LibGuides: Engineering Sciences: Civil, Structural & Environmental

Collections

Specialist borrowable resources information services, support and guidance are available in the following libraries:

Borrowing an item

Discover the key messages, general rules and FAQs of library borrowing

Information skills & training

Plagiarism & Academic Misconduct

Find out about good academic practice with these handy links:

Information skills training

Learn more about the training programmes from the Technology Libraries, the Moore Library and Cambridge University Libraries.

Finding stuff

Discovering an item

Find what you need by searching the iDiscover libraries catalogue

Document delivery

Can't find the item you need? Some Cambridge Libraries offer Document Delivery services that will source and borrow a copy for you.

Recommend an item for our collections

Did you know you can recommend items (including books, journals or eresources) for library purchase? Talk to a member of library staff for details.

Online resources

Civil Engineering Database This link opens in a new window The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers. Journal papers with abstracts go back to 1970. Non-abstract journal records go back to 1958. The book records are complete dating back to the early 1900s. The database is constantly expanded and enriched.
Construction Information Service (CIS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
First time users need to register with their @cam.ac.uk email address and create an account.
Online tool to quickly access current regulations, construction standards, technical advice and industry news on building, engineering, design and construction processes in the United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland.
Digimap This link opens in a new window Digimap is a collection of EDINA services that deliver maps and map data of Great Britain to UK tertiary education. Data is available either to download to use with appropriate application software such as GIS or CAD, or as maps generated by Digimap online
- This link opens in a new window
GeoRef This link opens in a new window This database, established by the American Geological Institute (AGI) in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive AGI database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 100,000 references a year. The database contains over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
ICE Virtual Library This link opens in a new window Civil engineering, construction
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Abstracting & Indexing Service (PQDT) This link opens in a new window This service has moved to Web of Science - See separate Link on this A-Z - PQDT on the ProQuest platform will continue until 31 August.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science (citation indexes), published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Standards

Standards gives the assurance of quality and reliability (safety) as well as enables business sustainability through interoperability.

You can find standards online and learn more about them on the Standards LibGuide website.

ASCE Standards Technical guidelines for promoting safety, reliability, productivity, and efficiency in civil engineering

British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new window
All users at academic institutions will need to have the FileOpen plug-in installed on your device in order to access BSI documents within BSOL.

Patents

A patent protects your invention and lets you take legal action against anyone who makes, uses, sells or imports your invention without your permission.

You can find patents online and learn more about them on the Patents LibGuide website.

Databases

American Society of Civil Engineers Journals This link opens in a new window Subscription access to the journals of the American Society of Civil Engineers Journals
ABI/INFORM Collection (including ABI/Inform Dateline, Global, and Trade & Industry) This link opens in a new window ABI/INFORM Complete is a leading business database comprising journals, newspapers, conference papers, dissertations and theses and many other sources
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window Your portal for standards, testing, learning and more

ESDU (Engineering Sciences Data Unit) Reports Various items are available in print in the Betty and Gordon Moore library reference collection. These items are non-borrowable. For more information see iDiscover (search for ESDU science data), or email moore-library@lib.cam.ac.uk.
List of general engineering online resources
FULL list of all A-Z online resources in Cambridge

For the latest news, advice and updates on University of Cambridge electronic content, see the eJournals@cambridge blog and the eBooks@cambridge blog.

eBooks LibGuide
A guide to finding and using eBooks at the University of Cambridge
eLegal Deposit LibGuide
A guide to what eLegal Deposit is, what is available, how to access it

How to access and use ebooks - a video

Please note: this SMS video is not accessible with keyboard only access and some screen readers. Please use the YouTube version below if you experience any issues.

How to access and use ebooks - a video
(Opens in YouTube in a new window)

How to access and use ebooks at Cambridge: video transcript
(Opens in a new window)

Twitter feed

Websites & social media feeds

The Division of Civil Engineering has several associated organisation and group accounts to follow.

The Laing O'Rourke Centre for Construction Engineering and Technology have Twitter and Facebook feeds
The Construction Engineering Master's Programme has its own Twitter feed
The Use Less Group have a Twitter feed
The Cambridge Centre for Smart Infrastructure and Construction have a Twitter feed

Professional societies

The Department of Engineering encourages staff to join institutions and societies that relate to their subject areas and may be able to pay membership fees. For more information, see the Membership of the Professional Engineering Institutions (PEIs) webpage.

Below is a list of the suggested professional societies for this subject. Wikipedia has a useful general list of engineering societies.

Resources for My Subject

Engineering Sciences: Civil, Structural & Environmental