Uploading a student's work to a Moodle Site is equivalent to publishing which means that issues surrounding third party copyright material must be addressed to ensure that the Faculty complies with UK Copyright Law.
Long extracts of text, images, illustrations or diagrams from published works.
Can I upload a student's work to my Moodle Site?
No - not if it includes any material previously published elsewhere.
Yes - if it does not include any of the material above OR if the material has been redacted OR if permissions have been obtained from the copyright owner (usually the publisher).
What if I have the student's permission?
This does not make any difference as students can only give permission for their own work, not for third party copyright material contained within their own work.
The University has created Copyright for Lecturers, Instructors and Teaching Staff Guide which offers advice on using and sharing materials for your teaching.
The University has created this Copyright for Researchers Guide which focuses on areas of copyright likely to be applicable to Cambridge researchers looking to share their work, including making a PhD thesis available via Open Access.
There are several different levels of access for students to choose from in consultation with their supervisor. The levels provide a range of options to suit individual circumstances and ensure copyright requirements are met - click here for further information on the levels.
Students and their Supervisors can use this Thesis Access Decision Tree to help decide which level of access is the most appropriate.
Further information, including the link to upload, can be found here.
Neither abstracts nor their accompanying journal articles can be reproduced in a publicly available database or website without obtaining permission from the copyright owner.
Abstracts to journal articles are protected under copyright law just as are the whole journal articles they may accompany, even though publishers of articles invariably make abstracts freely available, even when the article itself is not.
The exception to this general rule are articles and/or abstracts that have been released by the publisher under an open access licence permitting your intended use, such as a Creative Commons Attribution Licence (CC BY Licence) or Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Licence (CC BY-NC Licence), reproduction (and adaptation) allowed as long as credit is given.
To request permission to reproduce abstracts, use the Copyright Clearance Center. Publishers often include a link to this from the journal article page on their own website - look for a permissions link.
Not all material can be legally scanned. Many non-UK publications are not covered by the UK Copyright Law and we are required to check the CLA database before scanning any material
Only 1 chapter of a book or 10% of extracts can be scanned for each paper/route
Only 1 article per journal issue can be scanned for each paper/route
A copy of the book or journal must be owned/subscribed to by a Library within the University (this does not include Electronic Legal Deposit material)
The same scan can be used on multiple courses
***It is vital that you make sure that any images that you use in your work (including presentations) are cleared of any copyright restrictions***
If you wish to use pictures and content on your social media platforms other than your own, it is important that you source material that you can legally use. The easiest way to do this is by looking for images that carry a Creative Commons license.
Images that have a Creative Commons license can be legally used online, however you need to check the license agreement as there may be certain restrictions.