Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Victorian Web
Huge collection of links to primary and secondary texts (including scholarly book reviews) covering British Victorian literature, philosophy, political and social history, and visual arts.
Victorian Poets – Online Concordances
Web concordances (lists of instances of specific words used in a body of work) for P.B. Shelley, S.T. Coleridge, John Keats, William Blake, Wordsworth & Coleridge's Lyrical Ballads, and Gerard Manley Hopkins.
Nineteenth Century Fiction
250 complete works of prose fiction by 102 authors from the period 1782-1903.
Nineteenth century serials edition (NCSE)
Online edition of six nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers. Includes the English Woman's Journal (1858-1864) and the Publisher's Circular (1880-1890).
Victorian Women Writers Project
Project by Indiana University primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century.
The Yellow Nineties Online
An open-access, peer-reviewed electronic resource focused on The Yellow Book and other avant-garde aesthetic periodicals that flourished in Great Britain at the fin-de-siècle.
Monuments and Dust: Victorian London
A visual, textual, and statistical representation of Victorian London.
Nineteenth-Century Disability: Cultures and Contexts
An interdisciplinary collection of primary texts and images on physical and cognitive disability in the long nineteenth century (c. 1780 to 1914).
The Poetry Society
National arts organisation representing British poetry. Publisher of The Poetry Review.
Website for Poetry magazine, lots of articles, news, and poems
The Poetry Archive
Mainly modern and contemporary poetry from more well-known and popular poets.
The Faber Poetry Library
A collection of some of the most influential poets of the twentieth century, spanning the seventy-year history of the publishing house, and including the poetry of Siegfried Sassoon, T.S. Eliot, Ted Hughes, and Sylvia Plath.
Poetry Library Southbank Centre
Archive of modern and contemporary poetry journals
Contemporary Poetics Research Centre
A forum for the study and performance of contemporary poetries, and research into their historical, political and theoretical contexts.
Archive of the Now
Archive of over 100 contemporary poets reading their work (mainly British, some U.S.)
Large archive of poets reading their work and links.
Website of contemporary poetry with an extensive list of links to other resources and websites.
An online journal of contemporary poetry. Includes searchable archive of issues published between 1997 and 2010 and database of criticism on contemporary poetry and original works by poets from around the world.
A new-writing journal of nature, landscape & place from the publishers Little Toller Books.
Project from the University of Portsmouth, includes a list of contemporary authors.
British Council Literature Site
Includes searchable Writers Directory of UK and Commonwealth contemporary writers.
Electronic Literature Organization
Organisation facilitating and promoting the writing, publishing, and reading of literature in electronic media.
Huge film and sound archive of modernist and avant-garde art, poetics, and performance. (Beat Poets, Beckett, Cage, Dadaists, Concrete poetry, Pound, Stein, Zukofsky, etc.)
350 plays from Nick Hern Books featuring leading playwrights, including Jez Butterworth and Caryl Churchill. As well as 400 audio plays from L.A Theatre Works and searchable scripts for over 1200 plays.
Digital Theatre Plus
Recordings of live performances from the Liverpool Everyman Playhouse, the RSC and more.