Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Classics Collection: How our books are ordered
If we don't have what you need
Contact the Library Staff who may be happy to purchase a particular book for the library.
Use the main University Library's Inter-library loan service to borrow a copy from another library. There is a small charge for this service.
Use Library Hub Discover to search across UK libraries to see who holds the material you need. It might be possible to visit in person. Check the relevant website for the library that holds the book.
Information about collections for Classics
The major strength of the Classics Library is its collections on the Classical world of ancient Greece and Rome including literature, history, philosophy, mythology and religion, palaeography, linguistics and philology, art, sculpture, numismatics and classical archaeology. The Modern Greek collection is primarily literary, but also includes books on Byzantine and Modern Greek history.
Please contact the Librarian if you would like to consult any of these special collections:
- Early printed books: Mainly on ancient classical sites collected by the Museum of Classical Archaeology.
- Leake Collection: This is a collection of notebooks of the journeys in Greece of Colonel Leake (1777-1860), soldier and topographer.
- Owen Collection: G.E.L. Owen studied Ancient Greek philosophy. This collection includes philosophical books, working versions of published papers and early working notes.
- Map Collection: The Library holds maps drawn up by the War Office in the 1940s. These are of particular interest to archaeologists for their excellent topographical detail.