Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for My Subject

Veterinary Medicine: Online Resources

Databases

The University of Cambridge subscribes to a wide range of online resources that can be accessed from wherever you are through using your Raven credentials. The three main literature searching databases relevant for our members are listed below:

PubMed

PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. It is likely to be primarily of interest to those researching the fields of health and biomedicine. While search results mostly comprise citations rather than full text, researchers and students with University of Cambridge credentials will find direct links to full text articles where access to those articles are provided by the University.

Web of Science

Web of Science is an online subscription-based scientific citation indexing service that provides a comprehensive citation search. It gives access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialised sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline.

WoS allows readers to analyse where articles have been cited and form a view of how significant an article may be based on its Impact Factor.

Scopus

Similar in content to Web of Science. Scopus claims to be the largest database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Similarly, Scopus provides tools to track, analyse and visualise research.

 
 

Open Access resources

Although many journals are only available to those with a subscription, an increasing number are now making some or all of their content freely accessible, or 'Open Access'. This means that our subscription database are not the only place you need to look when searching for resources. Find out more about how to search for open access content using this handy guide.

If you're interested in finding out more about the principles of Open Access, or want to publish your own content in Open Access sources, then check out this guide from the Office of Scholarly Communication.

Lean Library logoThe Lean Library Button

Compatible with most browsers, Lean Library is a browser extension that will automatically detect when you have access to something. This access might be provided through the University of Cambridge's subscriptions, or it might be an Open Access version. Either way, this will reduce the need for hours spent trying to log in to different websites or hitting paywalls and will give you quick access to what you need.

 

Electronic Legal Depost ebooks

When searching iDiscover your results may list books that have the message “Online access restricted to designated PC terminals in the UL and most Faculty and Departmental libraries”. These ebooks are supplied to the UL by publishers under Electronic Legal Deposit legislation, and may only be used on designated PCs for Electronic Legal Deposit access. Read more about Electronic Legal Deposit.

Important Subject Online Resources

BSAVA Online Library

IMAIOS Anatomy database - an interactive atlas of veterinary anatomy based on medical imaging

 

Supporting Lab Work

We know it can be hard to gain access to the laboratories at the moment, and so we thought we'd highlight a few of our online resources that focus on protocols and experimental work. These resources cover a broad range of topics, so have a good browse through and be inspired!

 

 

 

 

JoVE Unlimited: Journal of Visual Experiments has educational videos demonstrating science concepts and laboratory methods suitable for undergraduate and graduate courses. JoVE videos also bring to life the intricate details of cutting-edge experiments enabling efficient learning and replication of new research methods and technologies.


Wiley Current Protocols includes over 24,000 step-by-step techniques, procedures, and practical overviews that provide researchers with reliable, efficient methods to ensure reproducible results and pave the way for critical scientific discovery. There is a broad subject coverage for researchers, and a section on Essential Laboratory Techniques will be of particular use to undergraduate students.


Springer Nature Experiments is a research solution allowing researchers to quickly find and evaluate protocols and methods in the life sciences.


Cold Spring Harbour Protocols is an interactive source of new and classic research techniques. Fully searchable by keyword and subject. Coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Regularly updated.

Study Skills

A series of short videos introducing study skills.

For a virtual guide to using iDiscover click on link

For a virtual guide to using eBooks click on link

Database and ebook guides

The University of Cambridge subscribes to a wide range of online resources that can be accessed from wherever you are through using your Raven credentials.

Search databases, digital archive collections, and primary sources on Cambridge Databases A-Z.

Use iDiscover to search for ebooks, or check out ebooks@cambridge for more information. 

© Cambridge University Libraries | Accessibility | Privacy Policy