Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Technology Libraries

Explore our libraries, study spaces, services and resources

Technology Libraries: West Hub Library

Artist's impression of the West Hub building with West Hub Library in black text on grey.

West Hub Library: Library Staff Available

Monday-Friday 09:00-17:00

 

Welcome

The library team offer a wide range of support, services and resources to the Hub community and beyond. Forming part of the Technology Libraries team and including specialists from the Engineering, Computer Science and Chemical Engineering Departments, library staff are on hand to provide one-to-one and small group support alongside a diverse teaching programme.

Everyone is welcome at the Hub, and with a wide variety of individual and group study spaces located throughout the building you’re guaranteed to find the perfect place to work.

 

Teaching and Training

The West Hub Library are running an Easter Term programme of information skills and other sessions, including tips on revision, managing study stress, and researching your future employer. You can see the full programme and book onto sessions on the West Hub website, or download the PDF flyer for more information. 

 

Ask us anything

The Hub team can be found on the first floor and regularly move throughout the building offering support on the go. Come and visit us at the information desk or say hello as we pass by and ask us anything.

Find Us

West Hub,
JJ Thomson Avenue,
Cambridge,
CB3 0US

What3Words address: ///speech.shared.lots

 

Contact Us

E-mail: techlib@lib.cam.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 (0)1223 762725
Twitter: 
@CamTechLibs

Study Spaces and Accessibility

The West Hub, based at West Cambridge on JJ Thompson Avenue, is open to everyone during its operating hours. All access doors have power assistance.

The Hub has a variety of study spaces spread across the first and second floors of the building, including a range of comfortable booths and sofas, areas for group work and spaces designed for more focused individual study. There are a range of desk spaces at different heights located throughout the building. In addition, the building has a range of bookable rooms and pods.

There are two lifts at the east end of the building (near the café/bar on the ground floor).

The information desk and office can be found on the first floor where you can find friendly library staff and members of the building operations team to answer queries and provide further support. There is also a seated desk nearby with a computer for searching and viewing Electronic Legal Deposit materials.  

On the second floor you’ll find a computer for browsing iDiscover and a self-circulation machine for borrowing and returning items. These facilities are at a table that is higher than a standard seated desk - ask a member of staff if you require assistance.

Facilities

All-gender and disabled toilets (also featuring baby changing units) are available on all floors of the building. A Changing Places toilet is available on the ground floor.

If you have any questions about access to and use of the Library facilities, please email us at techlib@lib.cam.ac.uk.

For further information regarding accessibility, the Disability Resource Centre is a key resource and their website includes information aiming to provide support for disabled students and disabled staff and those with dyslexia and specific learning difficulties. There is also useful information for those seeking to learn more about the University's proactive approach to Equality and Diversity.

 

Print collections

The main print collection can be found in the North Room on the second floor of the Hub. It comprises of a number of borrowable books supporting the Computer Science and Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology departments.

‘Featured Collections’

Featured collections under the terms Inspire, Learn and Inform can be found throughout the first and second floors of the Hub. These collections include some latest reads related to the changing world of careers and the workplace, study skills, wellbeing and awareness.

Browsing

The main print collection in the north room cans be found by their classmark which is based on the Library of Congress classification (a unique combination of letters and numbers, e.g. QA 9.59.S25 1985). The collection is shelved alphabetically by classmark. You can find the classmark when searching for the item on iDiscover, and then match it with the one on the printed label on the item.

The featured collections have a simple numbering system as their classmark and can be found by browsing the covers on the shelves.

Borrowing

All current staff and students can borrow from the Hub. Undergraduates can borrow up to 5 books; other library users may borrow up to 10.

To borrow material please use the self-service borrowing machine located outsite of the North Room on the second floor.

Please talk to a member of library staff if you have any questions about borrowing at the Hub or the set-up is not working for you. For further information about borrowing, please see the Borrowing Guide.  Automatic renewals are currently in effect.

Returning

An external drop-box can be found outside of the Hub where you can return books at any time.
An internal drop-box can be found next to the self-service machine, outside the North Room on the second floor.

Requested Items

If you have requested a book that is already on loan to someone it will be available for collection from the Information desk on the first floor during library staff hours.

© Cambridge University Libraries | Accessibility | Privacy policy