Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for My Subject

Engineering Library: Electronic resources

Information about the Department of Engineering Library, including information for researchers

iDiscover

The easiest way to track down a specific item is by searching iDiscover.

For guidance on how to use iDiscover most effectively, see the iDiscover LibGuide.

Recommend a book

If there is a book you think we should own, let us know!

Text and data mining guidance

Text and data mining (TDM) is a process through which large amounts of information can be analysed electronically. This allows researchers to work through far more research content than they would ever be able to do manually. There is a TDM LibGuide which aims to support Cambridge students and researchers considering a project employing TDM.

Practitioners should be aware that some publishers place technical protection measures (TPM) on their websites which means that text and data mining performed on their websites will result in a suspension of access while the publisher blocks the IP ranges of the University either partially or totally. For a list of publishers with restrictions on TDM, or who need to be contacted first, please see the Cambridge Libraries' TDM guidance page

Making the most of University resources

If you want to know how to access Cambridge University Libraries' resources online, where to look for information and how to use other sources in your own work, you can watch this short video below. 

The Library team have curated a list of useful eResources for students and researchers in Engineering. 

You can also find Engineering eResources on the dedicated Engineering Sciences website.

For support and guidance with eResources, please visit the eResources LibGuide compiled by the University's e-resources team.

To find and access e-books, see the Cambridge eBooks Guide

The index of resources provided by the Judge Business School Library and Information Service is very useful for subjects relating to industry, manufacturing and business.

The A-Z guide to databases lists over 800 databases you will have access to as a member of the University. To just see databases for Engineering, you can filter by subject. 

Databases search multiple sources to bring back references and abstracts of articles, books, chapters and so on. You can search the literature using keywords and filters, or look for specific resources using known information such as title and author.

You can see if we have online access to articles by clicking "find full text" on a record. If we don't have it, check the online catalogue for a physical copy in the Cambridge Library system. If you still come up blank you might recommend the item for purchase or request it via Inter Library Loan.

Some useful resources for finding and accessing information via databases are listed below.

Specialist Databases

The University has access to over 1.2 million eBooks off-campus from a wide variety of publishers and most are available through links in the iDiscover catalogue. More information can be found on the eBooks website.

We are acquiring more eBooks daily, particularly to support students. If you need a book and it is not yet available electronically we can help obtaining it as an ebook if it is available from the publisher.

To recommend an eBook for purchase, please email us or use this Online Form.

A video explaining how to access and use eBooks can be seen below. A PDF transcript of the video is available, if you prefer to read rather than watch.

Perlego online library access for 2021/22

For the 21/22 academic year, Cambridge has got 200 Perlego accounts. Since the number is quite restricted, accounts will be handled by the central ebooks@cambridge team. Please remember that titles in Perlego (which number about 300,000 and cover all disciplines) do not appear in iDiscover.

If you find that a book you need to read is not in iDiscover but is on https://www.perlego.com, please write to ebooks@lib.cam.ac.uk and request an account. We will provide instructions about how to access Perlego. Since we have a limited number of accounts, we will only be able to provide temporary access. After a certain period (hopefully no shorter than a fortnight, but this does depend on demand), we will deactivate your account so that it can be used by another reader. If you need Perlego another time, just get in touch with us again.

Note: if you previously had a Perlego account in 20/21, it will automatically have been deactivated as we enter the 21/22 year. Please write to us if you need to have access again.

 

Useful ebooks resources

Some useful resources to find and access ebooks are listed below.

To search for journals on iDiscover, you can search for article title or journal title in the main search bar, or use the dedicated E-Journal Search functionality. 

If you have any issues tracking down the journal or article you need, let us know 

Some useful resources for finding and accessing journals are listed below.

Use these resources to help you find and work with patents worldwide.

Start with the WIPO Guide to using patent information if it's your first time searching for patents. The library also has a physical copy of this resource shelved at classmark DA 124.

A Standard is a “document that provides requirements, specifications, guidelines or characteristics that can be used consistently to ensure that materials, products, processes and services are fit for their purpose” (ISO, 2016).

They are created and revised by various national and international organisations with the input of many relevant organisations and individuals. There are several Standards collections available within the University. 

From 1 September 2021, all users at academic institutions will need to have the FileOpen plug-in installed on your device in order to access BSI documents within BSOL. Find out more on what’s changing via the BSI website, and access the guidance document which allows you to test the plug-in feature. 

Please contact ejournals@lib.cam.ac.uk if you have any concerns.

  • British Standards Onlineincluding access to international ISO standards, (For off-campus access, use the eresources link and log in with your Raven account). Please see the note above and install the File Open plug in to use BSOL.

  • Online access to around 1800 construction-related Standards through the Construction Information Services.

  • Online access to ASTM Standards, journals, technical papers etc. through the ASTM Compass portal. 

  • Online access to IEEE Standards through IEEE/IET Electronic Library.

  • Online access to ASCE Standards.

  • The library has a small print collection of mainly British Standards. Search in iDiscover for the standard title or author (e.g. “British Standards Institution” or “American Society for Testing and Materials”) or ask the library team.

  • ESDU (Engineering Sciences Data Unit) Reports: Various items are available in print in the Betty and Gordon Moore library reference collection. These items are non-borrowable. For more information see iDiscover (search for ESDU science data), or email moore-library@lib.cam.ac.uk

If you can't access the Standard you need from any of these sources, please get in touch with the library and we will let you know of any other options available. If you would like to purchase any individual British Standards for your work, we may be able to acquire it at a reduced rate.

There are a range of professional Engineering institutions and societies that can offer access to knowledge resources for their members. A selection of these are listed below:

The Department of Engineering encourages staff to join institutions and societies that relate to their subject areas, and may be able to pay membership fees. For more information, see the Membership of the Professional Engineering Institutions (PEIs) webpage

Have we missed a useful institution or society from the list? Let us know and we can add it. 

©2021 Cambridge University Libraries | Accessibility | Privacy policy | Login to LibApps | Report a problem