Resources for My Subject

Computer Science: Home

Computer science subject guide updated for 2020/21

Computer Science overview

This guide aims to present an overview of the resources available for computer science students or researchers. There are a range of resources available across libraries in Cambridge, and these pages will show you what is on offer, and advise about accessing them.

Specifically, most specialist resources for Computer Science will be found in the Betty & Gordon Moore Library. Most journals can also be accessed online from any computer on the University network.

When planning a physical visit to any library within the University, you may wish to check their entry in the Libraries directory, or find them on the University map

Locating print collections

The Computer Laboratory library is now closed and the stock is in storage. However, a small teaching collection has been retained at the Computer Laboratory.

Useful collections for Computer Science can be found at the Betty & Gordon Moore Library.

Undergraduate students should also be able to find core texts in their college library. Please see the libraries directory for details on how to contact them.

Computer Laboratory library closure

The Computer Laboratory library is now closed, and in future the School of Technology libraries team will be responsible for library provision within Computer Science. Ultimately, physical collections for computer science and an enquiry point will be available from the Shared Facilities Hub which is currently under construction on the West Cambridge Site.

In the interim period, some subject specific resources will be available in other Cambridge libraries, especially the Betty and Gordon Moore Library, where it may also be possible to make some of the Computer Laboratory's collections available.

The Librarian, Nicholas Cutler, will continue to provide an enquiry service and support Computer Science students. You can continue to contact Nicholas by e-mail, and once the situation permits, in person.

Library catalogues

iDiscovery

 

You can search for items in any library within the University using iDiscover. This offers a simple Web style interface which will be familiar to many users. For a more traditional interface try the advanced search option. Make sure that the Cambridge libraries collections option is selected in the first instance.

 

Online resources

Librarian

Nicholas Cutler's picture
Nicholas Cutler
Please see my personal page for more information on how to contact me.
Contact:
Please contact the librarian,
Nicholas, by e-mail:
ncc25 "at" cam.ac.uk

Or telephone:
(01223) 334648
Website