Skip to main content

Resources for My Subject

Law: Closure: Covid-19

The library guide for Cambridge University's Squire Law Library.

Information

The Squire Law Library, and all Cambridge University buildings, have had to temporarily close in line with the UK government's advice to help contain the Coronavirus outbreak. Although the library buildings are closed the staff are working remotely and are still able to help you find resources for study, research and teaching.

This Law LibGuide summarises the legal information resources we hold electronically. This page will highlight services that have been opened up by publishers and providers to increase access for those studying law from home.

Library staff

Squire Law Library's picture
Squire Law Library
Contact:
The Library building is temporarily closed, however, we are responding to enquiries remotely. Please email us using the button above.

Our core hours are Mon-Fri 9am-5pm.
Website

Books not available as ebooks

Unfortunately, not all books are made available by publishers in ebook format. This may be because they are too old and the licensing wasn't agreed, or they are too new and are embargoed. On some subscription services new editions replace the old so the older editions vanish. Further information on this topic is available on the UL's ebooks LibGuide.

If you are looking for a book that doesn't seem to be available electronically please email us and we will investigate further or come up with some alternatives.

JSTOR

Jstor logo which is a J in a red box with leaves around itOver 600 law ebooks have been made available on the JSTOR platform to University of Cambridge registered students and staff until the 31st August 2020, via Raven. 

Lexis

Inter-Library Loan services

Unfortunately, as most libraries and repositories are temporarily closed, the inter-library loan services can only currently provide copies from their electronic resources (where permitted).

Contact the UL inter-library team for advice ill@lib.cam.ac.uk. 

Other useful links

The University Library's Covid-19 information pages

Cambridge University's Covid-19 information pages

Ebooks LibGuide

Student Wellbeing

Working remotely - Wolfson College LibGuide

 

iDiscover

iDiscover, the Library catalogue, is still the first place to start when searching for an item. Logging in with your Raven will help you access electronic resources quickly. Use the filters on the right to limit the search to items available electronically. 

Not all items within our databases appear in iDiscover, most notably the content in Lexis and Westlaw. Also, as texts are being made available to us by publishers temporarily on their websites it is impossible for us to upload all the records to iDiscover quickly enough. After searching iDiscover, take a note of the publisher and look directly at the ebooks packages to which the University has access.

If you need help finding resources please email us using the button on the left.

Oxford Law Trove

The blue and black law trove logo An image of OUP textbooks on a shelf

We currently have access to Oxford University Press' e-textbook collection, called Law Trove, until the end of the September assessments. This includes 147 law textbooks - many of which are set texts on your courses.

We also have several other ebook packages from Oxford University Press including:

Cambridge Core

undefined

We have always been fortunate to have extensive content from the Cambridge University Press (CUP) service Cambridge Core. We now have access to more of their material, notably their student textbooks. On the left are examples of CUP books we know are important texts for students on our courses.

UL Scan and Deliver

The University Library now offers a Scan and Deliver service for staff and students of the University.

Due to copyright restrictions requests must be for the purpose of personal research or study only.

Requests can be for one chapter of a book, or one article from a journal, from material held in the modern collections at the UL (special collections are excluded). It is possible to request up to 5 scans in a 24 hour period.

More details are available on the UL website.

It is also now possible to request material from the UL Special Collections. Further information available here.

Academic staff: please continue to forward any requests for scans for teaching (i.e. for Moodle) to your Faculty or Departmental Library. Scans for teaching are provided under the University's Copyright Licensing Agency licence and therefore need to be managed in a different way.

UL Click & Collect

The University Library is now offering a click and collect service for books held in the UL's modern collections. The service is currently open to University students and staff. Further information is available on the UL's website.

A short video is available below:

Articles

If you cannot find the books or chapters that you need then conducting keyword searches for articles will often prove to be a sufficient substitute.

You can search for full text articles on iDiscover by clicking on the "Articles and online" or "search everything" buttons and once you have a results list, making use of the filters on the right. iDiscover will search many of the databases subscribed to by the University such as Hein Online, and more interdisciplinary collections from providers such as JSTOR, Elsevier, Gale and ProQuest.

There is also additional vast article content on Westlaw and Lexis which need to be searched separately.

Perlego

A pile of 4 books published by Pearson and Hart.

Perlego is a website that includes over 3,500 law books including titles published by Pearson, Hart and Nomos (examples in the image). This is also a good place to search if your research is interdisciplinary or if you are unable to get hold of the text you wanted and need to find an alternative. You can browse the site but in order to read the books you need a code to register. It is available until 31st August 2020. 

Westlaw

3 books available on Westlaw: Winfield and Jolowicz, Hanbury and Martin, and Glanville Williams on Criminal Law

Included within Westlaw are many full text journals and an entire books section. The package always contained practitioners' texts such as Clerk and Lindsell on Torts, Chitty on Contracts, Archbold on Criminal Pleading, but in addition, Thomson Reuters have kindly added more textbook content (such as the ones in the image above) during this crisis.

Bloomsbury

Bloomsbury collections logo

We already had access to the Bloomsbury Professional package, but the publisher has also kindly opened up access to their Bloomsbury Collections service which includes another 1,600 law books published by Bloomsbury and Hart.

Project Muse

Blue and yellow logo for Project Muse

Project Muse is supporting participating publishers in making scholarly content temporarily available for free on their platform. It includes thousands of books and journal articles. Book titles will appear in iDiscover, however, you need to search within Project Muse to find article content. This service is particularly good if you need publications from US university presses (such as Harvard, Princeton, Duke and Cornell) but also includes Manchester University Press and the African Books Collective.

Other useful LibGuides

Electronic Legal Deposit - currently unavailable due to the closure of University buildings

Items that used to be listed on iDiscover as "restricted to designated PCs" are items which have been electronically deposited with the Legal Deposit libraries.

Electronic legal deposit books, journals and web content cannot be made available beyond the physical premises of Cambridge University Libraries under the terms of current legal deposit legislation.  This can only be changed by government through new legislation.

If students and academic staff require access to material that is only held by the Library as an electronic legal deposit item we will try to obtain it electronically with a wider license so that it is accessible off-campus via Raven; this will be on a case-by-case basis.

If you are based in Cambridge it is now possible to book a slot to use a Legal Deposit terminal at the UL. Further information is available on the Book a Visit page.