent Space is through another set of manual doors. Here, you'll find the majority of the main book collection and space for quiet, individual study, with all of the desks at a fixed height. There is also a seated desk with a computer for searching and viewing Electronic Legal Deposit materials.

North Room

The North Room is next to the Collaborative Space and features fixed-height desks and AV presentation equipment. It can be booked for student meetings, group work or presentations. Students can book Monday to Friday between 09:00 and 16:45.

To book the North Room, please complete this booking form.

Facilities

Gents toilets are on the same floor, behind the Silent Space. The ladies toilets are up one flight of stairs from the gents. Disabled and all-gender toilets are located on the First Floor of the Baker Building, accessible by the lift. There are other toilets (gents/ladies and disabled/all-gender) nearby in the James Dyson Building, which can be accessed across from the back entrance to the Silent Space. The James Dyson Building has a lift to all floors. The disabled toilets throughout the Department are for use by all genders. 

A portable induction loop device is available to users at the information desk on request.

If you have any questions about access to and use of the Library facilities, please email us at library@eng.cam.ac.uk.

For further information regarding accessibility, the Disability Resource Centre is a key resource and their website includes information aiming to provide support for disabled students and disabled staff and those with dyslexia and specific learning difficulties. There is also useful information for those seeking to learn more about the University's proactive approach to Equality and Diversity.

 

Print CollectionsImage: bookshelves in the library silent space

Engineering

This collection includes the latest printed journals, reports (including technical reports), PhD theses, past exam papers and a large number of borrowable books that include course reading list materials. For a guide to accessing the online lists of these course materials, see this Reading Lists Online Guide.

 

'Beyond Engineering'

These resources include books on study skills, wellbeing, science fiction, as well as a selection of movies and useful items of tech equipment.

 

Browsing

All our print collections are held in the library, and you can find them by classmark (a unique combination of letters and numbers, e.g. EP.35).

You can find the classmark when searching for the item on iDiscover, and then match it with the one on the printed label on the item. Our collections are shelved alphabetically by classmark, beginning with A in the Silent Space, and ending with Z near the library entrance in the Collaborative Space.

 

Borrowing

Our undergraduates can borrow up to 5 books; other library users may borrow up to 10.

To borrow materials, please use our self-service borrowing machine located in the Library's Collaborative Space.

Please talk to a member of library staff if you have any questions about Engineering Library borrowing. For further information about borrowing, please see the Borrowing LibGuide. Automatic renewals are currently in effect.

 

In-Person Returns

Engineering Library main dropbox

Members of the department can return books via this dropbox on weekdays between 9am and 5pm.

Engineering Library additional dropbox

We have an additional Engineering Library dropbox located by the ground floor lift in the reception area of the Department of Engineering Baker Building on Trumpington Street.

Alternate library dropboxes

You can also return library items to the Moore Library dropbox outside the Moore Library entrance before 5pm (when the site closes for the day), or to the Medical Library dropbox outside the front door of the Clinical School.

 

Postal book returns

If you are a recent graduate, member of staff or visiting scholar who has now left the University and are unable to return to Cambridge, you can post your returns to the University Library. You can post items from the UL, Faculty and Department libraries and colleges to this address.

Further details of this service can be found in the Returns LibGuide

 

Basement Fetching

Most of our physical collection of older journals, standards, reports and PhD theses are in our closed basement and a member of staff will need to fetch them for you. iDiscover should list if an item needs to be fetched. 

Please do send us an email outlining what you need, and we can let you know when it is ready to collect.

If you come into the library and ask us for something in the basement, we may not be able to fetch it for you right away. Some of our collection is currently not accessible due to environmental issues, so it is extremely important that you email us in advance to make sure it is available. We will endeavour to find an alternative copy if our version cannot be read.

© Cambridge University Libraries | Accessibility | Privacy policy