Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Relevant undergraduate reading lists
British History Online
Digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period 1300-1800. From the Institute of Historical Research
CELL (Centre for Editing Lives and Letters, UCL)
The Centre for Editing Lives and Letters (CELL) develops digital projects from archives concentrating on the years 1500 to 1800. Includes projects on the papers of Robert Hooke and the Letters of William Herle.
The Philological Museum
Digital collection of Humanistic letters and texts hosted by The Shakespeare Institute of the University of Birmingham.
Theatres and Performance
A Digital Anthology of Early Modern English Drama (EMED)
Digital facsimiles & editions of plays written and performed during London’s first period of commercial theater, 1576 to 1642.
DEEP: Database of Early English Playbooks
Searchable database of every playbook produced in England, Scotland, and Ireland from the beginning of printing through 1660. Includes title-pages, advertising features, bibliographic details, and theatrical backgrounds
Digital Theatre Plus
Recordings of live performances from the Liverpool Everyman Playhouse, the RSC and more.
Holds more than 3900 plays in verse and prose from the late 13th century to the early 20th century.
A digital library of images and accompanying scholarly information.
Watch productions from Shakespeare's Globe theatre. Drama online also includes searchable scripts for over 1200 plays.
The MIT Global Shakespeare Video & Performance Archive
A collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare and scholarly critical works.
A collection of online secondary criticism on Shakespeare and his contemporaries.
Shakespearean London Theatres (ShaLT)
A site dedicated to the histories of particular London theatres of Shakespeare's time created by De Montfort University and The V&A.
3D reconstruction and History of the first of the London playhouses built in the now iconic polygonal form.
The London Stage 1660-1800
Facsimile from the Hathi Trust of The London stage, 1660-1800; a calendar of plays, entertainments & afterpieces, together with casts, box-receipts and contemporary comment. Compiled from the playbills, newspapers and theatrical diaries of the period.