LibGuides: Engineering Sciences: Mechanical

Collections

Specialist borrowable resources information services, support and guidance are available in the following libraries:

Borrowing an item

Discover the key messages, general rules and FAQs of library borrowing

Information skills & training

Plagiarism & Academic Misconduct

Find out about good academic practice with these handy links:

Information skills training

Learn more about the training programmes from the Technology Libraries, the Moore Library and Cambridge University Libraries.

Finding stuff

Discovering an item

Find what you need by searching the iDiscover libraries catalogue

Document delivery

Can't find the item you need? Some Cambridge Libraries offer Document Delivery services that will source and borrow a copy for you.

Recommend an item for our collections

Did you know you can recommend items (including books, journals or eresources) for library purchase? Talk to a member of library staff for details.

Online resources

Interdisciplinary databases

Large interdisciplinary databases of academic literature, including journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, and sometimes other formats.

Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Engineering-focused database that provides comprehensive and trustworthy content to improve research outcomes and maximize the impact of your engineering research.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science (citation indexes), published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Core mechanics, materials and design resources

ASME Proceedings (Current) This link opens in a new window Conference topics encompass the entire spectrum of subject areas of interest to mechanical engineers and associated disciplines. From 2008-present.
Knovel - Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers design of motors and drives, pipe design, hydraulics, fluid mechanics and rheology, boiler and pressure vessel design, HVAC, systems and equipment, ship and vehicle design and manufacturing, Finite Element Method, and control of vibration.
SAE Mobilus eBooks 1990-2020 This link opens in a new window Access to selected SAE Mobilus eBooks from 1990 - 2020.
- This link opens in a new window
SAE Mobilus International Technical Papers 1998-present This link opens in a new window SAE International Technical Papers from 1998 to present. Approximately 58,000 papers in total.
Springer Materials (including Landolt-Börnstein) This link opens in a new window

Other useful resources

AIAA American Institute of Aeronautics & Astronautics current & archive papers & SciTech Forum papers This link opens in a new window
AIP Scitation This link opens in a new window Scitation is the online home of leading journals and conference proceedings from AIP Publishing and AIP Member Societies
ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window The industry's best known and most comprehensive source of information on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window Contains tables of physical, chemical, and other scientific data, including: basic units and conversion factors; symbols and terminology; physical constants of organic compounds; properties of elements and inorganic compounds; thermochemistry, electrochemistry and kinetics; fluid properties; biochemistry, analytical chemistry, molecular structure, and spectroscopy; atomic, molecular, and optical physics; nuclear and particle physics; properties of solids; polymer properties; geophysics, astronomy, and acoustics; mathematical tables.
- This link opens in a new window
Design Society Papers This link opens in a new window (off campus access via login : email ejournals@lib.cam.ac.uk or cued-library@eng.cam.ac.uk)
Engineering Case Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers over 300 videos and 70,000 pages of quality documentaries, accident reports, experiments, visualizations, case studies, lectures and interviews from leading engineering institutions around the world.
Knovel - Aerospace & Radar Technology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covering all aspects of aircraft, helicopter, spacecraft, and ballistic system design and manufacture, as well as the design, manufacture and operation of radar, microwave and antenna arrays.

Standards

Standards gives the assurance of quality and reliability (safety) as well as enables business sustainability through interoperability.

You can find standards online and learn more about them on the Standards LibGuide website.

British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new window
All users at academic institutions will need to have the FileOpen plug-in installed on your device in order to access BSI documents within BSOL.

Patents

A patent protects your invention and lets you take legal action against anyone who makes, uses, sells or imports your invention without your permission.

You can find patents online and learn more about them on the Patents LibGuide website.

Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection (including ABI/Inform Dateline, Global, and Trade & Industry) This link opens in a new window ABI/INFORM Complete is a leading business database comprising journals, newspapers, conference papers, dissertations and theses and many other sources
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
Please note off-campus access may not work in Mozilla Firefox (but Google Chrome and Microsoft Edge should be fine).

ESDU (Engineering Sciences Data Unit) Reports
Various items are available in print in the Betty and Gordon Moore library reference collection. These items are non-borrowable. For more information see iDiscover (search for ESDU science data), or email moore-library@lib.cam.ac.uk.
FULL list of all A-Z online resources in Cambridge
List of general engineering online resources

For the latest news, advice and updates on University of Cambridge electronic content, see the eJournals@cambridge blog and the eBooks@cambridge blog.

eBooks LibGuide
A guide to finding and using eBooks at the University of Cambridge
eLegal Deposit LibGuide
A guide to what eLegal Deposit is, what is available, how to access it

How to access and use ebooks - a video

How to access and use ebooks - a video
(Opens in YouTube in a new window)

How to access and use ebooks at Cambridge: video transcript
(Opens in a new window)

Websites & social media feeds

The Division of Mechanics, Materials & Design has several associated organisation and group accounts to follow.

The Cambridge Engineering Design Centre / Dyson Centre for Engineering Design have X and Facebook feeds
The Computational Structural Mechanics Lab have an X feed
The Full Blue Racing Team have X and Facebook feeds

Professional societies

The Department of Engineering encourages staff to join institutions and societies that relate to their subject areas and may be able to pay membership fees. For more information, see the Membership of the Professional Engineering Institutions (PEIs) webpage.

Below is a list of the suggested professional societies for this subject. Wikipedia has a useful general list of engineering societies.

Institution of Mechanical Engineers - IMechE members can use their library search to access online content and request print copies.

Resources for My Subject

Engineering Sciences: Mechanical

Page overview