Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physical and Digital Collections

Official Publications: World Trade Organization (WTO)

A guide to the official publications collections held within the Cambridge University Libraries.

World Trade Organization

The World Trade Organization, whose members represent 98% of world trade, deals with the rules of trade between nations. The WTO officially commenced on the 1st January 1995 and replaced the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT) which commenced in 1948.

Official documents

WTO Official Documents

Provides access to all of the WTO's official documentation from 1995 onwards

GATT Documents

Provides partial access to the official documents issued under the WTO's predecessor, the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (1947 - 1994). Although the WTO is committed making all GATT documents publicly available online, only those belonging to the Uruguay Round of trade negotiations have been uploaded.

Stanford University's GATT Digital Library

Material that is unavailable online from GATT Documents might be available from Stanford's Digital Library. This provides access to over 59,000 public GATT documents from the period 1947-1994. The documents are fully searchable by a variety of fields including date and title keyword.

 

Hardcopy GATT documents

If the official GATT document you require is not available online you may be able to consult a physical copy in Cambridge. The Marshall Library of Economics holds a large amount of GATT documentation and these are searchable via iDiscover. The University Library also has extensive holdings of GATT documents and you can locate these using the intergovernmental organizations section of the Offical Publications subject card catalogue located in the Rare Books Room annexe.

If you are unable to locate the GATT document that you require please contact either the Marshall Library or the University Library.

Serials

Serial In Cambridge Online
International Trade (1952-1995) -
Trade Policy Review (1989-1995) -
Trade Policy Review (WTO) (1995-2006) (1995 - )
Annual Report (GATT / WTO) (1966-2003) (1998 - )
World Trade Report (WTO) (2004-) (2003 - )
International Trade Statistics (2000-2014) -
World Trade Statistical Review - (2016 - )

 

Data

The WTO Data Portal contains statistical indicators related to WTO issues. Available time series cover:

  • Merchandise trade
  • Trade in services
  • Market access indicators
  • Other trade indicators

Data coverage for many time series starts in 1948. Data may be downloaded in either Excel or .csv. format.

WTO

 

Red, blue and green strokes forming a sphere next to the words "World Trade Organization"

WTO iLibrary

The WTO iLibrary brings together the WTO's key research material on global trade. It contains:

  • Over 4,000 titles published by the WTO
  • Over 30 titles co-published with Cambridge University Press
  • Over 200 WTO working papers and comprehensive statistical data on world trade
  • Every dispute settlement report issued since 1995

iLibrary content is fully searchable and all content can by fully downloaded.

© Cambridge University Libraries | Accessibility | Privacy Policy