Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for My Subject

Engineering Library: Wellbeing

Information about the Department of Engineering Library, including information for researchers

Beyond EngineeringImage: cuddly study buddies in the library

The Engineering Library is not just here to support your studies and research - we also have collections, resources and events to support your wellbeing, help you learn a new skill and make the most of your time at Cambridge.

Wellbeing collection

We have a collection of books on physical and mental wellbeing, dealing with stress and offering self-help for issues such as anxiety and worry.

Our Wellbeing collection is listed on Reading Lists Online. Some of the items are physical books in the Engineering Library, and others are available to read online by clicking the "View Online" links in the reading list.

If you know a good book to add to this collection, please let us know.

Science Fiction collection

Our Science Fiction collection, listed on Reading Lists Online, consists of novels, graphic novels and short stories, so you can take a break from studying and explore other worlds! If you have a recommendation of a book to add, let us know and we can try to beam one up for you!

Movies collection

We have a range of borrowable DVDs, listed on Reading Lists Online, so you can enjoy a relaxing movie night.

Study skills

The Library holds books on study skills, academic writing, how to prepare a thesis, and how to deal with the challenges of the academic journey, which can help you to overcome any obstacle in your way. You can find the full list of Study Skills books on Reading Lists Online.

One-to-one support

We offer one-to-one online support for your academic career. We can advise on searching for what you need, managing your information and data, sharing and communicating your work, Open Access policies and more. To find out more and to book one to one support, contact the library team or use our online booking form

Soundtracks for Students

We have curated a series of wellbeing playlists which you also might find useful to use as study aids. From cool synth or classical to uplifting pop or summer jazz, we hope there'll be a soundtrack for you.

Virtual jigsaws

Whilst our old collection of physical jigsaws is out of commission, we've created a series of virtual jigsaws featuring our own library spaces to challenge you on your work or study breaks.

Further information

You'll find more information regarding wellbeing and mental health in our online learning page.

Student Learning Guidance and Wellbeing videos

These videos, from the Cambridge University Technology-Enabled Learning (TEL) Service, have been designed for the purpose of sharing with as many students across the University as possible. They are aimed at explaining the student learning experience in these challenging times, to provide access to support networks, help with structure and routine whilst studying and to improve student wellbeing. All can also be found on the Blended Learning Guidance overview page. All videos are fully captioned and contain additional links and resources on their respective pages to further support students.

Click on the images below to view each video.

©2021 Cambridge University Libraries | Accessibility | Privacy policy | Login to LibApps | Report a problem