Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The United States
Official publications from the federal government of the United States are available both in print and online. The vast majority of print resources are kept in the United States and cannot be found in British libraries, although some may subscribe to official journals.
Catalogues and collections
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
A comprehensive finding tool for federal publications which includes advanced searching, a browser tool and a way to track new titles. Records in this catalogue include subject headings and there are filters which enable finding federal depository libraries that hold resources.This catalogue will also provide a direct link to some digitised content.
Search and browse official publications for the federal government of the United States.
The British Library
Some federal government publications are available at the British Library and their reading rooms also provide access to a range of electronic databases.
Congressional Record : Predecessors
Comprehensive online collection of primary source congressional publications and legislative research materials covering all topics, including government, current events, politics, economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Finding aid for congressional hearings, committee prints, committee reports and documents from 1970-present, and the daily Congressional Record from 1985-present. Compiled legislative histories from 1969-present.
Congress.gov features responsive design (which means it adapts to the device you are using), facets to refine your search results, member and legislation email alerts, status of legislation tracker, and member pages.
Congressional Research Digital Collection
The complete CRDC from 1830 to 2018, collects the research materials created for Congress by the CRS Congressional Research Service.
Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection
Contains Congressional Record (beginning in 1873 and currently available through 2009, and the predecessor titles including the Congressional Globe (1833-1873), the Register of Debates in Congress (1824-1837), and the Annals of Congress (1789-1824).
Declassified documents online
U.S. Declassified Documents Online (USDDO)
Offers access to more than 750,000 pages of government documents. Covering major policy issues from the period before the Second World War into the twenty first century, the archive serves as a convenient source for documents from government departments including Defense; State; Treasury; CIA; and the White House. USDDO supports the study of history, politics, international relations, and journalism, among other fields.
US Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) CREST Archive of Declassified Documents
The CREST system is the publicly accessible repository of the subset of CIA records reviewed under the 25-year program in electronic format (manually reviewed and released records are accessioned directly into the National Archives in their original format). Over 11 million pages have been released in electronic format and reside on the CREST database, from which researchers have printed about 1.1 million pages.