LibGuides: Engineering Sciences: Energy & Fluid Mechanics

Collections

Specialist borrowable resources information services, support and guidance are available in the following libraries:

Borrowing an item

Discover the key messages, general rules and FAQs of library borrowing

Information skills & training

Plagiarism & Academic Misconduct

Find out about good academic practice with these handy links:

Information skills training

Learn more about the training programmes from the Technology Libraries, the Moore Library and Cambridge University Libraries.

Finding stuff

Discovering an item

Find what you need by searching the iDiscover libraries catalogue

Document delivery

Can't find the item you need? Some Cambridge Libraries offer Document Delivery services that will source and borrow a copy for you.

Recommend an item for our collections

Did you know you can recommend items (including books, journals or eresources) for library purchase? Talk to a member of library staff for details.

Online resources

Interdisciplinary databases

Large interdisciplinary databases of academic literature, including journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, and sometimes other formats.

Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Engineering-focused database that provides comprehensive and trustworthy content to improve research outcomes and maximize the impact of your engineering research.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science (citation indexes), published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Core energy and fluid mechanics resources

AIAA American Institute of Aeronautics & Astronautics current & archive papers & SciTech Forum papers This link opens in a new window
ASME Proceedings (Current) This link opens in a new window Conference topics encompass the entire spectrum of subject areas of interest to mechanical engineers and associated disciplines. From 2008-present.
Knovel - Aerospace & Radar Technology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covering all aspects of aircraft, helicopter, spacecraft, and ballistic system design and manufacture, as well as the design, manufacture and operation of radar, microwave and antenna arrays.
SAE Mobilus eBooks 1990-2020 This link opens in a new window Access to selected SAE Mobilus eBooks from 1990 - 2020.
- This link opens in a new window
SAE Mobilus International Technical Papers 1998-present This link opens in a new window SAE International Technical Papers from 1998 to present. Approximately 58,000 papers in total.

Other useful resources

AIP Scitation This link opens in a new window Scitation is the online home of leading journals and conference proceedings from AIP Publishing and AIP Member Societies
American Nuclear Society This link opens in a new window The ANS serves the nuclear community by creating a forum for sharing information and advancements in technology, and by engaging the public and policymakers through communication outreach.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window Contains tables of physical, chemical, and other scientific data, including: basic units and conversion factors; symbols and terminology; physical constants of organic compounds; properties of elements and inorganic compounds; thermochemistry, electrochemistry and kinetics; fluid properties; biochemistry, analytical chemistry, molecular structure, and spectroscopy; atomic, molecular, and optical physics; nuclear and particle physics; properties of solids; polymer properties; geophysics, astronomy, and acoustics; mathematical tables.
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering Case Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers over 300 videos and 70,000 pages of quality documentaries, accident reports, experiments, visualizations, case studies, lectures and interviews from leading engineering institutions around the world.
International Energy Statistics (IEA) This link opens in a new window This package provides access to all of the IEA's main statistics products in one convenient package with one start and expiry date.
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window OECD iLibrary provides online access to the many publications put out by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Publications include country studies, forecasting publications, reports, periodicals, and socio-economic databases. Topics covered include agriculture, developing economies, education, employment, energy, environment, health, migration, social issues, sustainable development and more. It replaces SourceOECD.
OnePetro This link opens in a new window

FULL list of all A-Z online resources in Cambridge

Academic Literature

Regional databases

Reduce geographical bias in your literature search with these regional databases.

AmeliCA This link opens in a new window In AmeliCA’s Book and Journals Portal you can access scholarly production of scientific journals that promote a non-profit publishing model to preserve the scholarly and open nature of scientific communication. It is led by UNESCO, CLACSO, Redalyc and several Latin American universities. It offers 79 journals online, 2848 aggregated books, 1136 journals in AURA, 84489 full-text articles in books and journals portals, in Spanish, Portuguese and English.
CiNii Articles (English) This link opens in a new window Citation Information by NII (CiNii) enables the user to search academic journals and research bulletins published by scholarly institutions in Japan. References from article bibliographies and citations to the article from other publications is also provided for many works. Coverage is strongest for the sciences, but some humanities and social sciences content is available. Part of the GeNii (part of GeNii (Global environment for networked intellectual information)) maintained by the National Institute of Informatics in Japan
CiNii Books (English) This link opens in a new window
J-STAGE This link opens in a new window Leading scholarly ejournals from Japan
Korean Journal Database (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Provides access to articles from multidisciplinary journals covered in KCI. KCI is managed by the National Research Foundation of Korea and contains bibliographic information for scholarly literature published in Korea.
Use "Select a database" drop-down on Web of Science to search KCI-Korean Journal Database
Redalyc This link opens in a new window Scientific journals from Latin America, Caribbean, Spain and Portugal
SciELO Citation Index This link opens in a new window The aim of the site is to implement an electronic virtual library, which provides full access to a selected collection of scientific serials from Brazil, Chile, Cuba and Venezuela (this list is growing). The site indexes journal issues and articles, with links to full text and abstracts.
Select SciELO Citation Index from the "Select a database" dropdown on the Web of Science platform
Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS) 台灣電子期刊服務網 This link opens in a new window Full-text Taiwanese periodicals databases covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, Natural Sciences, Applied Sciences, and Medical and Life Sciences.

Journals and Conferences

ASME Proceedings (Current) This link opens in a new window Conference topics encompass the entire spectrum of subject areas of interest to mechanical engineers and associated disciplines. From 2008-present.
BrowZine - Access to online journals provided at Cambridge University This link opens in a new window BrowZine helps researchers to focus fast on journals of relevance in their fields of interest and ranks them. By creating an account researchers can keep up to date in their field of expertise via BrowZine's superior browsing capabilities.

IET Research Hub
The IET Research Hub allows free access to a vast collection of engineering and technology research and consists of the IET Journals Archive (published from 2013 onwards), the IET eBook Collections & the IET Inspec Archive.

eBooks

You can find the ebooks in these collections in iDiscover, but in these databases you can search the full text of the books and get links directly to the relevant section or page, or easily browse series you are interested in.

McGraw-Hill's AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window A reference and teaching platform that delivers interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools. The content includes books, videos, spreadsheets, case studies, solution walkthroughs and tutorials.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Requires Raven on-campus.
A collection of ebooks, audiobooks and other multimedia material on a wide range of subjects, with a particular strength in technology.
Springer Engineering ebooks collection 2021-2024 This link opens in a new window Access to selective Springer ebooks published between 2021 and 2024 (inclusive) in Engineering.
- This link opens in a new window
Springer Synthesis Collection of Technology ebooks This link opens in a new window Selective Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computing titles published from 2005 to 2024.
- This link opens in a new window

Other formats

Audiobooks

O'Reilly Audiobooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Requires Raven on-campus.
Over 2000 audiobook titles covering a range of subject areas: Computer Science, STEM, Business & Management, Social Sciences and more.

Grey literature (reports etc.)

Overton This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest searchable index of policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications and working papers. Create an account by completing the form before using Overton as a Cambridge University member. Use your @cam.ac.uk email address.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window OECD iLibrary provides online access to the many publications put out by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Publications include country studies, forecasting publications, reports, periodicals, and socio-economic databases. Topics covered include agriculture, developing economies, education, employment, energy, environment, health, migration, social issues, sustainable development and more. It replaces SourceOECD.
TRAIL (Technical Report Archive & Image Library) This link opens in a new window 'The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports'
- This link opens in a new window

Patents

You can more about finding and using patents on the Patents LibGuide website.

Derwent Innovations Index This link opens in a new window
Select Derwent Innovations Index from the "Select a database" dropdown on the Web of Science platform
Facilitates rapid, precise patent searching, letting you conduct patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering. This resource merges the value-added patent information from Derwent World Patents Index® with the patent citation information from Derwent Patent Citation Index®. You can use additional descriptive information and coding to quickly grasp a patent's significance and its relationship to other patents. Reduce duplication of R&D; track competitors' activities; detect and avoid patent infringement; identify potential gaps in the marketplace and possible licensing opportunities.
The Lens This link opens in a new window A trans-disciplinary, trans-domain platform aggregating metadata on scholarly works and patents for discovery and analysis using management tools and APIs.

Standards

You can learn more about standards and where to look for specific types of standard on the Standards LibGuide website.

British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new window
All users at academic institutions will need to have the FileOpen plug-in installed on your device in order to access BSI documents within BSOL.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
Please note off-campus access may not work in Mozilla Firefox (but Google Chrome and Microsoft Edge should be fine).

Theses

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index (PQDT) This link opens in a new window
To search this Index, select it from the Web of Science "Search in" drop-down list of databases. This is a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. Access is to the abstracts only. Full text can either be purchased online via ProQuest directly, or by contacting the Inter-Library Loans dept: E-mail: ill@lib.cam.ac.uk

For the latest news, advice and updates on University of Cambridge electronic content, see the eJournals@cambridge blog and the eBooks@cambridge blog.

eBooks LibGuide
A guide to finding and using eBooks at the University of Cambridge
eLegal Deposit LibGuide
A guide to what eLegal Deposit is, what is available, how to access it

How to access and use ebooks - a video

How to access and use ebooks - a video
(Opens in YouTube in a new window)

How to access and use ebooks at Cambridge: video transcript
(Opens in a new window)

Websites & social media feeds

The Division of Energy, Fluid Mechanics & Turbomachinery has several associated organisation and group media accounts to follow.

Professional societies

The Department of Engineering encourages staff to join institutions and societies that relate to their subject areas and may be able to pay membership fees. For more information, see the Membership of the Professional Engineering Institutions (PEIs) webpage.

Below is a list of the suggested professional societies for this subject. Wikipedia has a useful general list of engineering societies.

Resources for My Subject

Engineering Sciences: Energy & Fluid Mechanics