LibGuides: Jesus College: Library resources

Library resources

As well as access to thousands of books, journals, films, and music the library offers a quiet, comfortable place to study alone or in a group.

Items available in the Quincentenary Library include:

Most undergraduate texts and many postgraduate texts
Electronic access to books, journals, and databases
A large DVD collection (if you need a DVD player, there are some you can loan for a week in the Library Office)
Anatomical models
Light reading books (visit LibraryThing and click on 'Your library' then choose 'All collections') including a wide selection of fiction and everything from cookery books to bicycle maintenance
Board games and jigsaws to borrow
Children's books and graphic novels to borrow
A selection of local OS maps and books to borrow for walking or cycling around Cambridgeshire.

You can explore the library catalogue via Cambridge Libraries. Refine your search to just items held in our library by restricting the location to ‘Jesus College’.

Recommendations or requests

If you can't find an item you need, then you can recommend it for purchase. Please email us and we can look into getting it for you, or fill in the central online form and it will go to the most appropriate library, such as the faculty/departmental library or the University Library.

Other library resources

As well as the materials above, the library offers:

Many different places to sit and work in a quiet, pleasant environment, including standing desks, beanbags, group study rooms, and a quiet study room
Access to resources 24 hours a day and 7 days a week
Wireless and cable internet access, extra monitors around the library space, and computers and printers in the Kwok Computer Room
A stationery corner containing items such as staplers, hole punches and scissors
Use of equipment such as our accessibility collection, a photocopier, and a comb binder.

If you are a PhD student at Jesus and would like to work as a Library Invigilator, then please email the library staff. We recruit mainly in the late summer, but we also welcome enquiries throughout the year. There are more details about library invigilation on JNET.

If you have any other questions, please contact the library team either by dropping in to the library office or emailing us.

University resources

In addition to the resources available at Cambridge University Library and the Faculty and Departmental libraries, the University provides some general library help.

LibGuides to subject specific resources and more:
LibAnswers service (also on Twitter or use #camlibs hashtag).

Wellbeing and leisure resources

The library has a Personal Welfare section in the building at classmark PYW. These books cover topics ranging from study help to mental health and may be browsed and borrowed as normal. We welcome suggestions to improve and expand this section. Click on the hyperlinks to browse the study skills and the personal welfare sections of this collection. We also have a small collection of children's books and graphic novels.

You may also be interested in the following:

The University's collection of Wellbeing ebooks
LGTBQ+ resources and collections
The Seed Library: so you can grow your own plants and flowers, there are seeds, tools, guides and a collection of books to help you grow seeds
The Librarian offers wildlife wanders to current Jesuans throughout the year; please email the library to request a walk.
Our jigsaw puzzles, board games and DVDs which you can borrow.

During Easter term, the library has a collection of relaxation aids that are left out in the Garden Room, including colouring books and origami.

Instagram

Facebook

CC

Unless otherwise stated, this work is licenced under a CC-BY-NC-SA 4.0 licence by Jesus College Cambridge.

Cambridge LibGuides

Jesus College: Library resources