Faculty Research Groups
Centre for Material Texts - Research into the physical forms in which texts are embodied and circulated.
Medieval and Renaissance Research Hub - Information on the Faculty research community in Medieval and Renaissance Studies.
Faculty Resources
Cambridge Authors - Project focusing on authors who studied at Cambridge - includes George Herbert & Christopher Marlowe.
Milton 400: Paradise Lost- A live reading of Milton's Paradise Lost by members of the Faculty of English.
Scriptorium - A digital archive of manuscript miscellanies and commonplace books from c.1450-1720.
English Handwriting Online 1500-1700 - An online course on reading early modern manuscript sources
Web Resources
King James Bible - Fully searchable online version of the KJV (also known as the Authorized Version).
Digital Temple : a documentary edition of George Herbert's English verse - Modern-spelling transcriptions of Herbert's verse, alongside digital images of the sources and textual notes.
The TIDE project - A project investigating 'travel, transculturality and identity in England, c. 1550-1700'; its 'keywords' discuss and give examples from early modern texts of terms such as 'alien', 'blackamoor', 'citizen', 'foreigner', 'Indian', 'Native', and 'Turk'.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) - Digital facsimile images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Perseus Digital Library - All major works of classical literature with translations in parallel.
British History Online - Digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period 1300-1800. From the Institute of Historical Research
Bodleian Library Broadside Ballads - Digitised copies of the Bodleian Library holdings of over 30,000 ballads from the 16th- to the 20th-Century.
The Philological Museum - Digital collection of Humanistic letters and texts hosted by The Shakespeare Institute of the University of Birmingham.
CELL (Centre for Editing Lives and Letters, UCL) - The Centre for Editing Lives and Letters (CELL) develops digital projects from archives concentrating on the years 1500 to 1800. Includes projects on the papers of Robert Hooke and the Letters of William Herle.
APPOSITIONS: Studies in Renaissance / Early Modern Literature & Culture - An electronic, open-access, peer-reviewed journal for studies in Renaissance/early modern literature & culture.
A Digital Anthology of Early Modern English Drama (EMED) - Digital facsimiles & editions of plays written and performed during London’s first period of commercial theater, 1576 to 1642.
DEEP: Database of Early English Playbooks - Searchable database of every playbook produced in England, Scotland, and Ireland from the beginning of printing through 1660. Includes title-pages, advertising features, bibliographic details, and theatrical backgrounds.
Early Stuart Libels - a collection of early seventeenth-century political poetry from manuscript sources, many of which have never before been published.
Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance - Includes the Iter Bibliography database with over a million citations for secondary source material from 400-1700.
Resources for specific writers
Ben Jonson Online - Online version of the Cambridge Edition of the Works of Ben Jonson. Also includes chronology and scholarly essays
Margaret Cavendish's Poems and Fancies, Part I - Online work-in-progress edition of Margaret Cavendish’s Poems and Fancies, first published in 1653.
John Milton: A Bibliography - Comprehensive collection of manuscripts and editions of Milton's works and studies, along with allusions, quotations and significant imitations during the years 1624-1799.
