Skip to Main Content
Help

Cambridge LibGuides

Find out more about our library services, facilities and resources

Jesus College: Reference management

Referencing support

If you're a beginner when it comes to referencing, need a refresher or have something specific you're struggling with, current members of the college can contact Sarah Burton, Assistant Librarian (Academic Services) for help as part of the Jskills programme. She can answer questions via email, or you can book a time to sit down 1-2-1 in person or virtually.

Due to plagiarism rules, going through something you're currently writing or proofreading your work is not allowed as it is classed as collaboration. However, looking through returned work and answering questions generally is allowed.

Letters and numbers printing press type in a pileHere are the topics Sarah can help with:

  • Introduction to referencing
  • Refresher session on referencing
  • Questions on how to reference a type of item
  • Managing references and building an online library
  • Zotero reference management software: setting it up, using it and specific questions
  • Using Cite Them Right
  • Looking through previous work in terms of referencing and bibliographies.

Zotero & referencing

 

Zotero is a research tool that works with your web browser to automatically sense bibliographic information on a webpage and save it.

Whether you're searching for a journal article in JSTOR, or a book on iDiscover, one click on Zotero and you've got a reference for your dissertation. 

It takes a lot of the hard work out of formatting references, leaving you more time for writing and less time stressing about commas. 

Zotero tips: 

The best guide has been written by Jason Puckett.

12 'must know' (& REALLY HELPFUL) Zotero tips and techniques

Article and presentation information written by Dr Emma Coonan, formerly Research Skills Librarian, University Library, Cambridge.

Downloading Zotero

Everything you need to get started with Zotero can be downloaded from https://www.zotero.org/

Quick download and installation guidance.

Cite Them Right

 

 Cite Them Right logo
You will need to reference a lot of different sources during your work and potentially use a range of referencing conventions. This might sound complicated but with a resource like Cite Them Right it doesn't have to be! This website contains easily accessible information on how to reference just about any type of resource from articles to podcasts. As well as clearly explaining what needs to be included it gives you examples of how this will look both in bibliographies and in-text citations. 

 

You can access Cite Them Right directly or through the A-Z Database. Always remember to use one of these links to access the full site. 

EndNote & referencing

EndNote logo

EndNote is a reference manager that can help you organise your research and collaborate with others online.

With EndNote, you can:

  • Create and manage citations of books, articles, videos, and more
  • Import citations from many databases
  • Extract metadata from imported PDFs
  • Collaborate with other researchers online
  • Organise your sources using groups, tags, and filters
  • Insert references into Word and PowerPoint
  • Back up your Endnote library using Endnote Online
  • Share your Endnote library with other researchers

It takes a lot of the hard work out of formatting references, leaving you more time for writing and less time stressing about the punctuation.

EndNote tips:

The following guides are available from the Medical Library:

A useful set of guides is available from EndNote.

There are lots of video guides, on the EndNote YouTube channel, but here's one to get you started which takes you through the key features of EndNote in 7 minutes:

Downloading EndNote

EndNote 21 can be downloaded by University of Cambridge staff and students. Choose the correct license for you. (Raven account required).

  • Select the option to download 'Single Student/Staff License [For Personally Owned Devices Only]', unless you are installing Endnote on a University-owned computer or laptop. 
  • This will prompt you to fill in a form.
  • You will then be emailed a file to download. This is sent from Academia, the third-party company which provides access to Endnote for University of Cambridge staff and students.
  • The email will include a code (a long string of numbers and letters) which you will need to use when installing Endnote on your device. 

If you have any problems installing Endnote, it is best to contact Academia directly - their email address is cambridge@academia.co.uk. 

Mendeley & referencing

Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research.

With Mendeley, you can:

  • Create and manage citations of books, articles, videos, and more
  • Import citations from many databases 
  • Extract metadata from imported PDFs
  • Collaborate with other researchers online
  • Find relevant papers based on what you’re reading
  • Highlight and annotate papers and share those notes with others
  • Organize your sources using groups, tags, and filters

It takes a lot of the hard work out of formatting references, leaving you more time for writing and less time stressing about commas. 

Mendeley tips: 

A useful set of guides is available from University of Illinois.

A "teach yourself" guide to Mendeley is available from the Medical Library.

There are lots of video guides on the Mendeley website, but here's one to get you started:

CC

Unless otherwise stated, this work is licenced under a CC-BY-NC-SA 4.0 licence by Jesus College Cambridge.

CC licence logo Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0)

© Cambridge University Libraries | Accessibility | Privacy policy | Log into LibApps