LibGuides: Classics: Greek lang &amp; Lit

Greek lang & Lit

Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
English translation of Franco Montanari’s Vocabolario della Lingua Greca. The most important modern dictionary for Ancient Greek, it brings together 140,000 headwords taken from the literature, papyri, inscriptions and other sources of the archaic period up to the 6th Century CE, and occasionally beyond.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics This link opens in a new window
A unique work that brings together the latest research from across a range of disciplines which contribute to our knowledge of Ancient Greek. It is an indispensable research tool for scholars and students of Greek, of linguistics, and of other Indo-European languages, as well as of Biblical literature.
Eustathius' Odyssey Commentary This link opens in a new window
This online publication offers a new text edition of Eusthathius of Thessalonica’s Commentary on the Odyssey and a modern, English translation of the Commentary.
Lexicon of Greek Grammarians of Antiquity This link opens in a new window
Brill's Lexicon of Greek Grammarians of Antiquity (LGGA) serves as the first point of reference for information on ancient grammarians for scholars of Greek and Latin antiquity, in particular for research into the history of philology, grammar and ancient scholarship. Each entry consists of a biographical introduction, the Greek text of their preserved work, and a bibliography of texts and studies. Entries in Italian or English

Lexicon of Greek Personal Names (LGPN)
LGPN Name Search offers online analysis of all the primary names published in LGPN
LGPN-Ling
Project aims to provide an essential semantical complement to the LGPN Database. (Open Access)

Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
The digital Loeb Classical Library is a fully searchable, perpetually growing virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature and includes single and dual-language reading modes.
New Jacoby This link opens in a new window
Brill's New Jacoby provides a revised edition of the Greek texts of Felix Jacoby’s Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker where relevant. It includes several new authors and many fragments of existing authors that were either unknown to Jacoby or excluded by him. It also gives commentaries in those cases where Jacoby failed to do so. Brill's New Jacoby presents facing English translations of the Greek fragments, a new, critical commentary, and a brief encyclopedia-style entry about each historian’s life and works, with a select bibliography.
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes some of the OCTs e.g. Aristotle
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Online This link opens in a new window
SEG systematically collects newly published Greek inscriptions as well as publications on previously known documents. It presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
Database for searching virtually all ancient Greek literary texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and 600 A.D., and a large number of texts deriving from the period between 600 A.D. and 1453.
A research program at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972 the TLG has collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.

As a member of the University you must create a personal account (login) to get access via the new TLG site. To create an account click on the "Register" link at the top right of the TLG home page or go to: https://stephanus.tlg.uci.edu/Iris/reg.jsp. Alternatively you can access the old site without creating a personal account (click on "link to original site" or go to: http://www.tlg.uci.edu/index.prev.php)
Trismegistos Texts Database This link opens in a new window
Trismegistos Texts is a searchable online database of metadata of all published and semi-published texts from Egypt and the Nile valley, between roughly BC 800 and 800 AD, not only in Greek, Latin, and Egyptian in its various scripts (Demotic, hieroglyphic, hieratic and Coptic), but also in Meroitic, Aramaic, Arabic, Nabataean, Carian, and other languages (currently in all 823167 records).

Open access databases

Corpus Medicorum Graecorum / Latinorum
Earlier publications of its series CMG, CML, CMG Supplementum and CMG Supplementum Orientale. Open Access.
English-Greek Dictionary by S.C. Woodhouse
A facsimile of S.C. Woodhouse's English-Greek Dictionary (1910) with a keyword search for terms. Open Access.
Greek and Latin Texts with facing vocab and commentary
A range of commentratries by Geoffrey Steadman with Greek and Latin texts. Greek texts include ones by Aristotle, Plato, Herodotus, Homer, Lysias, Sophocles, Euripides and Xenophon. New titles continually added.
Papyri.info
Aggregates material on papyri including the Duke Databank of Documentary Papyri. Databases may be searched or browsed. Open Access.
Perseus Digital Library
Perseus Digital Library of Greek and Roman texts with translations, vocab tools and references. Open Access.
PHI Searchable Greek Inscriptions
An open access online searchable database of Greek Inscriptions based on the Packard Humanities Institute PHI7 CD-ROM. Allows searching or browsing by region.
Tesserae
The site allows you to compare any 2 texts, or parts of texts, for correspondences in words, phrases, or even just in sound; it is mainly intended for students of intertextuality but may prove useful. Still in development, so use with care. SEE OLDER VERSION FOR FULL HELP AVAILABLE FROM MAIN PAGE.

Resources for My Subject

Classics: Greek lang & Lit

Greek lang & Lit

Open access databases